We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Salisbury, MD
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The Brookwood Inn is conveniently located to Duke Medical Center. The staff is efficient and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable. (The shades could be dusted, though.) A refrigerator and microwave in the room helps keep down food costs. There is no problem bringing food into the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    108
    59
    26
    19
See reviews for
104
40
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havelock
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I recently stayed at the Brookwood for an extended period while a family member was a patient at Duke University Hospital. Check in was fast and easy. The rooms are large and very clean. The staff is very helpful and always pleasant. The hotel is in a great location, two blocks from Duke and a block from the VA Hospital. The hotel has a cafe which is open limited hours during the morning and early afternoon. A laundry room is available for guests. The hotel also operates a shuttle for guests and is free within 3 miles of the hotel. Guest parking is also free during your stay but is limited to one parking pass per room. When the cafe is not open a free coffee/tea station is set up in the lobby. My only complaint is the coffee there; it's awful.

Room Tip: Request to stay in the front building. It is more comfortable and is non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobson, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Very friendly workers and always helpful. Room was very cleaned on check in time and daily around the same time. They were no smoking rooms and they meant that. There was no animals allowed which was another key point for us. My husband is having a bone marrow transplant and these things can set him back. We didnt have any issues with our heat or bed---but I know they would have fixed this issue---------unlike the previous hotel did the week prior. We will be back.

Room Tip: loved the no smoking and no animals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The Brookwood Inn surpassed my expectations! I traveled to Duke University on business. This hotel is within walking distance of the hospital and many other buildings. And if not near...NO problem!! They have a free shuttle that leaves every 30 minutes and will drive you anywhere within 3 miles. Did I say free?? Yes! And the drivers are professional and polite! There are several very good restaurants within 3 miles. We dined at Cafe and El Rodeo Mexican Restaurant. Both good value and great service and yummy food:-). And for breakfast and lunch the Brookwood Inn is a perfect choice! I had one of the best and biggest Chicken Ceasar salad there that I have ever eaten! The rooms here are not luxurious, but very clean and well appointed. And you can't have too much cleanliness! The rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers and hair dryers in the room. They have a small but very useful and adequate fitness room complete with fresh towels and filtered cold water:-). My travel partner utilized the business center and found it very user friendly, convenient and free!! All of these amenities are nice, but without the staff they would mean nothing! The front desk staff is wonderful!! They are most helpful in every way, from getting you the room you requested to giving directions. This small hotel is the whole package! Location, amenities, professional staff and value!! You will not be sorry for choosing Brookwood Inn when your travels brings you near Duke University:-)!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the renovated 8th floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsquared13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed here for a class reunion that was less than a mile away. The hotel is only a block from Duke and VA hospitals, with some food establishments nearby. (There's a small counter service in the hotel as well.) We happened to be here on the night of a Duke football game, and the hotel seemed to have attracted a fair number of young fans. The doors are really thin, and we could hear all conversations in the hallway. A 3 a.m., someone pulled a fire alarm, and we heard a recorded message advising us to exit the building via stairwells. When my husband called the front desk to find out that "someone who was drunk" was responsible. Otherwise, the hotel was clean, convenient and comfortable. But you may want to avoid sporting event weekends.

Room Tip: Try to get away from the elevator. The room doors are paper thin, so conversation in the halls will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Most people stay here as they are visiting the Medical facilitys of Duke University Hospital. It is across the street from the VA center and one block from the main Hospital. Shuttle service can carry you over if you need it. Breakfast and lunch are available in the lobby which is very conveinent as traffic can be heavy here. This is our third stay at this hotel and it relieves the stress of dealing with traffic when you have other issues to deal with. Considering you are next to a hospital, it is relatively quite. Since this is not a vacation destination nor a $300 a night hotel, I consider it excellent for the purpose for which I am here. This should definatly be your choice for your first visit to Duke Hospital and if you don't like it, have fun sitting in traffic and finding a parking place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We were booked at this hotel by the fine folks at Duke Hospital (who I adore). It is close to the hospital, walking distance, fairly clean but lacking in the kind of accommodations we enjoy. The room was dark, not comfortable furniture, beds ok, but we moved before my husband left the hospital.

Room Tip: I understand part of the hotel has been renovated, but I don't think we stayed in that part. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVTraveler8812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.0 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
0.9 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#36 of 71 in Durham
713 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University

Property: CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Address: 2306 Elba St, Durham, NC 27705 (Formerly CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area is a boutique style hotel close to campus, the hospital and Durham VA. A delicious breakfast and dinner are offered, and the hotel also boasts a bar. Rooms consist of king or two queen size beds, each with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, Keurig coffee makers and large work surfaces. Enjoy the modern feel of hard wood floors and faux brick wall accents. A business center and meeting facilities are available as well. The hotel is only minutes away from Durham Bulls Athletic park, downtown businesses, the historic district and the convention center, Duke Homestead, Sarah P. Duke gardens, Duke Chapel and convenient to area shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookwood Inn Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing