We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2009

Nice place w/ helpful staff and good rooms. Nothing great but worth the price for sure. Always clean. Lots of places to eat close by, I don't get the other poster saying there wasn't. No place to walk to and eat however.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapinolenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Durham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2009

Great hotel. Great staff and easy location to find. Breakfast was great and the service #1. If in the Durham, NC area check out this hotel you will like it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldGolfer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Stopped at this hotel as my halfway point returning from Montgomery, Alabama to Philly. Hotel has free Wi-Fi, but my old win98se laptop isn't usable. I miss the ethernet cable! Business center is great. Staff is friendly. Location is just off of the interstate and food joints are plentiful...just ask the staff. Room was clean, had a small fridge, microwave and complimentary gift for the Priority club member. I always bring my surge protector in my laptop bag for additional outlets for my recharging needs. Will make this hotel a favorite on the sites.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinreg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Flew in to watch Duke basketball game and stayed one Tuesday night. Booked one double-bed room online via ichotelsgroup website for $94 night. Staff was friendly. Was told at check-in that I had reserved a room with king bed, but was quickly remedied by pleasant staff member I believe is named Gwen. Located right off the highway and easy to find. Room located on fourth (top) floor facing freeway. Did not have any problems with noise while sleeping- and I consider myself a light sleeper. Duke campus was nearby and drove through downtown to eat before the game. Property was probably on the older side as the room did not have a flat-screen tv as in other properties which was fine to me. Also bathroom had a chip near toilet paper holder and a broken tile in the shower ceiling. Hot water seemed to get hotter throughout my shower at night but that can be expected when it’s near 20 degrees outside. Took advantage of the complimentary breakfast in the morning which was served by a very friendly and professional female staff member. Enjoyed the free USA Today newspaper. It’s not Sunday brunch with omelettes made to order, but the eggs, biscuits and cinnamon rolls fresh out of the oven and apple juice were enough for this vegetarian to make it to the next meal. Overall a nice, comfortable stay where the friendly staff more than make up for what others may not consider ‘perfect’. Definitely hope to be back for a game next year!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

The hotel is directly off the exit so very convenient. Staff was friendly and able to give us ideas on where to eat dinner. Our room was nice except that there was mold in the bathtub. I didn't see it since I didn't lay down in the bathtub, but my hubby did and didn't tell me about it since he knew I'd want to switch rooms and he didn't feel like lugging the luggage. One thing that is annoying is the ac unit is the room was very loud. You kind of get used to it after a while though.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

My friend and I stayed here for a night on our SE USA road trip. We wanted something off the highway for easy access to Raleigh and Chapel Hill. Durham is in between those two places. It's also close to the airport.

We got a room that was a little bit bigger since I'm a Priority Club member, which was a complete surprise to me since I never got any perks before. Our room was at the end of the hall so it was quite. The room was clean and modern. Internet and parking were free so that was good.

There's no restaurant around the area, but that didn't bother us since we wanted to go to downtown Durham for dinner. However, it would be a problem for someone who wants a restaurant nearby.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cooknsew105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2007

Excellent Value for the money. Excellent and very friendly service. Unlike previous reviewer, we had no trouble at all connecting with the internet. The room was spacious and very clean. It was also very quiet, even with the road work going on outside. They have a shuttle to Duke Med, but we did not take advantage of it. Overall, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MetMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Durham Duke University Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Durham

Address: 2516 Guess Rd, Durham, NC 27705-3307
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £89 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an ideal location near I-85 and the Durham Freeway, the Holiday Inn Express(R) Durham hotel offers the utmost in comfort and convenience for your next trip. Use the free Wi-Fi access to keep in touch with home and the office, and the Business Center offers all the tools you need to make a dazzling presentation. We also offer free taxi service to Duke University Medical Center. In the morning, we serve up a free, hot breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Durham Hotel Durham
Holiday Inn Durham
Durham Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing