We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Month's of Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Ranked #39 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Month's of Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

There just isn't enough room on this site to write all of my positive notes and experiences about this CandleWood. My job takes me places for long periods of time away from home and my lovely wife. Soon after my arrival, The Director of Sales realized just how long I had been working on the road, She reached out to my wife to shorten the distance between us in the warmest of ways.

With that being just the beginning and to put this review simply ......

The Great Location, Clean Rooms, Amazing Management, Amazing Staff, Great Extended Guest, Clean Rooms, Secure Parking, Great Rates "CAN" and "DOES" shadow what is really magical about this place. The Entire Staff has Their Heart In It and It Really Really Shows. I recommend this CandleWood to Anyone !!!

Room Tip: There is no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Michelle is our DOS and does a wonderful job, as does our entire staff. We try to make all our guest feel as if they are staying in their Home away from Home. Thank you again for taking the time to fill out the TripAdvisor survey. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    32
    12
    14
    14
See reviews for
24
18
35
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

This is an excellent hotel and I will surely return here on my next trip to RTP. The staff went above and beyond to make me feel right at home. The rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephaniehardee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

We were traveling with our dog, for the first time and visiting our family nearby. The hotel staff was so accommodating and welcoming to us AND to our dog. A great dog walk, bags provided for cleanup and easy access out to the grounds. Thank you.

Room Tip: The queen suite was spacious and my husband loved the easy chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
A majority of our staff owns and loves dogs. We understand that they are family too. Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

i am presently staying here and all staff are helpful.charlene sauveur of guest services goes beyond her duties..always pleasant.and good spirits.shes always hard at work thanks for making my stay comfortable!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Charlene is a very hard working and we are glad to have her on the team. We look forward to you staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

After a horrible drive through torrential rain, then to find out that Hilton had shifted my reservations by one day causing me to loose the entire reservation, I was so very happy to discover the Candlewood Suites. At first glance, the entrance is simple with a check-in counter like you would find at a cut rate motel. But then I got to my room to find a spacious room with full kitchenette. The air conditioner was a champ as it turned the room into an icebox at my command (love that being an Iowa boy) yet would quickly warm the room back up when I wanted to be snug for the night. The dishes were all included and were plenty for two people with a full size refridgerator, microwave, and stove top. I get into suites now and then and this one was in super shape. The carpet was a bit off and maybe because of the pet friendly part of this hotel. But the room was really clean otherwise and the bed was very comfortable.
For food and dining (and gasoline), these all (including a full size grocer, Food lion) are right down the street with easy access and I was only minutes away from my meeting in generally moderate traffic.
In any case, this place is much much better than the Hilton Garden Inn (where I lost my reservation at) could have given me. I heard later from others of problems they had at this Hilton, but that is another review in the making.
I will stay here again for sure no matter where my meeting is in the research triangle park area and even just as I am driving acrossed country as this hotel is easy access off of I-40

Room Tip: Check your credit card when you return home. But if there is a mistake, do not panik as the hotel st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knight65202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

I recently stayed at this location for business in RTP. Upon checkin, the front staff seemed overwhelmed with the people trying to check in. At bedtime, I noticed there was an insect or bug. I got the counter person to come in and see what it was. They couldn't confirm. The next day, the General Manager told me that it was bedbugs and that he apologized. Totally unacceptable and won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
John,
I do apologize for your concerns during your stay. Upon your check out we inspected the room and did not see any signs of bed bugs. However, as a precaution we did have the room treated. This is an involved method of heating the room as well as spraying the room. Once completed we did place bed bug detectors in the room for several days and no bed bugs were detected.
I also apologize for the check in process. We do strive to check all of our guest as quickly and efficiently as possible.
We strive for every guest to have a pleasurable experience when staying with us. I do apologize you did not receive that while you were here.
I would greatly appreciate you giving us another opportunity next time you are in the area. Please feel free to contact me directly at 919-484-9922
Sincerely
Jonathan Allard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I have stayed at this property a few times and each time the wrinkles appear more and more. We were a late arrival and while the front desk people were friendly and helpful, the room was not much above a old roadside motel. Other rooms may have been better but in room 209: The AC worked intermittently, the shower head was barely functional, the cable TV fuzzy except for the moment just after you turned it on or were just turning it off. The walls and floors are insulated extremely well either. Thankfully we were just there to sleep and move on. I'll find a new place to stay in Durham next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trisporter717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Dear trisporter717,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful during your stay. I apologize that you had some items in your room that were not working. Your comments will be looked into. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
9.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 70 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn RTP
Comfort Inn RTP
#51 of 70 in Durham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Property: Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Address: 1818 E Nc Highway 54, Durham, NC 27713-2183
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing