We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be back..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham
Ranked #40 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I booked a room three weeks in advanced and wasn't told until the night I checked in on Sunday night at 11:00 PM that "looks like there is a problem" I was downgraded from the room I originally booked which was a Suite to a single King bed room. I didn't unpack because I was told it would be corrected the following day and when I called in the following day from work to check on the status of moving the room, I was told "I really hope someone checks out today so we can get you moved" WHAT!!! Had I been called before I got to the hotel on Sunday and told that you couldn't meet my accommodations then I would not have even bothered at your hotel. Giving me a discount on the price of the room doesn't help either I could really give less of a crap about the price, so telling me that "it's okay we discounted your room" doesn't mean a thing to me. I never ended up switching rooms and stayed in the single guest room the whole week. This was a horrible experience at this hotel and I am a very very big IHG member and stay in the RTP area very often and I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Quite hotel. Call ahead of time to double check your reservation. If someone is staying in your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 54DK54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

I apologize for the bad experience you had during your stay. Currently we have a large number of guest who are here for either medical reasons or on business projects. Sometimes it is hard to determine an exact departure date for both. The guest who were in this room type had extended and we were not able to accommodate you as you had expected. I should have contacted you and let you know that we would not be able to move you into our one bedroom queen suite. I apologize we did not notify you that we would have to move you into our studio suite. I know you stated you were to be in a king suite, however we do not have any rooms that have king size beds.
I understand that we did not meet your expectations and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I do hope you will reconsider and give us another opportunity when you travel to this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

My family and I started staying at the Candlewood locations as often as possible when we travel. We stayed in our first location in 2009 and we are currently spending the night at one. We have stayed more than 150 nights combined at the Candlewood since 2009. We enjoy the staff and the clean rooms. The locations we have stayed at have always been centrally located and we have never had any security concerns. The gym, laundry and food pantry are always stocked. We highly recommend you stay here to be the judge for yourself. Keep up the great work staff at Candlewood located in Durham RTP. JAH

Stayed: June 2013
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We truly enjoy seeing you and your family. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Having stayed at other candlewood suites, I knew what to expect (and not).
The hotel is conveniently located; great if you happen to be in RTP area and need a suite with a kitchenette and clean rooms. Several Restaurants and even a Food Lion (grocery) within walking distance.

It is not one of the newer candlewood properties though the service – newer furnishings and bedding - and location more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2013

Thank you for your comments. We do realize that we are not as new as some hotels. Our staff strives to provide you with a clean, comfortable room, and a friendly staff. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I spent 3nights here. Let me say that I travel for business combined with pleasure, I stay in hotels almost every week for 2-4 nights or more across the S.E. so I have experienced the good, the bad & the ugly & I am picky within reason (hate dirt, mold & or stench). The room was clean with microwave, coffeepot, full size refrigerator, stove and (very) basic utensils, pans toaster etc so you can cook your meals if you so desire. This is a suite hotel which means you get more amenities for less$, but you do not get daily room service, you get room service once a week (if you want clean sheets, towels etc they will gladly give to you at the front desk). Because it has a mini kitchenette they do not serve breakfast.. The hotel was fairly clean and well appointed, There is a laundry room & an exercise room. Comfortable beds, WIFI and TV where so-so. This is an older property (it hasn't undergone the great updates that Candlewood is doing (or done) at other properties) I say it is 2&1/2 stars at most. But if price matters it could be your spot. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Dear traveling_frank,

Thank you for your your review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you found our rooms to be clean and our hotel to be well appointed.

I am sorry to hear that you found our hotel to be old and dated. We always make sure that the quality of our amenities are in tip top shape and we deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations at this point.

Rest assured that your comments will be used for future improvements. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing so how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Everything at this hotel is reasonable - cleanliness, room comfort and price. Nothing stands out as particularly good but nothing to complain about. The rooms are a bit dated and show wear and tear;in need a facelift, especially the bathroom. The local area is a little bleak and there aren't any good restaurants close by, but plenty of cheap eats. The front desk staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Kevin, Thank you for writing a review about the hotel. We truly appreciate you staying with us. As you stated we do have fast food restaurants around us. However, we are about 2 miles from South Point Mall. Which does have a lot of restaurants to choose from . Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was a one night stay for a meeting in the Durham, NC, area. The hotel and room were very clean and the room had a kitchenette in it. The front desk was never manned, but the front door required your key for entry after dusk. The kitchenette was stocked with utensils and pots and pans and a coffee pot. The pillows were not the best, they could have been better. The hotel had no breakfast available, but had a pantry where you could buy food to make your own breakfast. Overall impression of the hotel was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of correcting the pillow issue. Our goal is to have two firm pillows and two soft pillows in every room. We do have staff here 24 hours a day. They sometimes are assisting other guest or folding laundry. They are only a quick phone call away to assist you. Again, thank you so much for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

While our stay actually "in" the hotel was just a little more than one night's worth of sleep, this Candlewood Suites hotel certainly will be on our list again if we are in the area.

The room was clean and comfortable and its location backed up to a nice woods area, offering privacy and extra insulation from possible noise outside.

The area is secure and requires a key to enter past dark.

Several restaurant choices are very close by and a mall with popular retailers, nightlife and additional dining choices are just a couple miles away.

I have only two minor comments that may would keep me from giving higher praise... #1 Some of the cabinetry and appliances are starting to show their age, but in our particular room anyway, they are still in good shape. #2, Even the one bedroom suite lacked a king sized bed, which was a little odd but doesn't seem to be out of the norm for this hotel chain.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan A, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dan, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so grateful for your comments. We certainly understand your concerns on the furniture. We are looking in to make these updates in the next year. We do understand your concern for the king beds, however we only have queen size beds here at the Durham Candlewood Suites.

Our focus is to have a clean room with a friendly staff at a reasonable rate. I look forward to your next visit to Durham, NC.

Again, thank you very much for staying with us and for your Great comments.
Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Research Triangle Pk
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 54
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Durham - Research Triangle Park - Hwy 55
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Raleigh Durham Airport/RTP
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Durham Research Triangle Park
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Durham Research Triangle Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham

Address: 1818 E Nc Highway 54, Durham, NC 27713-2183
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Durham
#14 Family Hotel in Durham
#20 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £58 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2004 Quality Excellence Award Winner, Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, conveniently located at I-40 and Hwy 55, exit 278. This beautiful property is in the heart of Research Triangle Park (RTP), and within minutes of Raleigh Durham International Airport, Southpoint Mall, GlaxoSmithKline, BASF, Bayer, IBM, NIEHS, USEPA, Duke University, UNC Chapel Hill, NCCU, Duke Medical Center, and the Vein Clinic. Shuttle service is available Monday-Friday to local attractions and businesses within 5 miles of hotel. At Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with 2 separate phone lines and FREE HIGH SPEED INTERNET. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP provides our guests a Free Fitness Center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our Free Guest Laundry room. Candlewood Suites Durham/RTP is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to Dine In, a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as Sodas, Snacks, and Ice Cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Research Triangle Park / Durham, Nc Hotel Durham
Candlewood Suites Durham
Candlewood Durham
Durham Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing