We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel w a convenient locatiom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel every year since it first opened. The rooms were renovated a few years ago and on this most recent stay they finally added HDTVs and more cable channels. The rooms are comfortable and most have a microwave, coffee maker and a frig. The King Executive rooms have a separate living area. The breakfast is a decent offering of cereals, muffins, bagels and fruit. The hotel is on 15-501 so it's a good location for getting around Durham, going to Chapel Hill or if you want easy access to I-40. The sta

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyWinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were happily surprised by this hotel. We've stayed in some real terrible hotels but this one was quite the opposite. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were very clean and updated, we had an HD flat screen t.v., the employees were very nice, there was not loud traffic or rowdy hotel guests. Our stay was mid-week so it may be different on the weekend. If you are thinking of paying 150.- a night, don't. Just stay here. It is a nice stay for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCgirl3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is a comfortable, quiet and isolated place to lay your head. The room we stayed in was smelly, smelled musty however after a call to the front desk they came and sprayed deodorizer and took away the smell. The sink in the bathroom the pull drain had to be pulled out manually underneath the sink, however the room is spacious, clean and comfortable. We've stayed here before and find that the rates change on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acuragalrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Almost on par with hampton ....but less expensive.....this is a good one....friendly staff, late check out, clean room, aarp rate.....

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Critic53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

LaQuinta has a consistent record in my book of quality units, knowledgeable staff and comfort above and beyond the norm, so it should come as no surprise that after staying one night at this location, I have booked a 7-night stay in November.

Breakfast was much above average, rooms had high ceilings with the feeling of spaciousness, and the beds were like I was at home!

It is right next door to Red Lobster and Chili's and convenient to all medical facilities. Although not secluded, it is quiet---quiet---quiet and will guarantee you a peaceful nights sleep.

The rates were more than reasonable and in fact, quite a bargain for value received. Thanks, LQ, you have done it again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbillydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I recently stayed at this La Quinta Inn. It was my family's refuge from hurricane Irene. Staff was great for all of us and the dog. Clean, breakfast was good, pool was great for the kids. Room was a little small but can't complain there were no other rooms to be had, we made due. We felt safe there not knowing what was going to happen in Virginia Beach. I stay at La Quinta's all over the country and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nanaMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My mom was transported to Duke University Hospital for a week of tests and recovery. This La Quinta Inn and Suites was a great place for a base camp. It is NOT immediately near Duke Hospital; it is about 5 minutes drive away. I looked at a couple of the "motels" very near the hospital and they were small and nasty looking. The La Quinta Durham/Chapel Hill is clean, has a very friendly staff, and a pretty good breakfast including make-your-own waffles. I would have given them an Excellent for breakfast, but they do not offer bacon. Well, at least I was eating more healthy than if I had to stop at McDonalds or somewhere for breakfast. All rooms on their four floors are accessible from the indoors only and they have an elevator. They have a lovely little enclosed outdoor garden area where you can eat your breakfast, or just chill out in the evening. That's always a plus with me. The room had two queen size beds, very comfortable, great pillows. I slept very well. The maid was friendly and trustworthy. They also have an indoor pool, but I did not get a chance to try it out. I continue to stay at La Quinta Inns because they never have let me down. I would definitely return to this hotel and will recommend it. Just down the street is a Walmart, Kohls, many restaurants and fast food, and other "necessary" stores for when you are away from home.

Room Tip: The first night we where there, the hotel was sold out. We were on the ground floor, but never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bethsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
4.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill

Address: 4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-2509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#13 Family Hotel in Durham
#16 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £73 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suite Durham/Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
La Quinta Durham
Durham La Quinta
La Quinta Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing