We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic but clean”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

This hotel is in a convenient location right off the highway. The staff are very professional and responsive. The one bedroom king (with sofa sleeper) proved to be an okay space for me and my two children (7, 11) for the week we were there. It was clean for the most part but very basic, no amenities, and hard towels. The room layout was odd with the tv situated to the right of the bed and desk, but facing the sofa. I guess it doesn't matter since it could be rotated. The small room fridge and microwave made breakfast and snacks easy. We opted out of the hotel breakfast due to time, it was also basic and we don't rise early on vacation. More attention could be paid to the laundry rooms and pool area. They were both frequently unclean/cluttered in appearance. But this could be due to the fact that it was very busy the week we were there. Overall the price matched what we got.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSNRWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    265
    89
    33
    16
See reviews for
406
146
69
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

As my wife is wheelchair bound (multiple sclerosis), I always read reviews with an eye to accessibility. Most hotels/motels and restaurants state they are ADA compliant, bout for many, it is only a token claim. On the other hand, there are those, like this La Quinta, which live up to their assertion.

The rooms here are clean and well maintained. There is plenty of room for a wheelchair, even in the bathroom, and we were very pleased. Breakfasts are standard fare (waffles are good!) for La Quinta, and the dining area was very clean. If you have mobility issues, you need not be concerned staying here.

One unadvertised plus: a decent Red Lobster right next door.

La Quinta has made great strides in the past few years improving their appeal. This is one I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Park at the ends as it is easier entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin-Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This property is a great value for the money. The location is very convenient to I-40, Chapel Hill and Durham. The desk staff was very kind and helpful. Our room was clean, quiet and actually had a nice view of the tree canopy behind us. The bed was super comfortable!!! The complimentary breakfast was good; gotta love the fresh waffles. Just wished they offered a protein other than hard boiled eggs.

Try Sitar, the Indian restaurant down the street. Awesome dinner buffet!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the courtyard, not looking over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachSnorkelLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, South Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2012

As a single woman traveling with a pet I could not ask for a better place to stay. I was greeted warmly and my request for a room at the end of the hall was done with a smile. The room was very clean,cool, and met all of my expectations. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Gwgcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for a week while I worked on my final project and exam for my masters degree. I have stayed at this location a few times in the past, and I can say this location has always been clean, with a good staff. The location is difficult to find if you are not local to the area but it is beside Red Lobster, which is more visible. There are plenty of food options down the street. It's not far from Duke University or Durham Academy. It's a good location for a family or a couple's stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamacitax4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
6.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
4.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
3.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 4414 Durham Chapel Hill Blvd, Durham, NC 27707-2509
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#13 Family Hotel in Durham
#16 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LaQuinta, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suite Durham/Chapel Hill Hotel Durham
La Quinta Durham
Durham La Quinta
La Quinta Chapel Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing