We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to Duke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Ranked #32 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed after a football game. The shuttle delivered us from the hotel to the stadium gate. It was an easy walk through the pretty campus back to the hotel. We were given passes for parking even though check-in was later in the day. The room was clean and comfortable and updated. Coffee and cookies in the lobby were a sweet touch. Desk staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathyhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Brookwood Inn while in town for a workshop at Duke Medical. The hotel is very conveniently located near the VA Medical Center and Duke Medical Center. It is a clean, comfortable hotel. Our room had a refrigerator, which is always a plus! Although the hotel is on the older side, it is clean and quiet.

The hotel was a good value for the money and they offer a AAA discount and a discount to patients/families in Raleigh for medical reasons. There are not many restaurants close by, so a car would be helpful. We enjoyed exploring the Duke Campus (just a few miles away) and the Botanical Gardens.

This hotel is a good choice for those who need to be close to the hospitals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel with clean, comfortable rooms for a decent price. Excellent location for medical purposes. Ultra low flow bathroom fawcets are a problem.
Hotel, especially in section across from main hotel are in need of renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stamilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My son was having a very serious surgery and I wanted to stay close to Duke University Medical Center. The Brookwood Inn is within walking distance. I was able to respond to his room withing 7 minutes. The staff was so very compassionate, professional and caring. The rooms were clean and inviting and the restaurant down stairs had very good food. I am staying there again in the near future for another son who is undergoing some testing. Where I am going to stay when I'm at Duke is no longer a concern since I have found the Brookwood Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationeratthecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I stayed at Brookwood in July for several nights when my mother was at Duke U. Hospital. Brookwood Inn cannot be in a better location to either Duke's hospital or the VA Hospital.

The Inn itself is rather "standard". The staff was friendly. Rooms had free parking and free WiFi. The hotel offered cookies in the afternoon/evening, which was nice to receive when getting back after a long day at the hospital.

One negative was that the ice machine on the 4th floor was not working, so I had to go to the 6th floor for ice.

The elevators were a bit dimly lit. Not sure why... there were many light bulbs, but the elevator was still dim.

All in all, with the Brookwood Inn's discounted hospital rate, the proximity to the hospital/campus, and the friendliness of the staff, I would stay there again if we ever go back to that hospital.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lkl6300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The motel is very close to the Duke Hospital (and to the VA Hospital too, I believe). Our room was adequate -- decent sized, clean, furnished OK. The bathroom looked like it had been recently modernized a bit. It was quite hot and humid when we were there, and there was a dehumidifier running in the hall, but the room and hallway were still pretty musty. I heard several people talking about elevator problems, but did not encounter any myself. There is adequate, free, parking. They offer an optional breakfast for an added price, which was pretty good and certainly convenient. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The staff seemed efficient, if not particularly welcoming. The price seemed to me a bit high for the quality received.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

The staff was personable; room was comfortable and clean. It is my desire for veteran to be able to stay there for less.. The transportation service that the hotel provides is wonderful. We stay hear for every veteran Hospital appointment . it is easy access for our appointments. Please try to make the price so we pay less than 100.00 for the total bill. run lower hospital specials for veterans. thank you so much. Kathy B

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Omababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#31 of 71 in Durham
742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University

Address: 2306 Elba St, Durham, NC 27705-3936 (Formerly CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £75 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area is a boutique style hotel close to campus, the hospital and Durham VA. A delicious breakfast and dinner are offered, and the hotel also boasts a bar. Rooms consist of king or two queen size beds, each with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, Keurig coffee makers and large work surfaces. Enjoy the modern feel of hard wood floors and faux brick wall accents. A business center and meeting facilities are available as well. The hotel is only minutes away from Durham Bulls Athletic park, downtown businesses, the historic district and the convention center, Duke Homestead, Sarah P. Duke gardens, Duke Chapel and convenient to area shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookwood Inn Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing