We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winston Salem
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here a number of weekends ago for a night. I have been inside this Inn before but never had the chance to stay. It was outstanding. I am not much of a B&B person, but this is totally worth it. The rooms (all different) are beautiful, and ours was outstanding (The Crews Room). Hardwood floor, EXTREMELY comfortable bed, beautiful windows, and probably the best shower I've ever used. The iPad in the room was a great added feature, as was the turndown service with chocolate and a glass of port. We did not get to try out the breakfast part of the B&B, but I have every reason to believe that it would be great. The Inn's location is superb. All in all, I thought that our quick stay was exceptional, and, although on the pricier side, absolutely worth it if you're looking for a special treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cackalacktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    19
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
66
100
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Brilliant place to have a wedding. Everything in one lovely building: Seventeen beautiful rooms to handle the out of town guests, as well as accommodations for the reception, ceremony, dinner, and after party with dancing. Friends and family, most from out of town, filled all the rooms on the second floor. Our room, the Moss, was large and beautifully decorated. We visited most of the other rooms; some smaller and some larger, but all were different and beautiful. More importantly, for such a large place, it felt warm, comfortable, and private. It was easy to knock on a door and join with others. The downstairs had the lovely dinning room, a beautiful room for the ceremony, and great sun porch and hallways. As a picture is worth a thousand words, I've copied a few. Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I have been here in the past, but this place just seems to get better and better! The staff are warm and friendly, the accommodations luxurious and the breakfast simply delicious! It was fun trying a different room this time; (all 17 are completely unique!) I was in the Crews Room! Can't wait to visit the Durham area again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deni1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

This wonderful inn epitomizes the B&B experience. This beautiful property is extremely well maintained by the owners. Included with our stay was a wonderful hot breakfast, lots of warm homemade cookies, drinks and snacks, and chocolate and port with the turndown service.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

The King's Daughters Inn is aptly named; it's more of a hotel than a bed & breakfast... so if you're looking for a big, social B&B-type breakfast, B&B frou-frou decor (including, say, the owners' collection of ceramic piggies), having breakfast every morning at the same table with Jane and Marty from Peoria, and hosts that can't seem to let you alone, you'll be happier elsewhere. What the KDI offers in return is the dignity and ambience of a small English hotel, in which -- based, admittedly, on my experiences 30-40 years ago -- it would be considered quite horrifying to have to disclose your identity to strangers at the breakfast table. To be sure, there's nothing to stop you from getting to know the other guests, but the breakfast room is enormous, and one can quite readily find an unoccupied table, should one prefer. To me, the KDI is just the right place if you want (1) a bit of anonymity, thank you; (2) rooms that tip the scales into flat-out, sybaritic luxury; and (3) a great location, close to downtown and across the street from part of Duke's sprawling domain. Please bear this in mind as you read the other reviews, for I believe that some reviewers were expecting a B&B atmosphere; one of them described the ambience of the breakfast room, for example, as something akin to an "Elks Lodge." The breakfast may not be served with high ceremonial grandeur, but it is made to order, with fresh local ingredients, and cooked just the way you want.

The king in question must have had quite a few daughters, since there are numerous rooms... and every one that we saw (about a half-dozen) has been renovated to a truly impressive level of luxury and quiet, dignified taste. We stayed in the Womack Room, one of the lower-priced rooms on the ground floor. But many of the other rooms in our wing were unoccupied and open, enabling us to see that, like our room, each of them had been beautifully renovated and equipped with a big, flat-screen TV, an iPad, and lovely furnishings. We found our room to be one of the most comfortable we've stayed in; the queen bed was gloriously comfortable, and the thick drapes enabled us to shut out the morning sunshine. This is the place for the sleep specialist, the sack artist, the connoisseur of the snooze. I can still close my eyes and recall the complimentary glass of madeira, the smell of the freshly laundered sheets and pillowcases... the wonderfully comfortable bed... the quiet... <snore> Oh! Where were we?

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U-VaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

I work with a national consortium of individuals who met in Durham this year due to one of our members being at Duke University. We chose the King's Daughter's Inn due to its high ratings and reasonable prices. We were not disappointed! The lodging of the B&B is exquisite and the choice of decor is amazing. The rooms were very comfy and had the perfect touches to everything including a iPad for use as a guest and nightly truffles and wine delivered! The meeting room was perfect and was held in the basement of the B&B. A very nice system was in place with a Mac console. Also, there were brand new flat screens for presentations. Colin and Deanna have done an incredible job with the Inn...it's the nicest I've ever been to and we hope to come back again. They, along with Samantha made our meeting one of the most memorable we have had. Thank you!

Room Tip: You can pick your room out online. All have tons of character and are very nice. You can't make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

I am not a big fan of B&Bs, and when I was booked at the KDI for a visit to Duke I was a bit concerned. However, this historic property has been updated with all the modern amenities (flat screen TV and iPads in every room, modern decor that fits well in a historic house, updated bathrooms, etc). The employees are nice if not a bit laid back, and little touches like chocolate truffles and port at bedtime are terrific. Very nice breakfast served in main hall. No exercise facilities, but clearly this is not unusual for a B&B.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugdocsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#10 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
0.7 mi away
Durham Marriott City Center
0.9 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#23 of 71 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Property: The King's Daughters Inn
Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27705
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing