We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The King's Daughters Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$151
US$134
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$64
Red Roof
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
268
21
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
268
21
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseast campusb bturn down servicesun roomtrinity suitegranolaport wineduke universitysmall glass of portmade to order breakfastlemon curdweekend weddingbed and breakfastsitting roomfamily eventfirst floorcookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at The King's Daughters Inn. It felt like I was at home. The food was outstanding, the service even better and the accommodations were more than expected. The turndown service that includes locally made delectable chocolates was an extremely nice touch. The furnishings were elegant, yet eclectic and seem to be chosen to fit the theme of each room. For the price of hotels in this area, you couldn't find a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Trvlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We used King’s Daughters B&B as our “base of operations” for our daughter’s wedding in Durham. We booked most of the rooms and it felt like our friends and family were gathering at a friend’s home.

The place is simply eclectically elegant.

KD’s is large, comfortable and clean, and breakfast was delicious (hope you get a chance to have Deanna’s French toast casserole). And there are a few other “perfect” touches like gourmet chocolates and a sip of port on your bedside table when you’re ready to turn in for the night.

Frankly, it is worth going back even if you don’t have a reason to visit Durham -- other than staying at King’s Daughters.

Many thanks, Colin and Deanna, for helping make our daughters wedding perfect by making our accommodations so very comfortable and sharing your gracious hospitality with all of us.

Our only serious concern is that it won’t be long before the word gets out and it becomes difficult to get reservations at KD’s.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctf104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

A last minute change of accomodations by the organizers of a meeting at Duke, lead to a wonderful surprise when I entered the front doors of The King's Daughters Inn. The inn has been impecably restored by a delightful couple, the Crossmans. The attention to detail is obvious from the furnishings to the homemade granola for breakfast. Afternoon tea and delicious homemade scones lead to a delightful walk around the beautiful neighborhood. I would highly recommend this inn for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogo50Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We stayed at King's Daughters Inn in May 2009 shortly after it opened. Occupying an exquisitely renovated historic building in Trinity Park adjacent to Duke University's East Campus, it is a must-stay choice for visitors to Duke or downtown Durham. The Inn has 17 one-of-a-kind rooms with state-of-the-art plumbing, lighting and air conditioning. Two of the second-floor rooms(Trinity and Saunders Suites)have their own sun porches, which are very special.
The owners, the Crossmans, are warm and engaging hosts(and former Duke students). They prepare a sumptuous breakfast on order for their guests.
Within walking distance of the Inn are excellent downtown restaurants, and the walking/running path around Duke's East Campus is just across the street. For visitors to Duke, the Inn offers a small and charming alternative to the Washington Duke Inn on Duke's West Campus. King's Daughters Inn also offers better value, as it is priced below the Washington Duke and it includes full breakfast at no extra charge. King's Daughters Inn is going to be a big hit with Duke parents, so early booking for Duke events would be advisable.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
Thank JSHWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I loved this hotel. My room was spacious, light and immaculately clean. The decor was pretty and the room had a super modern bathroom and flat screen TV. The owners were super helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews