We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Overnight in Durham...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Good Overnight in Durham...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

There's not a whole lot of options along this urban stretch of I-85 through Durham. The rooms are clean, the front desk attentive, the breakfast bar accommodating. Did I mention the fridge in the room? The place to stay on your Honey Moon.........perhaps not........but if you've got business at Duke University, or going to a game there and spending the night, then this place fits the bill nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear Hugh S,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to read that you've found us a great place to stay right off the highway and you find our rooms clean and staff helpful. We are indeed convenient to Duke and many local businesses. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    47
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
27
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

We had reservations a another hotel which turned into a disaster. Plan B can be difficult when traveling with a little dog. The Holiday Inn was a great find. Although they do charge for pets, the rooms are terrific, well appointed, and very clean. No doggie smell or overly "fabreezed" scent. Look for Gwen at the front desk. She is extremely knowledgeable about the area and very pleasant to work with. We were in town to see the Durham Bulls play baseball and this hotel is perfectly located to the stadium and the warehouse district of Durham.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NannieOakly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear NannieOakly,

Thank you for your review - I'm glad we were able to be there for you after your first choice didn't work out! We do indeed try to take care of our guests with pets and I'm happy to read that you had a great experience and hope you enjoyed the game. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsail Island, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed here for work recently and very satisfied with everything. Staff was very friendly and the room accomodating. I was given snacks and water during check in for my rewards membership. Nice love with coffee table to work at in front of TV as well as fridge and microwave in King room. Best part was the shower....the pressure was perfect...best shower Ive had in a hotel in a long time. The bed slept great. I will make this my hotel of choice everytime I am in Durham.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisTompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear TravisTompkins,

Thanks for reviewing your recent stay at our Holiday Inn Express. I'm pleased to hear that you had such a great stay and that we have become your hotel of choice in the area. Glad that you enjoyed our shower so much as well - I know I'm pretty picky when it comes to that and a great one is hard to beat. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Recently stayed here while on a trip to visit Duke University. The hotel is convenient to the University -- and the front desk was so helpful in providing some great, easy directions to get us there. I found all the staff to be very welcoming and friendly. Decent restaurants were within a mile or so away, and even larger selection if you went a little further. Very convenient to interstate. Had to go a little out-of-the-way, however, for a gas station -- how weird is that? But overall a lovely property -- very good value!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear VickyLynne,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us and I'm happy to hear that our staff was friendly and able to help you out with directions. We appreciate your recommendation and hope you enjoyed visiting Duke! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Helpful friendly staff, large comfortable rooms at an affordable rate. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful including a fascinating pancake making machine. Convenient location to Duke and downtown Durham.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 25 March 2013
Dear Bruce K,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and guest rooms large and comfortable, and that pancake machine is something, isn't it? Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay with us!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The hotel was fairly quiet (off I-85) on Guess Road. The room was immaculate with good lighting. The bedding was just "ok." The breakfast had the usual offering, but no fruit, which was disappointing. The outstanding feature of this hotel was the front desk staff, who were very helpful in giving directions to restaurants and to Duke Hospital. - Robert

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musicrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Musicrack,

Thank you for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our rooms and guest service so much, but would like to apologize that our bedding and breakfast options didn't quite meet your expectations. We do appreciate your feedback and will discuss it so that we can provide a great experience for all of our guests. If you'd like to talk about your visit further, please get in touch with me at the number below. Thanks again for your review and I do hope you'll give us another chance the next time you are in Durham.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

I paid 112 dollars for this room and it was as good as it gets for that price. The room was clean and there are plugs built into the lamp base for your cell phone charger etc cetera. close to good restaurants and the breakfast was good. everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zolimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear zolimer,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel - I'm glad that you found us a great value and could take advantage of our proximity to nearby restaurants and complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#39 of 70 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
1.9 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Durham
Address: 2516 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near I-85 and the Durham Freeway, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Durham hotel offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your next trip. Use the free Wi-Fi access to keep in touch with home and the office, and the Business Center offers all the tools you need to make a dazzling presentation. We also offer free taxi service to Duke University Medical Center. In the morning, we serve up a free, hot breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing