We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Six out of five stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Overnighted 10-21-13...main bldg...8th floor...rm 811...overlooks pkng lot. Free parking. Staff = 5 star customer service. Like new and EXCEPATIONALLY clean. No cheap, thin towels here. Beds-great...firm (not bricks) w/ thick, soft cushion top. Very well soundproofed. (wish people knew they didn't have to slam hotel doors) Skip in room coffee...lobby café is better. You'll also find HEALTHY [and other] food choices at Duke Cancer Center Café. (Ya really don't need all those "free continental breakfast" calories, anyway) Hotel is one half block from Duke Med Center (also, free shuttle available "to the door"). [PLEASE tip the driver and ask about his MASH experience]. Hotel is 3 minutes from Fulton St. escalator connecting to tunnel to med center buildings. Heat/AC quiet. Within reason, staff will accommodate late checkout if returning from med center appointment. Ask before going. Don't know about returning late from visiting.
Phoning from med center bldg. to hotel will have the shuttle waiting for you.

Room Tip: Top floor, 811 and 813 main bldg...away from elevator, soda machines, stairwells, etc. Overlooks re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    106
    53
    25
    17
See reviews for
99
39
30
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed one night at the Brookwood Inn to be close to Duke Universtiy. The online reservation worked perfectly, I got a great deal including breakfast. The hotel is located very near the west campus and there is ample parking. A very good breakfast was served in the lobby cafe, and I must say thank you again to Sheneesha, the lovely hostess/ server. This hotel is occupied primarily by guests who are either patients or family of patients at the Duke Medical Center, and it was obvious that the hotel staff and cafe are empathetic and caring with these guests who may stay a long time, It must make a difference to them to be treated in a family manner.
However I was there to visit the Duke Chapel, the Nasher Museum, Sarah Duke Gardens, and tour the Lemur Center off campus, and I recommend all of these.
My room was basic, included a small microwave oven and fridge, and was very clean. Unfortunately the window did not open and I found it a bit musty. The bed was harder than I prefer, but the hotel was quiet at night for sleeping.
I must also mention George, the very amiable shuttle driver who is available to take guests to destinations within a small radius of the hotel so that they can avoid parking costs. A great perk!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViewFromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
707 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 641 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I stayed at the Brookwood Inn given its location close to downtown Durham and the DPAC. The hotel was across the street from the parking garage for the Duke University Hospital. Check-in was quick and there were no issues. The elevators were located next to the main entrance. My room was right next to them, however the soundproofing was very good and didn't hear any noise from the hallway.

The room itself was pretty basic. There were two queen beds in the center. The refrigerator and microwave were located in the corner next to the window. The television was one of the old versions and not a flat screen like most hotels have these days. The bathroom was decent with a bath and shower combo. Overall, the room was ok for a short stay. Given the price you pay, you can't really complain. There was a restaurant downstairs that serves breakfast and lunch but didn't try it. The prices were high and the waitress looked like she didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wbullseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed after a football game. The shuttle delivered us from the hotel to the stadium gate. It was an easy walk through the pretty campus back to the hotel. We were given passes for parking even though check-in was later in the day. The room was clean and comfortable and updated. Coffee and cookies in the lobby were a sweet touch. Desk staff very friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathyhess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, MN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Brookwood Inn while in town for a workshop at Duke Medical. The hotel is very conveniently located near the VA Medical Center and Duke Medical Center. It is a clean, comfortable hotel. Our room had a refrigerator, which is always a plus! Although the hotel is on the older side, it is clean and quiet.

The hotel was a good value for the money and they offer a AAA discount and a discount to patients/families in Raleigh for medical reasons. There are not many restaurants close by, so a car would be helpful. We enjoyed exploring the Duke Campus (just a few miles away) and the Botanical Gardens.

This hotel is a good choice for those who need to be close to the hospitals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPWtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

Nice hotel with clean, comfortable rooms for a decent price. Excellent location for medical purposes. Ultra low flow bathroom fawcets are a problem.
Hotel, especially in section across from main hotel are in need of renovation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stamilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

My son was having a very serious surgery and I wanted to stay close to Duke University Medical Center. The Brookwood Inn is within walking distance. I was able to respond to his room withing 7 minutes. The staff was so very compassionate, professional and caring. The rooms were clean and inviting and the restaurant down stairs had very good food. I am staying there again in the near future for another son who is undergoing some testing. Where I am going to stay when I'm at Duke is no longer a concern since I have found the Brookwood Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationeratthecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.0 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#42 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.9 mi away
Millennium Durham
Millennium Durham
#35 of 71 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area

Property: CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Address: 2306 Elba Street, Durham, NC 27705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area is a boutique style hotel close to campus, the hospital and Durham VA. A delicious breakfast and dinner are offered, and the hotel also boasts a bar. Rooms consist of king or two queen size beds, each with mini-refrigerators, microwaves, Keurig coffee makers and large work surfaces. Enjoy the modern feel of hard wood floors and faux brick wall accents. A business center and meeting facilities are available as well. The hotel is only minutes away from Durham Bulls Athletic park, downtown businesses, the historic district and the convention center, Duke Homestead, Sarah P. Duke gardens, Duke Chapel and convenient to area shopping malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookwood Inn Durham Near Duke University Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Durham
Brookwood Hotel Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing