We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find, beautiful rooms, location and”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King's Daughters Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 November 2009

We stayed at the King's Daughter's Inn while visiting family over Thanksgiving. This is a brand new B&B in Durham where the owners are clearly paying attention to every detail. The interior of the building, furniture and finishings are very nice both in and out of the rooms. Our room had a large flat screen TV with an excellent channel selection, a Mac Mini, great bed, etc... We loved the chocolate and port at turndown, what a nice surprise. Breakfast was great too, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SyrahCabernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
There are newer reviews for The King's Daughters Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2009

best thanksgiving weekend we can think of.hospitality,service,rooms,as good as it gets.can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascautomotive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

My husband and I have been traveling to Durham for medical treatment at Duke. We had not found the spot for us until we stayed at the King's Daughters Inn. It could not have been better. The location was ideal, close to the hospital, great for walks around the east campus and the trinity park neighborhood, and within walking distance to restaurants on 9th street and downtown.
We stayed in the Trinity Suite and spent much of our time in the sun room. I loved the big magnolia tree outside our window. The accommodations are first rate, clean, and lovely. We can't wait to go back and try other rooms.
The food was delicious and not too heavy - we appreciated the local fare and home made apple butter and lemon spread in the mornings.
Colin and Deanna who run the Inn and restored it, attended to our every need without being obtrusive. Truly.
We will definitely go back to the King's Daughters Inn. It was the highlight of our stay in Durham.

bed bathroom

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izaaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

The wife and I decided to treat ourselves on our anniversary and stay at the King's Daughters. We are locals and had heard about this place being renovated into an Inn earlier this year. What a surprise to see just how good a job the owners had done. Beautiful and tasteful decor fills the foyer, large open hallways and main stair case. We had a nice chat with the owners and were happy to find out that they are locals themselves, passionate about their Inn and the local community. On to the rooms. We stayed in the Trinity Suite a beautiful and large room overlooking the leafy side street. The room features a large king bed, huge flat screen TV, granite and tile bathroom with jet tub and my favorite feature, an adjoining private sunroom with comfy chairs, just perfect for an afternoon of reading and lounging. Awaiting us was locally made chocolate truffles and a chilled bottle of bubbly (pre-ordered for our special occasion). I got to peek into a couple of other rooms and was impressed to see that each room is uniquely decorated, and all featured the same huge flat screen TV, nice!
Probably the best thing about this Inn is how well located it is. We took a short drive to dinner, but could have easily walked there. We did return to the Inn, and headed back out on foot to one of our favorite local bars, The Federal (look for my review). As close as the Inn is to local bars and restaurants, it is still in a quiet neighborhood with beautiful old restored houses. It is a nice stroll through the streets around that area.
Back to the Inn. After a restful sleep, we went down to the dining room for breakfast which consisted of a selection of home-made granola, cakes and pastries, along with a freshly cooked hot breakfast that I'm told changes daily. Juices and tea are available, along with a delicious coffee that I came to find out is locally roasted by Muddy Dog Coffee company. I also came to find that the Inn hosts various events from beer and wine tasting to coffee and chocolate tastings. They are also available for hosting special events.
All in all a wonderful stay at this beautifully restored Inn. Very happy to see an Inn of this caliber coming to downtown Durham. Durham rising indeed! :)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

I stayed at this bed and breakfast on a business trip a couple of months ago. I cannot say enough good things about the place! It has beautiful decor throughout. The owners are young Duke grads who have obviously worked hard to make a warm and welcoming place for both business and leisure travelers. The rooms were absolutely lovely, the environmental upgrades impressive, and the service was exceptional. Amenities wonderful...welcome tea served in a tidy sitting room, handmade soaps and toiletries in the bath. They also left cordials and incredible(!) chocolates by the bed for the turndown service. The next morning, breakfast was absolutely delicious. I will definitely be back there next time I'm in Durham. Great place for Duke visitors to think of staying.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burkina01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

I enjoyed every minute of my stay at The King's Daughters Inn. It felt like I was at home. The food was outstanding, the service even better and the accommodations were more than expected. The turndown service that includes locally made delectable chocolates was an extremely nice touch. The furnishings were elegant, yet eclectic and seem to be chosen to fit the theme of each room. For the price of hotels in this area, you couldn't find a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Trvlr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We used King’s Daughters B&B as our “base of operations” for our daughter’s wedding in Durham. We booked most of the rooms and it felt like our friends and family were gathering at a friend’s home.

The place is simply eclectically elegant.

KD’s is large, comfortable and clean, and breakfast was delicious (hope you get a chance to have Deanna’s French toast casserole). And there are a few other “perfect” touches like gourmet chocolates and a sip of port on your bedside table when you’re ready to turn in for the night.

Frankly, it is worth going back even if you don’t have a reason to visit Durham -- other than staying at King’s Daughters.

Many thanks, Colin and Deanna, for helping make our daughters wedding perfect by making our accommodations so very comfortable and sharing your gracious hospitality with all of us.

Our only serious concern is that it won’t be long before the word gets out and it becomes difficult to get reservations at KD’s.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctf104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
0.8 mi away
The Durham Hotel
The Durham Hotel
#3 of 71 in Durham
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#19 of 71 in Durham
308 reviews
2.1 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Daughters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Daughters Inn

Address: 204 N Buchanan Blvd, Durham, NC 27701-2009
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range: £149 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King's Daughters Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing boutique luxury in an intimate urban setting, the King's Daughters Inn is Durham's premiere Inn. Relax in one of the seventeen graciously appointed one- and two- room suites, or host an event in one of three elegant meeting spaces. Located across the street from Duke University, only minutes to the Durham Performing Arts Center, the King's Daughters Inn is an excellent choice for luxury hospitality in Durham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The King's Daughters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King`s Daughters Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing