We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great burgers!”

Bull City Burger and Brewery
Ranked #8 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bull City Burger and Brewery is a locally owned, independent restaurant and craft brewery located at 107 East Parrish Street in downtown Durham, NC. We opened March 2011. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner 7 days per week with approximately 90 seats inside plus 60 seats of outside year round patio dining. We offer family friendly dining with a children's play area, as well as a semi-private meeting room for business gatherings, events and presentations all within full view of our own brewery. The restaurant is very much "farm-to-fork," working closely with North Carolina pasture-raised beef farmers supplying beef with no added hormones and antibiotic-free, that we grind daily to make our hamburgers and all-beef hotdogs. We work with other farmers growing vegetables such as tomatoes, cucumbers for pickles, and lettuce. The menu is streamlined with nearly everything produced on-site including house made buns, sauerkraut and bacon. We use no artificial sweeteners, no high fructose corn syrup, and no hydrogenated oils. We like to say we are like fine dining in a burger joint. We make the mustard, the slaw, the pickles, the mayo, the aioli, the hotdogs, the relish, the...
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

The place is always jam packed full of people. They are well known not only for their brew but also for their gourmet burgers. What blew me away is actually their fries fried in duck fat. Delish! They also have a little play corner for toddlers and young children which is a great touch to make this joint family friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Josephine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    209
    65
    19
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent quality for the money”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The burgers and beers are delicious and the conversation is usually stimulating. This is what I call "quality fast food" and if you have to share a table, due to the crowds, you can expect the conversation to be friendly and interesting, and the staff, helpful. You can walk to the Performing Arts Center and the Durham Bulls Stadium.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 22MarciaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy burgers”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The food here is good as is their beer. A great place to go before the game or the DPAC. Sitting outdoors is better than inside a little less noisy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crystal595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place for a burger before a game”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I like this place because it has a delicious black bean burger, the prices are reasonable, and their beers are usually good. The communal sitting is something to get used to, and the line can be unfortunately slow. It definitely doesn't have the best layout for the restaurant, but it's still a fun place to go in the heart of downtown Durham.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam44586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
690 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great, if expensive food, good beers; painfully long lines, uncomfortable seating, incompetent service”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

As Yogi Berra famously once said, "This place is so busy no one goes there any more!" While we were queued up in front of the cashier, everyone in line kept getting jostled by waitstaff and other customers moving about. After placing the order, customers are given a numbered placard to take to their seats for the waitstaff to find. Finding seating in the crowded, college cafeteria style dining room is like circling a mall parking lot during the holiday rush. Nerve wracking. The burgers were outstanding with very original toppings and not terribly large -- actually refreshing in this state where wastefully outsized portions tend to be the norm. The breaded, fried pickle chips are an original touch, as are the shoestring fries in duck fat and the sweet potato fries. Excellent selection of beers. Customers wanting wine must purchase a pre-paid electronic card which is inserted into a machine that automatically dispenses the vintage of your choice. With each pour precisely measured to 3.5 oz, you can decant as much or as little as you like, for $2.50 - $3.75 a "shot." Clever touch. Delivery of food is painfully slow. The waiter "forgot" our ice cream desserts in the freezer for at least 45 minutes. When it finally arrived, however, both the coffee and vanilla scoops were outstandingly home made.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bull City Burger and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Bull City Burger and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing