We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Would Stay There Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We checked in efficiently and went directly to dinner. Retuned to find a nice room in a hotel that appeared to be a refurbishment of a room in an older hotel. WiFi worked great as did flat screen with ample channel offering. Closet was doorless and bathroom had no exhaust fan. The one elevator was very slow and breakfast was good but basic. Not perfect but acceptable. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Bob N,

Thanks for leaving a review of your recent stay - we're glad you had a good visit and found our staff efficient, though apologize that a couple aspects of your guest room did not meet your expectations. Our team will discuss your feedback in order to help improve our facilities in the future. Otherwise, we're glad to hear you plan to stay in the future and hope to see you soon! Thank you again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

We needed a hotel that accepted our small dog and we found an excellent one in this location. We asked for a first floor room to make it easier to take our dog out and the hotel complied. Room was very comfortable and clean. Wonderful free breakfast bar in the morning. Would definitely come back here

Room Tip: Loved room 106 if you have a dog
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Georgina P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit! I'm glad to hear you could take advantage of our pet-friendliness and that you had a clean, comfortable stay. We are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Unsure where to stop for the night and this filled the bill. East on and off the highway. Clean room and very nice breakfast. Staff was helpful and pleasant. What more could you ask for for an overnight stay in an unknown area?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grandjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Grandjudy,

Thanks for reviewing our Holiday Inn Express - I'm glad to hear you found our location right off the highway convenient and that you enjoyed your stay overall! We appreciate your high ratings and are happy you found our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you pass through Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel while visiting family in the area. The hotel was nice enough, very close to interstate. Most of the staff members we encountered were very nice and helpful. The room was adequately sized, however not as clean as I would like. It wasn't horrible; but the housekeepers could stand to put in a bit more effort. The bed was very comfortable. (VERY) Slept well. One issue we did run into was overuse of air freshener. They had automatic sprayers set up in the hallway that literally were making us choke. We had to ask management to take them down, it was such a strong smell. At the time of our visit they had smoking rooms and non-smoking rooms on the same floor, which is no big deal. (Unsure what they have set up now) I guess they put the freshener out to combat smoke smell.....I will say there was absolutely zero smoke odor or haze but the smell of those fresheners was extremely overpowering. Too much, and I didn't feel they were needed. There literally was no indication this hotel even had smoking rooms. (I'm guessing they don't have many.) There isn't much area to walk around outside and I didn't feel safe doing so at night, (I blame the area of town-not the hotel). All in all, a nice hotel.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank TruthInNumbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear TruthInNumbers,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express and are glad you had a good visit overall, though do apologize for the inconvenience regarding air fresheners and our team will take your comments into consideration about how we handle this in the future. Otherwise, I am glad you found our staff very accommodating and friendly and we hope to see you the next time you visit Durham. Thanks again for your feedback!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I booked two rooms for family that was coming into North Carolina for a wedding. The front desk staff was always very friendly, and the rooms were comfortable and clean. We had a few issues with demagnetization of room keys, but it was promptly taken care of. The free breakfast in the morning was convenient and delicious. After the wedding, the bride and groom stayed overnight too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Cathy A,

Thank you for your review and we hope you and your family enjoyed the wedding! I'm happy to read you had a clean, comfortable stay, and would like to apologize again for the issue with your room key, but am glad our staff was able to resolve it quickly. Thanks again for your comments and high ratings and we hope to see you the next time you're in town!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

1. I booked the wrong date and the corporate and management team said they would get back to me on refunding. They never got back to me and simply took $100.
2. I get there and before I even get to the room, the room key isn't working
3. I get into the room but it is dusty and hot
4. I asked them to fix the AC and the front desk said, someone will be right up. No one ever came.
5. Breakfast options were disgusting.

DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBurt1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear DBurt1987,

Thank you for reviewing your visit. We deeply apologize that your stay didn't meet your expectations and our team will discuss your feedback in order to ensure everything we provide is in working quality. In regards to your booking, cancellation policies vary, but many of our rates are easy to cancel without charge until the date of arrival when booking through our website. Please give me a call at the number below if there is anything I can do to further help in regards to our amenities or your refund. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity in the future to give you a great stay.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This hotel was close to the office I was in town to visit and that was the best part about the property for me. The staff is not overly accommodating but, do get the job done. I did like the fact that the front desk was right inside the door - that isn't always the case and can be confusing. The overall condition of the hotel was very good - my room was pretty clean (the grout in the corners of the bathroom needs some attention). The ice bucket was "hidden" in a cabinet so it took a moment to find. The linens were nice - large towels and comfortable sheets. I did like the fact that there was a fridge in the room also. Very limited selection for TV but, who is the room enough to care? The free Wi-Fi was great. I felt like there was a little too much furniture in the room - kept banging my shin on the coffee table. Oh, this place was VERY quiet - I am a light sleeper and never heard a sound all night. Ample parking available. Cookies and apples in the lobby :) Decent breakfast. Would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: From what I could tell all rooms would be fine - it was very quiet here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Holiday Inn Express Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear junemagpie,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express. I'm happy you had a clean, quiet stay and appreciate your other feedback. We're glad you plan to return and look forward to your next visit! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.5 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
5.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Address: 2516 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £82 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near I-85 and the Durham Freeway, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Durham hotel offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your next trip. Use the free Wi-Fi access to keep in touch with home and the office, and the Business Center offers all the tools you need to make a dazzling presentation. We also offer free taxi service to Duke University Medical Center. In the morning, we serve up a free, hot breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. Enjoy great room amenities such as a fridge, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, iron/board, hair dryer, an a large work desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing