We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmanned front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

This Courtyard is as you would expect if you know the brand. The lobby has the updated style with updated deli counter as well. The rooms appeared to have updated furnishings, as everything looked new. Housekeeping did a good job too.

My only negative thought about this location is the front desk. When I arrived to check-in, there was someone there. But every other time I walked in the front door, the front desk was not occupied by a hotel employee. Normally this would be fine, but on 2 occasions I was hoping to ask a question. This seemed odd, as compared to other Marriott hotels and other Courtyards.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarriottVacClubOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in Durham/RTP. We appreciate the feedback regarding the cleanliness of the room and the new Bistro that serves breakfast and dinner. We apologize that you experienced a problem while at the hotel and we will definitely address it with the employees. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

We were leaving Atlanta, Ga about 730 PM on Friday, September 21, 2013 for a trip to Durham, NC for a funeral at 2pm on Saturday morning. We advised in our online reservation that we would be arriving very late around midnight. However, we ran into some road construction a little after Charlotte that slowed us down and it was way after midnight when we came through it. I called the hotel and advised that we were running late but we were on our way probably about an hour and we were told that it would be more like two hours but to not worry our reservation was still intact. Shortly thereafter everything came to a stop and we sat there for over an hour and we never saw what happened but people were outside their cars talking and socializing wondering what the hold up was. At about 3 am when we were frantically on our way, I received a call from Nikki at the hotel telling us that she was concerned about us and were we okay. I thought that was going over and beyond the call of duty and that really impressed us that she took the time to call us. When we arrived we were met outside and she helped us gather our nerves and ourselves together. We were given a lovely room and told of a wonderful place for breakfast and said that we did not have to check out until twelve noon which was very good to hear as we were bone tired. So I just want management to know that your employee Nikki was very hospitable and caring and we want you to know that we appreciated it and will definately recommend and stay at your hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bthomas2736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like after having a long trip to North Carolina you experienced one of our hospitable employees that went "above and beyond"! We will definitely give your feedback to the employee. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This Courtyard was nice. I had a great night's sleep. My traveling companion took a shower and shaved and everything and I never even heard him. It was nice and quiet. The shower was fine. The beds were fine. It has somewhat outdated decorating, but not too bad. I would definitely go there again and the price was right.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrocpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback regarding our hotel the Courtyard RTP/Durham. We are glad to hear that you had a great night's sleep and the room was nice and quiet. Please let us know the next time you are in the area. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here on business for two nights. Looks like it was an older Courtyard that has been recently renovated (with the ugliest hallway carpet I've ever seen). Hotel common areas had a funky over-air-conditioned / musty smell. Terrible water system. Water temperature in shower constantly changed while in use as other rooms started / finished using water going from downright cold to never getting warmer than lukewarm. AC unit had a bit of an annoying rattle. On the positive, employees were very cheerful and helpful. Would not likely stay again if I return to the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drivesouth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay with us at the Residence Inn RTP/Durham. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our cheerful and helpful staff! It's unfortunate to learn about the areas we fell short in meeting your expectations and will address them to the staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

In the month of August our family rented multiple rooms during our father's hospitalization and funeral.
The entire staff was so kind and helpful in making our stay comfortable in this difficult time. Each and every day they went above and beyond in assisting us and expressing genuine sympathy for our extended family.
Each and every employee demonstrated exemplary work ethics and hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 34,685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Courtyard RTP/Durham. We appreciate all the kind comments regarding our hospitable and helpful staff. The entire staff strives to go "above and beyond" to make sure the overall guest experience is positive! We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good hotel if you are visiting RTP. Rooms are nice but first floor was very musty for some reason. Hotel has all the basic Courtyard standards, Bistro, Flat Screen TVs, Small pool, Work out area. Very good overall. The only minor gripe I had was that I called twice about a charge to my phone bill that they recognized was incorrectly billed but after 2 phone calls and a call to Mariott they still have not corrected it. The charge is $3 but it's become more of a principal thing since one of the staff asked me "is the $3 going to break you?". I said no but it's not correct. Nice place, more training needed for staff. Bistro personell were very very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Courtyard RTP/Durham. We are glad to hear your had a nice stay. We appreciate your comments about our professional staff in the Bistro. I will follow-up up with you personally to make sure your phone charge was taken care of and we apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Earlier this year we stayed in a Courtyard by Marriott for the first time in many years and had a wonderful experience, so we decided to try this Courtyard for two nights. The room was freshly renovated. The room was quite spacious, even with two queen beds. The location of the hotel was very good, right near the highway. There is a Chick-Fil-A right across the street, as well as a Walgreens, gas stations, other restaurants, and a Red Box kiosk. The room cleanliness was not quite up to par. I noticed a piece of lettuce and a peanut on the floor near the curtains. I pushed back the curtains to see if housekeeping noticed; they did not. Also, the Bistro, although convenient, is very pricey. My son and I each had french toast with breakfast meat -- it was over $10 each. The next morning we had breakfast at Chik-Fil-A for $10 for both of us! Lesson learned. The service was very good/attentive. I would probably stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tara T, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Courtyard RTP/Durham. We are glad that you were able to see the new renovations and the Bistro. It's unfortunate to learn about the housekeeping areas that we fell short in meeting your expectations. Your feedback provides areas that we can work on in order to improve our overall guest experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham Research Triangle Park
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
3.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park

Address: 301 Residence Inn Blvd, Durham, NC 27713-2281
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott
Durham Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing