We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great staff, great service!”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We highly recommend this property for short and longer term stays. We were there a full week and found the staff to be quite accommodating and helpful with both onsite services/needs as well as information about the area. From check-in to check-out and everything in between, every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to ensure we were comfortable! Nice property, seemingly relatively new, right off the interstate, therefore very accessible to Durham, Chapel Hill, etc. Right in the middle of restaurants, shopping, grocery store, etc. Rooms were quite modern and well maintained. Nice amenities onsite (pool, 24 hour fitness center, guest laundry). Hotel also offered full breakfast and evening snacks. Only minor downside for us...breakfast operations were pretty much the same every morning. After day 3, we had to find ways to change things up on our own. Over all, however, we had a wonderful experience and would quickly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas2times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    132
    39
    16
    4
See reviews for
262
69
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

SpringHill Suites is a fairly new hotel and we used it for our daughter's wedding -- reserved a block of rooms. We were so happy with the location - guests that did not have vehicles were able to walk to restaurants, stores and so forth. The service was great for us (both times we visited and asked for a view and tour of the hotel) and as reported by ALL of our guests! The crisp, european clean style throughout the hotel was welcoming to all. The complimenary breakfast, indoor pool and access to group rooms was a lovely addition.
The layout of the rooms allowed for couples as well as families to be comfortable. The unites had mini frig and microwave as well as a separate sitting area from either the two double bed or king bed selection. The fold out sleeper sofa provided additional sleeping space for our guest with children!
I would recommend this hotel for short stays or extended visits. It is nicely located near Chapel Hill and Durham and very close to I-40 for a quick trip to the airport or other NC locations.

Room Tip: All rooms are non-smoking -- king bed or double bed options should be considered
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Brand new facility that is very nice. Nicest generation of SpringHill Suites yet. Have consistently found the AM desk person to be unpleasant over 3 different stays. Otherwise I'd give it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucedavidb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My daughter goes to summer program at Duke University every summer so we have stayed at different properties over Durham/ Chapel Hill area. This is by far the best that we found. Tripadvisor advice was dead-on. This is a new hotel located near subarban shopping area. Very clean, nicely appointed, very safe and lots of restaurants in the area. It is a short drive to Duke University or its medical center. Breakfast was very good, too. We liked it much better than the downtown Marriott or Hilton.

Room Tip: Higher floor is nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Rated number 1 for a reason! Got a great AAA rate, and stayed 3 days. Close and central to everything in the area. We went to Duke and UNC Chapel Hill. Very close to restaurants, and plenty of free food at the hotel. Breadfast was buffet - eggs, sausage, potatoes varied by day, and plenty of oatmeal, bagels, fresh fruit, etc plus of course beverages. Happy Hour was swedish meatballs, cheeses, pulled-pork sliders, fruits, beer, soda, etc. Beds were great, shower was separate from toilet, and the room had a separate area for the desk and computer. A/C was a bit loud, but it worked well, and the receptionist couldn't have had a better staff. Pool, weight room and hot tub A+

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froggy1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central OH
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We stayed here for one night and had no real complaints. We were a bit concerned when we arrived as there was no one at the desk and we waited a seemingly long time for someone to show up. I was ready to pull out my cell phone and call the hotel to ask if anyone was available to check us in.

We were in a king room which had a separate seating / office area. There was also a fridge and microwave with disposable plates and silverware if you wanted to fix something from the grocery area downstairs. The toilet was in a separate room from the shower and the bathrooms had sliding frosted glass doors. Plenty of privacy, but not much for blocking sound. We were close to the elevator, so a little more soundproofing at the hall door would have been nice (a common complaint we have with most hotels that feel they need to leave enough room to cram things under your door). The decor was clean and modern and we had no complaints about the cleanliness of the room.

There was an indoor pool and good sized hot tub. It was nice once the shrieking kids went back to their rooms (their adult supervision consisted of a woman who watched them scream and run around and slip on wet tile without saying a word). To those of you that travel with kids, please remember you are sharing the hotel with a lot of other guests, and even though you are paying to be there, so are we. Use quiet voices in the hallways and try to limit the number of cannonballs into the small indoor pool.

The complimentary breakfast was OK, but table seating was rather limited. A couple people had decided to camp out at the tables with laptops after they were done eating, so we found ourselves sitting on one of the couches juggling plates and cups. If it hadn't have been so hot, we could have gone outside to the table out there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The pool and jacuzzi were open til 11. We didn't arrive til after 7 and had to get dinner yet. We'd been driving for over 6 hours. It was SO nice to be able to relax in the jacuzzi late that evening when we got back from dinner! Breakfast the next day was good..not just cereal..but eggs and sausage..a FULL breakfast. And when we checked out, the hotel manager heard we were there doing college visitations and came out to introduce herself to son and shake his hand and wish him luck! A VERY positive experience for us!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesingingnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
5.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
5.0 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing