We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dpac offers the finest entertainment in the Triangle”

DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center
Ranked #2 of 76 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This venue opened in 2009.
Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Dpac offers the finest entertainment in the Triangle”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It it the artists that shine here. It is unfortunate that there is only one venue in town, though. DPAC is a bit full of itself because of this. As a season pass holder, one expects wider choices. But DPAC knows it's in charge here and we have had choices withheld from us because we bought the season. Best to buy individual shows. However, since they are IT, the artists sell out before we can get in line. It's actually easier to get tickets in NYC and take the train up if you can. But of course, that's not possible for most folks. However, that is exactly what we do now if DPAC withholds choices. The volunteers are great. I often wonder if DPAC actually pays anyone for support service. All this said, when we can get good tickets, it is wonderful. Durham has bigger demand these days and NC should create more venues to fill that demand.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JackBlack1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
At DPAC we love feedback of all kinds and learn from every guest we hear from. Based on your review I'd love for you to follow-up with me directly if you have questions or more detailed feedback about how we select the shows we host and how ticket access is determined. DPAC competes with over a dozen 2,000+ seat theaters that sit between Washington, DC and Atlanta, so the options for ticket buyers are immense within the region and the competition for the best shows is fierce. We are always looking for new show ideas so please do let me know if you have specific ideas for events you would like to suggest we add to the schedule.

At DPAC we believe in great entertainment experiences. And our vision is simple; we want to be our guest’s favorite place for live events. Our key values are quality and service, and we deliver these values with warmth, friendliness and an attention to detail that is the hallmark of what we call "The DPAC Experience".

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and I welcome your follow-up if you have any added questions or suggestions.

Bob Klaus
General Manager
guestservices@dpacnc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    915
    127
    27
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Carteret, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent venue”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Great acoustics and crowd control. Parking was easy and within a short walk. Several restaurants/pubs within short walking distance. Concessions and restrooms located on each level of venue. Beer and wine available. Security and employee presence easily accessible and friendly. We will definitely return to this venue!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachrodstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I am so glad to read that you had a good time on your recent visit to DPAC. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We love feedback of all kinds, both those comments that let us know where we are excelling, and those that let us know there may be a spot where we need to work harder. Our goal is to be the Triangle's favorite place for live entertainment and I hope you have the chance to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First Class Experience”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

What a beautiful facility. Great view from all seats. Well organized and friendly staff. Excellent hotels nearby. Some hotels provide shuttle to aDPAC. Well worth getting on Dpac email to be advised of upcoming events! A quality experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lexxi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
I was glad to read the nice feedback you posted. The entire team at DPAC is committed to bringing the very best shows and hosting them with the very best customer service. We really thrive on hearing from our guests and positive feedback likes yours is an added reward. I hope we have the chance to see you back at DPAC soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
207 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“DPAC packs it in...stunning venue with city views”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

DPAC packs a lot of punch in an architecturally beautiful venue. Floor to ceiling glass boasts views of downtown Durham. The selection of shows draws a nearly full house; I've seen several and my mom and her friends purchase season tickets. They serve light snacks typical of most venues and some decent wines and beer as well. Seating is incredibly comfy and the tiered layout means everyone gets a good view.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
It was good to read this nice review. Trip Advisor readers will find your detailed description of DPAC a real asset. I am glad we have met expectations and hope to see you and your family visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A taste of NYC in the Triangle!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having lived in NYC for over 20 years, I really enjoyed Manhattan and the Theater...however, the venue at DPAC is the next best thing...great performances, very reasonable and convenient. The DPAC is a wonderful theater in its design and comfort. My family and I have seen many shows there and now we are season ticket holders...very pleased and fortunate to have such a great offering right in our home backyard....Don't miss it if you can and most of all....ENJOY!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RDU-Yankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob K, General Manager at DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
It's great to hear of this positive comparison to New York theatre. Our parent company Nederlander actually operates nine theaters in New York and with those connections you can expect the biggest new Broadway shows to always come to DPAC first. Our entire team here works day and night so that the DPAC guest experience can be the best. It's such a nice reward to hear from satisfied visitors like yourself.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to DPAC - Durham Performing Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing