We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“true surprise”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

property is hidden from the highway and would be hard to find at night without GPS. The staff was exceptionally friendly when we arrived late in the evening. Having a small lobby bar open was a great touch - just what we needed. The rooms are clean and well designed, with a great bed and lots of pillows. Towels could be better, and the water pressure was dismal, but still the overall feeling was that this is a great, clean place to stay - for a great price. Breakfast was also a nice surprise; not the tired cold breakfast you usually see. They had a hot tasty egg dish, biscuits and lots of bread and cereal options.

It has been hard to find a good place in this area that isn't really expensive. This property changes that! definitely check it out if you need to stay in the Chapel Hill Durham area.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmpaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    448
    132
    39
    16
    4
See reviews for
262
69
29
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Tirene is awesome. She always is friendly and as helpful as can be. I love this hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend rooms on the front side of the hotel if you have AT&t to get best phone reception.,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is a newer 6 story SpringHill property with their new, funky decor and room design. For 2 or more people, having the shower and water closet in separate rooms is a plus. The room is spacious and comfortable. This property is located at the interchange of I40 and US15/501, but is far enough from the road that noise is not an issue.

There is plenty of dining and shopping close by and access to Chapel Hill, Durham and the Research Triangle is no big deal.

As long as this property maintains the standards they current have, I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great room size-- very modern decor and nice big HDTV! Definitely a nice new hotel and free breakfast in the morning.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel is quiet next to the woods
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a business trip for one night and didnt want to leave. The hotel staff was very professional. I was highly impressed by the decor and ambience from the lobby and especially in the expansive room. It is a very modern and clean hotel. The free hot breakfast was wonderful, and all amenities are perfect for business or pleasure stay.

Room Tip: I love the view from the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I was not given Marriott Rewards credit for a 2 night stay at this property because I booked my reservation through AAA, which uses Expedia. Marriott refused to give me credit. This is a great property, but members beware!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackstone_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2011

SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill has been a perfect choice for my recent business trips to the area. The facility appears to be new. It is comfortable, clean and relaxing. The rooms are well appointed and provide everything needed including seemless internet access. Breakfast buffet offers good choices and is fresh. The staff are attentive and very friendly. Linzi Thomas at the front desk was very helpful to me on several occasions. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Griff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
5.5 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
5.0 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill

Property: SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Address: 5310 McFarland Rd, Durham, NC 27707-6831
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Family Hotel in Durham
#11 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Durham Chapel Hill Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing