We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Ranked #21 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four days and thoroughly enjoyed it. Conveniently located near major highways, airport and the cities of Raleigh and Durham. Rooms are good size and clean. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel is very well maintained and handled large crowd (NCAA Tourney, et al) with ease.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We have a great location. Right off I40, close to 540 and minutes from the airport. We have the cleaniest and friendliest hotel in town. Our staff really goes out of their way to please our guests. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    89
    42
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
39
21
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is convenient to the major highways, it is well maintained and has a very professional staff. We stayed here for 4 nights while attending the NCAA basketball tournament. We found our room and bathroom to be very clean and very comfortable. Complimentary coffee and newspapers in the lobby each morning and a full service restaurant. Some earlier reviews concerned me but we found this property to be well maintained and would return anytime we are in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are located right off of I40, minutes from 540 and close to the airport. We pride ourselves on having a clean hotel and friendly staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 days and after my last experience at the Lax Marriott I wasn't expecting much. But I was surprised, my room was big and my bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the food was great. The breakfast was really good and i really enjoyed myself. I think I will change my summer vacation plans and stay at the Marriott again. Hopefully the one in Anaheim will be like this one:)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Isabel2597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We have the cleaniest and friendliest hotel in town. Our food and beverage quality is excellent and the staff is top notch. I am pleased to hear you had a great stay. I will share your comments with the team. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

All the staff were friendly and the service provided was great. Close to the airport and office areas. The room was clean and well maintained. The shuttle service to airport, office and other nearby areas make it even better. But their dine in menu option is not a big list to choose from.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rakzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We have the cleaniest and friendliest hotel in town. Our staff truly goes out of their way to make our guests feel at home. Our shuttle goes within a three mile radius of the hotel, complimentary. We are close to the airport, I40 and 540. Our restaurant has great service and quality food. We are in the process of expanding the menu and should have it in place soon. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watkins Glen, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After picking my wife up in Raleigh we wanted to stay at a nice hotel to take in the city. This Marriott fits the bill! You can take advantage of weekend rates and amenities that may not be available M-F.
The hotel is very clean, up to date, has a friendly/attentive staff, great pool/ whirlpool, great food, breakfast buffet. We stayed on the Concierge level for a few extra bucks more. It's definitely worth it!!!
This hotel does it all and won't hurt your wallet.

Room Tip: Do the Concierge level rooms at the weekend rate. It's well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Jeff,

Thank you for your feedback. We have very competitive rates on the weekend perfect for a getaway. We have the cleaniest and friendliest hotel in town. Our staff truly goes out of their way to make guests happy. The breakfast buffet is great, it has all the items you would expect including omlets. The concierge level is a nice option. The upgraded amenities and included breakfast is a great choice. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, VA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I've stayed at this hotel on many occasions. Probably more than 750 nights over the past 13 years. I've been impressed by the sameness involved. The same friendly greetings. The same recognition of me as a regular guest (it think its the same for everyone but I can't really tell.) The same good food. The same wonderful banter at the bar and in the consierge lounge. The same it's right or we'll make it right immediately service. Yes its the same but I like that.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but I really like the corner rooms (427, 527, 627) as there are more windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikaamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. What makes our hotel great are the wonderful associates we have. Many of them have been here for years which allows us to be consistant and make personal connections with our repeat guests. Service is our top priority. We make it a point to go out of our way to ensure our guests are happy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, NY
Level Contributor
368 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Spent 2 nights here on a recent business trip and found the staff to be extremely pleasant and friendly, without being overly effusive. Check in was quick and efficient. Check out, the same. I ate at Newton's one night and found it to be quite good. The room and the public areas though are in need of a redo. The property does not look like it was upgraded since the 1980's. The rooms are just average, not very clean, and the walls, furniture and fixtures are scuffed and show a lot of wear and tear. The shuttle transportation to RTP offices is a major convenience. They'll even take you to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C, General Manager at Marriott at Research Triangle Park, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear the staff service was pleasent and friendly. We are in the top 10 for overall guest satisfaction in all Marriott Hotels in the Americas. We have the friendliest staff in town. I respectfully disagree with your assessment of the lobby and rooms. They were remodeled in 2009 and we receive many guest comments on how lovely our lobby and rooms are. The lobby is colorful, open and inviting and the guest rooms are modern. We are close to the airport, I40 and 540 and offer shuttle service in a three mile radius. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham Airport at Research Triangle Park
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Raleigh-Durham/Research Triangle Park
0.5 mi away
Hotel Indigo Raleigh Durham Airport at RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Raleigh-Durham AP / Research Triangle
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Imperial Hotel and Convention Center
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Raleigh-Durham Airport/Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott at Research Triangle Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott at Research Triangle Park

Property: Marriott at Research Triangle Park
Address: 4700 Guardian Dr, Durham, NC 27703-8460
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#6 Business Hotel in Durham
#16 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott at Research Triangle Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel on landscaped grounds, located near Fairgrounds, Duke University, University of North Carolina & Research Triangle Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott at Research Triangle Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott At Research Triangle Park Hotel Durham
Marriott Durham
Marriott Hotel Durham
Durham Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing