We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel for football weekends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great hotel for football weekends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

enjoyed our trip from williamsburg to see our home town team play UNC. A great location to both Duke and UNC, outstanding staff and very clean hotel. Beakfast was a tasty buffet the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank footballtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    91
    52
    21
    11
See reviews for
75
45
17
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

I have stayed at this hotel several times and always for 1 night. The property itself is fine. It is in good condition, has the central courtyard and the staff has always been helpful. It is right off I-85 and relatively close to Duke.

My issues are with the location. There are not a lot of amenities close by that you associate with the typical Courtyard traveler. You need to know Durham to find more desirable eating and entertainment options. I have never had an issue at this property, but the general area just has a sketchy feel. To top it off, the highway noise is bad. You can't get a way from it. I didn't sleep well because of the constant drone.

There are other options in the area you may want to consider that are away from I-85. I am a Marriott Platinum member that prefers to stay in Courtyard's. I doubt I'll stay at this one again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsville, MD
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

As a 50+ night Marriott customer I have stayed at this property for 3+ years. At first it was great, but then I began to notice that while other properties were getting upgrades, this one was not.

-Mattress was tired and saggy
-Bottom fitted sheet too small for mattress and had holes from frequent washing]
-Bath towels tired
-Full length mirror door removed from closet- no full length mirror
-On the I-85 side of the hotel, traffic noise is high.
- Ice machine on 4th floor nonoperational
-Salad in bistro refrigerator 4 days out of date
-No vending on 4th floor (for a water or a drink)

I am not a whiner, but when I spend two months of my year sleeping in a hotel I stayed with Marriott because of consistency. Staff is courteous and seem to be doing the best that they can.

Hope it gets better, but I will stay elsewhere in January when I come back to the area.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habersack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We have stayed there twice this year. Everything is crisp and clean. Staff always helpful when needed. The only down side is that breakfast is not free.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights. Upon check-in, our room did smell badly of smoke ( another reviewer had the same problem) but when we went to the desk, they apologized and we were switched to another room. Then the TV converter was dead but they sent it back up with new batteries within 5 minutes so no complaints about the front desk service. This seems to be an older hotel that has been refurbished to a Courtyard and isn't as fresh as some of the other newer Courtyards I've stayed at. We had a great rate ($64 per night) so were very content. Spouse liked fitness facility and the pool are looked nice although we did not use it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tohhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We have family in Durham and this will be our new must stay hotel. It was nice, friendly and reasonable. The room smelled of smoke, but my husband wouldn't let me ask for another room. I am sure they would have, had I asked. Great location too! close to interstate, university and restaurants. The outside courtyard and pool were a relaxing place to hang out, as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roslyn, ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

excellent value at the $76 AAA rate. room was very clean, fresh, not a scuff mark on the wall, etc. extremely comfortable king size bed, room was a nice size. staff pleasant, breakfast fine for a hotel in this price range

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejudithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 70 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#36 of 70 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown

Property: Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Address: 1815 Front St, Durham, NC 27705-2512
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Durham Duke University/Downtown Hotel Durham
Durham Courtyard
Durham Marriott
Courtyard Durham Duke University

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing