We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, healthy lunch”
Review of Toast

Toast
Ranked #43 of 774 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy lunch”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The soups (lentil, cauliflower) were so flavorful. Enjoyed the crostini! Affordable and tasty lunch!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank tncmohin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    58
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amother great visit to Toast”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Went with another couple and everyone was happy with their selections. Casual, friendly atmosphere. Many choices, big and small. Both soups and salads were delicious. Make sure to check out specials.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Consistently fresh, innovative and flavorful cuisine.”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

A small cafe with an Italian approach...high quality, locally sourced (as much as possible) ingredients. It reminds my husband and I of our favorite restaurant in Florence, a small cafe with a hand written menu. The soups are consistently amazing, full of flavor. The other night I had an onion soup gratin with an Italian twist...tomatoes. It was yummy. My husband had the celery root puree with octopus; he didn't want to share. We've also had the lentil soup with cottechino sausage, and cauliflower purée with brown butter, capers, and pine nuts. We love the bruschetta alongside, the chicken liver, the goat cheese and honey and the caponata. Also the open faced sandwiches with white anchovies, the pesto and mozzarella panini. One could go on... Each more wonderful than the next. Also, interesting, delicious and affordable wine selections. Kelly, the co-owner who runs Toast with her husband Billy, the chef, is always friendly and welcoming. This is our go-to special treat for going out for a low key dinner when we are too tired to cook and don't feel like getting dressed up. The prices are right, the food always a treat. True, the tables are simple and the decor somewhat spartan, but we find it clean, comfortable and charming. We come often, but were moved after this particular visit to write a review.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank decafgreentea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Love Toast! Every time I go there they have a wonderful, unique and delicious soup that's healthy as well. The crostini are wonderful and they have a great special with 6 crostini and soup or salad for a low price. Everyone who works there is very friendly and the owner seems to love what she is doing. Highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pegbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best butternut squash soup ever!!!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Very pleased with this little cafe. My daughter and I stopped for lunch and enjoyed a fantastic green salad and bowl of soup. Simple fare done right! The flavors were amazing. The service was friendly too!
Will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toast also viewed

 

Been to Toast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing