We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Stay In Durham”
Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Millennium Durham
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Place To Stay In Durham”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

This is the best hotel to stay at while in Durham! Very close to many restaurants,stores & Duke University! The front staff is very nice,they can get busy at check in/out but they always have a smile on there face! The rooms are always very clean & nice! They have a indoor pool & jacuzzi which are open late! They also have weights in the pool room & then a seperate exercise room! The hotel has a nice restaurant & bar! They offer room service or you can eat in the restaurant! The food is good but our favorite is fresh baked chocolate chip cookies & milk! There are vending machines on all of the floors & on the ground floor they have a microwave if you need to use it! If staying for a few days you can have a refrigerator brought to your room for only $5 a night! They have security that walks the hotel to make sure everything is safe! Upstairs they also have ballrooms for events etc... Behind the desk they have a small gift shop with Duke merchandise & travel accessories! The room includes 2 beds, a desk & chair combo,nightstand with telephone,tv,dresser,hair dryer,ironing board & coffee pot! The bathroom is a good size with a shower/tub combo! Lots of parking outside! They also offer a shuttle that runs on certain times to Duke University & they have a time schedule in the main lobby! The main lobby is also very nice place to sit & relax! Cell service sometimes is a issue depending on what floor you are on & your mobile provider! To the side of the lobby is a business office with computers you can use for free! To me this hotel is in a great location,has everything you would want a hotel to have/offer & the best place to stay in Durham!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayleighsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHD205, General Manager at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Kayleighsmommy,
I take great pride in our staff here at the Millennium Hotel Durham and I want to thank you for taking the time to forward your comments on your recent stay with us.
We sincerely appreciate your patronage of our hotel and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    155
    132
    119
    94
See reviews for
204
79
81
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Good reviews or bad - you want honesty. One a recent trip to Raleigh/Durham (Duke Univeristy) it was suggested we stay at the Millennium Hotel. While the front-desk Manager was friendly and very nice, be cautious of the following:
> Room service (breakfast) trays were in the room, maybe even from the night before @ 4:30pm
> The room was relatively clean, but wallpaper needs to be glued and was peeling in many places
> Still not sure how the FREE BREAKFAST is only included by upgrading to a $20 more expensive room; when I asked the front-desk clerk, she admitted that the room was the SAME. So the free breakfast is a $20 upgrade!?

The hotel needs to be refreshed and updated. Friendly staff or not - they need to have the cleaning staff (or kitchen staff?) get the old food out of the hallways and make sure the interior of the rooms does not have the stale feel. It made us question what else was not being cleaned.

Just know what you are getting into...

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMarc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHD205, General Manager at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear AMarcC,
Our standards are much higher than what you experienced and were obviously not being well enforced during your stay. I do want to assure you your comments have received my personal attention and we will do everything we can to ensure they do not recur in the future.
There is no excuse for poor housekeeping and I have personally discussed your comments regarding the Room Service Tray not picked up from the hallway in a timely manner with my Executive Housekeeper and I am confident this will not be a recurring problem in the future.
I hope you will accept my apologies and you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves if your travels bring you to Durham again in the future, for it is our aim to provide the finest in accommodations and service available in the greater Durham area.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I was greeted as soon as, I entered the lobby by Bethany with a smile. The customer service was outstanding. Paul and Bethany was great. I would use this hotel again. Also, Mrs. Judy was great with helping Bethany with my room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmgreen30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHD205, General Manager at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear tmgreen30,

I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to forward your comments and experience on your stay with ushere at the Millennium Hotel Durham. I am very proud of the entire staff and I will make certain that your positive comments are passed on to Bethany, Paul & Judy in particular.
We sincerely appreciate your selecting the Millennium and please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel was great and the bell captain Teddy Terezis was the best, so helpful and made our stay and trips to the hospital as easy as they could be! Also, Thomas so kind and drove us around and made sure we were taken care of even after he was off work he made sure we had a cab! Very nice for the price! I highly recommend this hotel for your stay there especially if you have any medical appointments!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amesisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHD205, General Manager at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Amesisme,

It was certainly good to know you rate our associates so positively on their service and I will make certain that your positive comments in this most important area are passed on to them and most particularly to Teddy and Thomas!
We sincerely appreciate your patronage of our hotel and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notre Dame, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The hotel was well-kept, rooms neat and clean. The transportation service to the airport was friendly and efficient. Teddy Terezis, bell captain, was efficient, kind, and a great conversationalist! Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MHD205, General Manager at Millennium Durham, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Dear Mimi H,

I sincerely appreciate your taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
We take great pride in our staff and I will be sure to recognize Teddy for the outstanding service he is providing to all of our guests.
We very much appreciate your business and look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2013

The back&forth shuttle of the hotel is an efficient blessed service.
In additional we would like to mention the excellent work of Mr. Teddy Terezis:
He is a very good & kind guide - he has an answer to any question. He helped us to know well the area - always in a gentle & friendly way.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joheved m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol2442
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I found one person at front desk that seem to offer decent service. Jamie was very kind. The other front desk people, a gentlemen (Jim) not sure of his name and Ratechia was horrible. The gentleman told me there were no microwaves in rooms, I had to use a common area and it would $5 for a frig. I asked if I could move to a room with a frig he said "no" we don't do it like that. Luckily Jamie had called to check on me and allowed me to move to a room that had exactly what I was looking for! Meanwhile, my co-worker got stuck in an elevator. He was told it was suppose to have a sign on it. Last but not least, I could not even get a 30 minute late check out. Ratechia said "no" quickly. She also made a female guest with small child return to car to get information on rental car in the mist of downpouring rain. Terrible customer Service for a 3-star hotel!!!

Room Tip: Make your intentions known upfront. If you need a refrigerator, ask at check in. If you need a late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol2442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.0 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Durham Near Duke University/Downtown
0.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#40 of 71 in Durham
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Property: Millennium Durham
Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing