We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay for foodies or a romantic getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect stay for foodies or a romantic getaway”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I decided to spend our 5th anniversary at the King's Daughters Inn (full disclosure--I won a gift certificate for the stay). We live in Durham and had actually toured it when it was under renovation and being converted into an inn. The owners did an absolutely fantastic job with the renovations and the interior design. It is gorgeous, and they also added some 'green" features that really impressed me. There's a nice mix of historically appropriate decor and crisp modern details. The room included an iPad and a nice digital flat screen tv. The bed is triple-sheeted, translation: extremely clean and luxurious! We had a nice view of Duke East Campus across the street.
We took a pleasant walk through the charming historic neighborhood and down Main St. for a light supper at Toast and drinks at West End Wine Bar. It is also walking distance to many of Durham's foodie hot spots: Bar Mateo, Pizzaria Toro, Toast, Whiskey, Dos Perros, Scratch Bakery, Loaf, the Farmer's Market, Parker & Otis...You could also walk to DPAC but it is a bit far, very close if driving and we noticed they have a zipcar!
Lots of charming/romantic details like luxurious robes, port and chocolate with turndown service, even the old fashioned bell you ring when you arrive. The owner prepares a delicious hot breakfast with full menu, as well as an assortment of cold choices like cereal, fruit, scones, yogurt. The Inn was full on the Monday night we stayed and I noticed a mix of couples, business people, professor types, and a European family with teenage son in tow.
It really was absolutely lovely and I did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Inn is on a corner (faces a somewhat busy st., other street is quiet residential), so request a back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willtravel4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    19
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
103
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My husband and I are attorneys in eastern NC and wanted to have an intimate wedding at a special location that was reflective of our personalities. KDI was a pot of gold! Not only was it amazingly gorgeous but the staff was so easy to work with and very helpful throughout the process. The rooms were stunning and the food was delicious. If I could do it all over again, I would not change a single thing. I look forward to celebrating our anniversary each year at the Inn. We highly recommend Kings Daughter's Inn for a uniquely refreshing experience. We promise, you will not regret it! 5+ stars!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJusticeNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2013

The King's Daughters Inn is a treasure. This unique bed and breakfast is absolutely gorgeous, the service is terrific, and the location can't be beat. You can walk to some of Durham's best restaurants, visit Duke University's East Campus, and explore the historic Trinity Park neighborhood during your stay.

My husband and I were married in The King's Daughters Inn parlor, held our wedding reception in the dining room, and spent two nights in the Trinity Suite. The staff did an amazing job that weekend assisting with the wedding, making us comfortable, and seeing to the needs of our guests. It was the perfect venue for our wedding, and I couldn't be happier with our choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lxa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Though we were hosting a destination wedding we wanted it to have a welcoming, homey, family feel. From the first minute walked in to the Kings Daughters Inn (KDI) we knew it would provide the perfect "home base" for our weekend. So much so that we rented the entire Inn! I can honestly say this choosing the KDI one of the very best decisions we made throughout the wedding planning process. The Inn is magnificent - both in terms of decor, service and proximity to downtown Durham. Moreover, the management was extremely kind and flexible - letting our very eager families decorate the Inn and really make themselves at home. I cannot say enough great things about KDI and the whole team.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My husband and I made the incredible choice of The King's Daughter's Inn for our wedding weekend last spring. I cannot rave enough about the overall experience that we had. First of all, the Inn is downright beautiful! With our large family and bridal party, we reserved the entire inn for the weekend, so I was able to explore all the rooms and each one is so unique and thoughtfully appointed. The bed and linens were wonderful and I slept like a dream! No pre-wedding jitters keeping me awake.

The common areas are equally functional, comfortable, and stylish. With the help of the amazing events director, Samantha, we hosted a wine reception in the parlor. The dining room serves up a delicious breakfast (included)! My husband and I even had our "first look" moment in the beautiful sunroom and it felt like we were meeting in our dream home.

For those less familiar with the Durham area, the location of the Inn cannot be beat! It's right off Duke campus, set in the historic Trinity Park neighborhood and within walking distance to a plethora of great restaurants and bars.

When we return to Durham, we will be sure to stay at the King's Daughter's Inn not only for the sentimental spot it holds in our hearts, but more importantly because of the superior service, first rate finishes, and glamorous rooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2013

My husband and I feel so blessed to have had The King's Daughter's Inn suggested to us as a reception venue. We followed up on the suggestion, dropped by (at the last minute, and Samantha was so gracious!), and never looked back. Walking into the Inn felt so perfect: Art Deco inspired furnishings, tranquil, unique. We loved the intimacy of the Inn, and the fact that we could offer our wedding guests a place to stay as a treat and a "Thank you" for sharing our joy.

The wedding reception was lovely. The rooms were fabulous. The staff was sweet. Our guests felt so spoiled. We still hear from them about how memorable the experience was!

We love the fact that the Inn is also eco-friendly. Honestly, I'm trying to figure out a way to go back and relax there! Every time I drive by, it makes me smile. The King's Daughters Inn is a Durham gem.

Room Tip: You can peek online at the rooms available and choose which you like the look of. I had fun matching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bekah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

attended my nephew's wedding & reception here.it was fabulous from a-z. the staff was very friendly & attentive.the rooms were to die for, & looked like a page from better homes & gardens. i would definetly recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
0.8 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Property: The King's Daughters Inn
Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27701-2009
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing