We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great get away”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My wife and I live in Durham, but have used the KDI for 2 anniversary get aways over the last 3 years. We highly recommend staying here if you need to get away or if planning on a visit to Durham. The KDI is much more like a small hotel then a B and B. The service is great and friendly. The rooms have large screen TV with cable and HBO, very comfy beds and ipad for the internet. Breakfast is very good. It is so nice to within walking distances of 2 of our favorite places to eat, Pops and Watts Street Grocery. We had a fabulous time away and I am sure we will be back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    19
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
103
38
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a lovely stay here several nights in early May. Although it is listed as a B&B, the KDI feels more like a small boutique hotel. The corridors and public areas are very large and airy, having much more space than the usual B&B. But it does have nice B&B features--great breakfasts and beautifully & individually decorated rooms, plus little treats like port & chocolates at night. The common areas are also very attractive, and because of them, you have a more private experience than the typical converted house. Both the owners and the staff were both welcoming and extremely helpful. Most rooms seem to have a sitting area--ours did, with well functioning lamps, too! A very good value and a lovely place to relax while in Durham.

Green Features: Among other practices, the KDI recirculates laundry water in a very green way--kudos to them.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Esq.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

A beautiful place, great service, lots of charm, and within walking distance of Duke and many places to eat, We stayed in the Watts room. Lovely decor and a super comfortable bed. We even had an iPad provided in our room to use with the wireless. Nice bathroom, but upon close examination the craftsmanship of the shower during the remodel is lacking...I hope it does not get old looking too fast. Shower water pressure is great. Nice towels and robes provided. Port wine and chocolates were by our bedside when we returned from dinner.. No refrigerator in the rooms which was too bad because we wanted to chill a couple of drinks, but they said there was a refrigerator we could use somewhere even though we did not use it, I will stay there again when we visit!

Room Tip: View pictures of the rooms online to find one you like.
See more room tips
Green Features: Was remodelled with energy saving and Eco friendly materials.
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALBSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tourrettes-sur-Loup, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We have been received extreemly friendly. The rooms are very nice, large and clean. Breakfast ok. The location is close to the main street and has also close access to the campus. Can just recookend also for parents of students.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baboutheterror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southlake, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My daughter and I chose the King's Daughter's Inn as the headquarters for her recent wedding weekend and were more than pleased with the outcome. From the casual family dinner in the beautiful dining room Thursday night through the following Monday when I had to ask them to go through their trash to find a diamond necklace that had been inadvertently thrown away, every detail was flawless. (Yes, they found the necklace!) It felt like we had invited our closest friends and family to stay with us in our home where every need was met with a smile. Breakfast was deliciously made to order each morning; our beds were magically waiting for us each night with chocolate and port on the nightstands. We gathered in the large living room and first floor sun room and visited with one another to our hearts' content--it was like a big family reunion. Every request was greeted with a smile, and the staff was always friendly and helpful. We held the bachelorette party downstairs in Brody Hall on Thursday; the groomsmen dressed and had lunch and photos in the same place on Saturday. All in all, I would highly recommend The King's Daughters Inn to anyone who is looking for a place to gather family and friends in a congenial, beautiful setting. You won't be sorry.

Room Tip: The Trinity Suite was wonderful--large, light and airy, with the fabulous sun porh. The girls of ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cissie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Second visit to this B&B. Rooms all have a sitting room and separate bedroom with an art deco decor. Very clean, awesome high-end sheets. Breakfast made to order in the inns historic dining room was great. Homemade muffins, scones, stone-ground grits, chocolate chip waffles. Only negative was that we had to check out very early and asked for a to-go breakfast, which the inn offered to do and were really disappointed to find a few store bought packaged snacks. We were looking forward to some of the inn's awesome muffins or scones.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NWS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deannacrossman, Owner at The King's Daughters Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2015
We're so glad you've had several great experiences at the Inn... and that you love our tasty breakfasts so much you were hoping to get one to-go! Our baker wakes up super early to make make our scones and muffins fresh every morning... but, sadly, you had to leave even earlier than she gets started! Knowing you had to make it through security, we put together a breakfast that we knew would travel well. Our newest flavors are butterscotch pecan and bacon gouda – I hope you get the chance to come see us soon so you can try some!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2013

My husband and I had the privilege of staying at The King's Daughters Inn recently and it was the most pleasant bed & breakfast experience we've ever had! The ambiance of the property is so unique and refreshing. Our room was fantastic - bright colors, retro decor, and high ceilings - we could have camped out all night. Its location is so close to both Downtown Durham and 9th Street Areas, however, that we opted to walk to dinner. When we returned, we were greeted with a sweet turn down service including a treat of port & chocolate for each of us. The owners of KDI are fabulous - Deanna and Colin are dedicated to being TRULY GREEN - a rarity but something that is so important! Whether you live in Durham and want a getaway evening out, or you are in town visiting, or even looking for a place for a large group to stay during a wedding weekend, KDI is the most special place you can stay in our area! I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Markham Suite - it was awesome. Corner room - two rooms, very spacious, high ceilin...
See more room tips
Green Features: This Green Factor is very important to us and we really appreciate the fact that this is part of the owners' mission. Stamp of approval here!!
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaPOlender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
0.8 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
289 reviews
2.1 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
0.9 mi away
Aloft Durham Downtown
Aloft Durham Downtown
#25 of 71 in Durham
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Property: The King's Daughters Inn
Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27701-2009
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing