We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Great week at the beach!”
4.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of SA004-Miller

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Duck, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LangtoNic
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Proximity to beach makes up for dated decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We spent three nights here and were very happy with the location and the beach equipment below the house. That little wagon was very convenient to help carry chairs and such. The outdoor shower was a nice touch to help us wash sand off before going in the house.

Outer Banks Blue made this transaction very easy. Not having to worry about keys was a blessing. I just put the door code in my cell phone and never had to dig.

The house is older, and shows its age in places. SO much wood paneling...everywhere. The carpet was in desperate need of a good shampoo or a replacement if that doesn't remove all the spots. Windows need to be cleaned regularly to remove the salt deposits.

On the plus side, linens were provided which is a very nice feature. I believe every possible kitchen need was addressed (utensils and such, not food) It was nice having enough dishes to be able to fill the dishwasher and not have to do them all by hand. Also, the house was plenty big for three adults, though I can't imagine only having two bathrooms if each room was filled to hold 8-10 people!

We will likely use Outer Banks Blue for our next vacation, but will probably pick a different house next time. I would recommend this house to a friend with full disclosure.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location to beach
Liked least: Dirty carpet and salt sprayed windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D
Randolph
2 reviews
“Bugs, Bugs and more Bugs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The Miller Cottage is quite dated. It is a two story home and has a staircase leading upstairs to the kitchen and living room area. The staircase was spiral steps, not ideal for young children. Two of my children fell coming down the stairs. But the most important problem was the bugs. One second day, after putting all our groceries away, we discovered ants in the kitchen cabinets. In the days to come there were many big species of bugs in the kitchen and bedrooms. The final straw was when my 10 year old woke up at 4 a.m. with ants crawling on her arm and in her bed. We packed our bags and left that morning, which was two days early. Although the property is located near the beach, the bug situation made it uninhabitable. I have photos of the bugs to prove it and when I asked to be compensated for having to leave early so that they could remedy the problem, I was told that all homes have ants and they would not consider a refund for the two days. The rental agency that I used, Outerbanks Blue was not helpful at all. I would never use them again.

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 1 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
1 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 1 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
1 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 1 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
1 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location to beach
Liked least: bugs in bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2012
Ms. DiConstanzo,

We are sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay in The Miller cottage in Sanderling. It is also quite surprising to hear from you so long after your departure about your discontent during your stay. The issues with Ants in the property we resolved on the Tuesday of your stay with a professional exterminator. At least we thought it was resolved because we never heard back from you during your stay, and there have been no evidence of these issues since you left the property in August.
You are correct in that we said we would not give you a refund after the fact for ants in the property, and you indeed have lived up to your word in posting a review that is unflattering in retaliation for us not providing you a refund over something we feel was resolved. It is our hope that future guests will give the perspective of all reviews on this property as they consider this rental property.
The Miller is a reasonably priced and well located property in the Sanderling subdivision in Duck. The property stays very fully booked, and we've been proud to represent this rental home for nearly a decade.
We look forward to serving future guests in this property and can assure them your experience is not the norm at The Miller.
All the best from the beach!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta GA
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009 for a stay in August 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009 for a stay in June 2009
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Stairs and access to the main floor
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009 for a stay in June 2009
1
person found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Enquiry
Talk to the Manager
1 8443254134
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing