We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Staff, But Tired, Dated Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
369 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Delightful Staff, But Tired, Dated Property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a recent business trip and found the staff to be extremely pleasant and friendly, without being overly effusive. Check in was quick and efficient. Check out, the same. I ate at Newton's one night and found it to be quite good. The room and the public areas though are in need of a redo. The property does not look like it was upgraded since the 1980's. The rooms are just average, not very clean, and the walls, furniture and fixtures are scuffed and show a lot of wear and tear. The shuttle transportation to RTP offices is a major convenience. They'll even take you to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear the staff service was pleasent and friendly. We are in the top 10 for overall guest satisfaction in all Marriott Hotels in the Americas. We have the friendliest staff in town. I respectfully disagree with your assessment of the lobby and rooms. They were remodeled in 2009 and we receive many guest comments on how lovely our lobby and rooms are. The lobby is colorful, open and inviting and the guest rooms are modern. We are close to the airport, I40 and 540 and offer shuttle service in a three mile radius. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    88
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
44
39
21
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here on business and when I arrived there was an empty water bottle under the covers of my bed. The manager was very apologetic and moved me to another room and he even carried my suitcase himself. The new room was spotless. The toilet paper in the bathroom was very thin and scratchy and the towels were skimpy and worn but the bed and bedding was extremely comfortable. The breakfast buffet at the hotel's restaurant, Newton's, was fairly good but for $15.00 it seemed a little limited. The coffee was excellent however. I would stay again if I was in the Raleigh-Durham area for business.The staff here was very nice. I enjoyed the heated indoor pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaBroncoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear CarolinaBroncoLady,

Thank you for your feedback, without honest feedback we can not improve. Please accept my apologies for the empty water bottle in the bed. We have investigated this and have determined a guest that did not use the second bed in the room bed must have placed it there. We have reviewed this with the team so we can improve going forward. We are in the process of upgrading our towels. We are phasing in the new Marriott linen that is very plush. Our restaurant has a wonderful breakfast buffet. It has all the standard breakfast items you would expect and included omlets. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I really like this Marriott. It's in a great, quiet location, it has all the amenities of the higher category Marriott but priced better. They have a great staff that knows how to make you feel like you're their # 1 customer. I recommend this place for business, relaxation, and family gathering.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveeydoveey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your fedback. We have the friendliest saff in town. The entire team is trained to go out of their way to provide excellent customer service. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is my first stay at what is now my preferred hotel at RTP. I checked in for a one-night stay prior to an early flight, which turned into a late check-out and then two nights after I was struck with a 24-hour bug. The bed was already supremely comfortable with a nicely-stocked Concierge Lounge to boot.

However once I became sick the staff has gone WAY above normal decent care for an ill customer. Helping with rental-car extension, delivering a refreshed key to the room, and several small touches that were unasked-for but much appreciated. The off-the-menu chicken soup delivered to the room was the icing on the cake. It's lonely being sick on the road and this staff has made a crummy day a whole lot brighter!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhereRSandH2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It is great news that our staff went above and beyond to make you feel better. Making sure our guests have a great stay is our top priority. If that means making some homemade chicken noodle soup for a guest under the weather then that's what we do. We have the most caring and friendliest staff in town. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

I had an absolutely wonderful experience at the RTP Marriott for the Morgan Management and Consulting Group's Event 2013 which was hosted by Al and Yolanda Morgan. The hotel staff were excellent in all aspects of customer service. The friendliness shown by all staff to include front desk, bartender, wait staff, room attendants, concierge, etc was absolutely awesome!! I will return to this Marriott because of the beautiful, clean and spacious areas as well as the staff!! The staff are well trained and this type customer service happens when the leaders motivate and empower staff. Everyone seemed to enjoy their jobs. This Marriott is conveniently located off I40 which made it easy to locate since we were traveling from Ft. Bragg, NC. Thank you!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Vanessa,

Thank you for your feedback. We have the cleanest and friendliest hotel in town. I am happy to hear you were able to experience just how friendly and accomodation our staff can be. We have a great location right off I40 and minutes from 540 and the airport. We look forward to having you stay with us again next year as the Morgan's have already booked for next year.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

BEDS WERE SUPER COMFY free parking and plenty of it.
this hotel was the cleanest, nicest staff, best breakfast, best location, went down for a soccer tournament..all the fields were within 25 minutes . it is close to the airport so arriving at night and departure on sunday went smooth and convenient. pool lovely. staff was exceptional..i have never met a nicer staff.
close to airport but no noise..fast food and some restaurants right down the road..as well as gas.. highway right there..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysunnmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have the cleanest and friendliest hotel in town. The Marriott bedding package is hard to beat and our location right off of I40 is very convenient. Plenty of amenities close by and the airport close too. We look forward to your return next year.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I've been staying at the Marriott RTP every week for business. It is conveniently located near all the RTP businesses and restaurants. There is also a shuttle that takes guests to airports and other sites. The hotel and concierge staff are very friendly and accommodating. Marty from Sales and Marketing was especially helpful and went the extra mile to help me book my stays. I will definitely be staying here for any future travels to the Triangle area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda_travel_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Linda,

Thank you for your feedback. Marty is just one of many friendly and helpful associates at the hotel. We feel we have the friendliest staff in town. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott at Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at Research Triangle Park

Property: Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Address: 4700 Guardian Dr, Durham, NC 27703-8460
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
#16 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott at Research Triangle Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on landscaped grounds, located near Fairgrounds, Duke University, University of North Carolina & Research Triangle Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott at Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott At Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Marriott Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing