We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dpac is awsome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center

DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center
Ranked #2 of 74 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue opened in 2009.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dpac is awsome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

dpac is the number 1 place for performances in the world and yes I think it is even better than new york trat you self and come to durham nc and when you do go to the dpac thay are even building a new hotel next to it so you dont have to drive if you choose not to dpac is the best from staff to performances keep up the good work

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank needham b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you so much for this nice review. I am also glad you mentioned the new Aloft hotel being built right next to DPAC. It is expected to open in the spring of 2015 and we are excited about the convenience that this new property will offer out of town guests that are coming to the theater.

I hope we have the chance to host you again for another great performance at DPAC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    124
    26
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Friendly staff. Great seats! Wait in the lobby was comfortable with several different choices in drinks and snacks. Food and snacks a bit pricey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lisarT1944BG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Great feedback on all fronts.

Our snacks and drinks are premium priced, but please know we work hard to ensure they are priced equal or in many cases less than other major sports and entertainment venues in the region. A food and beverage operation at any venue has very tight margins since the overhead includes the expense of a full staff, inventory and equipment costs, but sales can only occur for about 90 minutes on an event day. This short sales window is the driving factor in the prices you see at venues like DPAC.

Keep the feedback coming! We learn from every guest we hear from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best performing arts center!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I've been too DPAC numerous times and can't say a negative word about any of my experiences. Having sat in almost every area of the theater, no seat is a bad seat. Acoustics are great, venue is always neat and clean and all performances have been New York quality.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. As a top contributor to Trip Advisor we know you have a discerning eye and your review speaks volumes. I hope we can be part of another special outing or event for you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“better than broadway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

they have the best shows, and performances. Usually a sell-out for most of the shows. people have a great time visiting with others during the intermission

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jancroft19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultime Experience for Live Events”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you visit NC and you want to have the ultimate experience in live entertainment, you must visit DPAC. It is a wonderful venue to see live events, i.e., concerts, broadway plays, etc. It reminds me of NYC. DPAC has plenty of parking. They offer snacks and refreshments as well as stand-alone bars. If you're looking for good dining options, there are many restaurants in the area. Come to DPAC -- you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gottagetaway70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thanks for this great review. Ultimate is a big adjective to live up to, but our team at DPAC is indeed dedicated to being the best place for live entertainment in the Triangle.

I am also so glad you mentioned the great nearby restaurants as part of your review.There are over a dozen walkable places to eat and drink before and sometimes after shows. In addition Durham boasts many highly rated restaurants that are just 5-10 minutes from the theater. You can find a nice list of options on our website.

Thanks again for the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing