We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Vacation”

Review of SA004-Miller

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Duck, Outer Banks, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mesavi999
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“This was probably a really nice house in 1970.”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice property in dire need of maintenance. Air conditioning doesn't work well. The fact that all bedrooms came with fans should have been a sign. Stove looks like it's from the 1930s and is on all the time, generating a nice amount of heat in the kitchen. Just generally run down and not maintained well. I would not recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. This is an older property and lacks many of the modern conveniences, but I believe this can deduced by the photos and its cheap price compared to newer vacation rentals of similar size. This was apparent when the property was booked.

We were not aware of there being any issues with the AC at the property. We are sending someone out today to take a look. The top floor is about 70% windows (as can been seen from the photos) so it does get warm if you do not close the blinds. No AC unit designed for the square footage would keep up with the amount of heat those windows can generate on a hot day. The bedrooms have ceiling fans because that’s extremely common in the south to help AC units keep up with how hot and humid it can get on the Outer Banks. Most houses, rental or not, have them.

The stove is not from the 1930's. It is not a wood or coal burning oven (as can be seen from the photos). It is an electric glass top. It is not top of the line, but we believe it to be in good working condition or the previous guest would have said something. We are sending someone now to investigate and make sure it is not staying on at all times.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helharris...
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic Vacation”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We just returned from a wonderful week at Miller in Duck.
The house was spotlessly clean and bigger than it looked on the photographs. There was plenty of space for our group of 8, which included 3 children and 3 teens. The house was so close to the beach, it was perfect. Everything we could have needed was provided - we would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The proximity to the beach
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindsayLu...
Madison, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Miller House was PERFECT for our family trip!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My family and I LOVED this house! We had my mother, whom is 64 years old, and 3 children ages 9-12, along with my brother, a friend, and myself. The proximity to the beach was great, only 2 houses down, and the neighborhood was quiet and with no traffic. The inside of the house was so cute, and very nicely decorated, loved the pictures throughout of the lighthouses in the OBX, and of other area attractions and history. The beds and couches were very comfortable, and we loved the kitchen and beautiful large dining table. Windows all over the house, so you could see whatever weather was happening, and nice little view of the ocean from the back deck. The enclosed porch was very nice the one night that it stormed. Upon arrival, we received a nice little gift bag of wine and snacks from the owners, lovely tough! We definitely recommend the Miller house to anyone staying in Duck!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangtoNic
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Proximity to beach makes up for dated decor”
Reviewed 2 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We spent three nights here and were very happy with the location and the beach equipment below the house. That little wagon was very convenient to help carry chairs and such. The outdoor shower was a nice touch to help us wash sand off before going in the house.

Outer Banks Blue made this transaction very easy. Not having to worry about keys was a blessing. I just put the door code in my cell phone and never had to dig.

The house is older, and shows its age in places. SO much wood paneling...everywhere. The carpet was in desperate need of a good shampoo or a replacement if that doesn't remove all the spots. Windows need to be cleaned regularly to remove the salt deposits.

On the plus side, linens were provided which is a very nice feature. I believe every possible kitchen need was addressed (utensils and such, not food) It was nice having enough dishes to be able to fill the dishwasher and not have to do them all by hand. Also, the house was plenty big for three adults, though I can't imagine only having two bathrooms if each room was filled to hold 8-10 people!

We will likely use Outer Banks Blue for our next vacation, but will probably pick a different house next time. I would recommend this house to a friend with full disclosure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to beach
Liked least: Dirty carpet and salt sprayed windows
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janine D
Randolph
2 reviews
“Bugs, Bugs and more Bugs”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The Miller Cottage is quite dated. It is a two story home and has a staircase leading upstairs to the kitchen and living room area. The staircase was spiral steps, not ideal for young children. Two of my children fell coming down the stairs. But the most important problem was the bugs. One second day, after putting all our groceries away, we discovered ants in the kitchen cabinets. In the days to come there were many big species of bugs in the kitchen and bedrooms. The final straw was when my 10 year old woke up at 4 a.m. with ants crawling on her arm and in her bed. We packed our bags and left that morning, which was two days early. Although the property is located near the beach, the bug situation made it uninhabitable. I have photos of the bugs to prove it and when I asked to be compensated for having to leave early so that they could remedy the problem, I was told that all homes have ants and they would not consider a refund for the two days. The rental agency that I used, Outerbanks Blue was not helpful at all. I would never use them again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location to beach
Liked least: bugs in bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2012
Ms. DiConstanzo,

We are sorry to see that you were disappointed with your stay in The Miller cottage in Sanderling. It is also quite surprising to hear from you so long after your departure about your discontent during your stay. The issues with Ants in the property we resolved on the Tuesday of your stay with a professional exterminator. At least we thought it was resolved because we never heard back from you during your stay, and there have been no evidence of these issues since you left the property in August.
You are correct in that we said we would not give you a refund after the fact for ants in the property, and you indeed have lived up to your word in posting a review that is unflattering in retaliation for us not providing you a refund over something we feel was resolved. It is our hope that future guests will give the perspective of all reviews on this property as they consider this rental property.
The Miller is a reasonably priced and well located property in the Sanderling subdivision in Duck. The property stays very fully booked, and we've been proud to represent this rental home for nearly a decade.
We look forward to serving future guests in this property and can assure them your experience is not the norm at The Miller.
All the best from the beach!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Reviewed 21 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta GA
Reviewed 12 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing