We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nicely appointed hotel, great staff good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #34 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very nicely appointed hotel, great staff good rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Although a little pricey (at least at the rate I got) for what it is, the hotel is very nice the staff so nice, special thanks to Betty for being such a great help on the front desk, very reasonably priced buffet breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Pheephox:
Thank you for taking the time to share your on-line review. I will be sure to share your review with Betty and Team Sheraton. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast buffet in Seasons Restaurant. The breakfast buffet is served every morning in Seasons Restaurant and complements every appetite. Thank you for your business and hope to see you real soon.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SHICC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    126
    64
    22
    14
See reviews for
34
18
17
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed here for 9 days while my husband attended a conference and the customer service was EXEMPLARY the entire time. Usually I like to commend particular individuals, but in this instance, everyone working in all facets of the hotel was so incredible that it is difficult to single out particular employees. They all greeted me with a smile and went out of their way to help me. The GM even introduced himself to us and personally drove my husband to the airport to make sure he would not miss his flight at the end of our stay!
During our stay, I worked in my room much of the time and found it to be comfortable, and the internet worked well. The front desk staff were extremely helpful in assisting me with anything I needed. The food in the restaurant was quite good, and the food provided to my husband as part of his conference was fantastic and went way beyond his expectations. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was renovated and very clean. The running trail around the hotel area was very nice. The hotel has a free shuttle to the airport and many local restaurants.
I stay in MANY hotels and this place provided the best service I have ever experienced.
I absolutely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Raleigh Durham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous187801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Anonymous 187801:
We thank you for choosing the Sheraton Imperial for your stay and for your fantastic review. We're pleased to know that you had a wonderful experience with all of our team members. Again, thank you for your business and we hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

First off we did not have reservations. We had checked on some internet booking sites for a place to stay and this hotel came up with availability. Yet upon check-in the lady said they were fully booked and did not have any availability. We spent 10 mins telling the lady that she does have availability and she would never check. We finally got her to check and one room magically appeared to her. After we checked in past midnight we went to our room which the front desk lady said was on the Club floor and it was a premium room. While the room was average, it was not what I would consider premium by any means. It was clean and comfortable so that is what really matters to me. The bathroom was updated but the shower was from the 1980's? I don't understand why spend all that money to lay tile down and granite countertops with updated furniture in the bathroom but not update the shower? The internet connection in our room was very touchy, we would connect and stay connected for an hour or so and then it would drop us. Overall it was not a bad stay for the exception of being LIED to upon check-in. Room was clean and comfortable and stay was average.

Room Tip: If they offer club floor, ask to see the room first to see if it is what you are expecting. Club flo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not notice any "green" practices. I am not going to read about your green practices, I would rather see them if you are going to ask about them.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Justin R:
We are very sorry that your experience was not positive. I assure you that your comments are important to us, and we will use them for training purposes. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay while receiving stellar customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to better meet your expectations.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Came on a business trip, checking in was fast and easy. Shuttle to and from the Airport could use an upgrade but it gets from A to B.

Enjoyed the snacks in the Club Lounge, the staff were very friendly and always said "hello" when walking past.

Was there for only a short period of time, but it was very enjoyable.

Not much for any shopping anywhere around the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: 9th or 10th floor has access to the club lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Aaron Y:
First we would like to extend our appreciation to you for choosing the Sheraton Imperial Hotel for your stay during your business travel. We also wanted to thank you for taking the time out to write your comments regarding our hotel and some of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you again for your business and we hope to see you in the near future.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
204 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel was chosen by NC Farm Bureau, but the experience was all mine and special again. Second convention at this location and very glad about the Sheraton. Room was clean and very quiet. The staff was friendly from the desk to the servers at our breakfast and luncheon. Food is buffet style and great quality. Had dinner at their $ seasons and ordered from the local food menu. The Seafood, collards and sweet potatoes were to die for. Well worth the visit. hope to see you here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear JJL:
Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to serve as host for the Farm Bureau 2014 Conference. I especially appreciate your comments regarding the friendliness of our staff. Remarks such as these are also used as a training tool for our staff to let them know they are doing a GREAT job and that our guest recognizes it. Wow! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed Seasons Restaurant new menu items. Chef Tayouga and his team have combined their efforts, commitment and talents to develop and create a special and unique connection; between Seasons Restaurant, the local farmers/food artisans with a “Farm to Table” dinner menu. Again, we thank you for your business and hope to see you.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
409 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed here for a 2 day conference. The hotel hosted the conference and from that aspect it was nice. The catering was good. The room that I had was okay. I requested a quiet room and was assured it would be; however my room was on the highway side of the building so I could hear some traffic. The room was clearly old but the bed was comfortable. The restaurants is nothing fantastic and with the number of great restaurants in Durham, I would go elsewhere. We requested taxies a few times and the taxi service they use is what I would call "not legit" as they did not accept credit cards and charged us $25 for a 10 minute ride one night then the same service charged $15 for a 10 minute ride the next day. The front desk was great when I checked in, but the lady who checked me out was rude and seemed inconvenienced to hold my bags and call me taxi (that is her job right?). The hotel is next to a private gym and they will give you passes for the gym. This was definitely a perk!

Room Tip: request a room on the west side of the building so it is not facing the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbreeze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Beachbreeze66:
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest’s comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SHICC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you check in at the Sheraton Imperial, make sure you don't get into room 133 or 134, or others down at end of that hallway. I walked toward the back of the hotel thinking, "great, this should be nice and quiet" and it was anything but. It started with the AC. Moderate temps here in Durham and the AC kicked on only every 15 mins or so, but when it did, you had to adjust your volume on everything. If you're doing a conference call, forget it. Go on mute and don't plan on talking.

Bigger problem. The back door is right there. To a parking lot that gets a LOT of traffic. And it doesn't shut quietly. It slams and shakes the corridor and rattles your day and - worst of all -wakes you through the night.

They can replace the desk chair easily and if the folks read this, I hope they pay attention to it and do so. Unusable.

The internet service was spotty and kicked me off several times. Worst of all - I rarely watch TV when on the road, but got engaged in a movie and the hotel's cable or whatever service cut out just toward the end. All channels.

It wasn't all bad. Food at bar was good and they had some nice local brews to choose from.

Wait, breakfast was off. Ordered oatmeal. Menu said with raisins and pecans. Cool. Hidden in there were cranberries. Not pleasant, by my taste.

Will I stay here in the future? What do you think? Absolutely not. Did not live up to the reputation I'd expect from a Starwood property.

Room Tip: Stay away from entry doors, elevators and such. Should be obvious, I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reginald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIHCC, Customer Service Manager at Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Reginald F:
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Imperial Hotel. I apologize for the delay in my response to your on-line review; however, I wanted to ensure that all of our Management Team was made aware of your feedback. Often times the feedback we receive from our guests will provide us a great insight into areas which demand our attention. We would like to apologize for the challenges with your room location, air unit and desk chair. The details you have provided have been shared with our Chief Engineer for review and to conduct preventative maintenance to insure all needed repairs are made on a timely basis. Unfortunately, during your stay Time Warner performed maintenance which caused interruption of service. Time Warner was contacted immediately and technicians were dispatched to the Hotel. Through each comment we receive, both positive and negative, we are able to seek knowledge and growth to better serve our guests. I am sorry again that your stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated and we eagerly await the next opportunity to meet all of your expectations.
Sincerely,
DianeT
Customer Service Manager
SIHCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn Raleigh / Durham Airport
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 4700 Emperor Blvd, Durham, NC 27703
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 331
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Imperial Hotel Durham
Sheraton Durham
Durham Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing