We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bones and staff-needs update and management”
Review of Millennium Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Durham
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The girls at the desk, and the drivers of the vans made this trip and property pleasant…a sprawling hotel with everything outdated except the chef, and the effort of most of the staff. Let's begin, the shuttle to and from the airport is more expensive if you use the service than if you use a taxi-really? The room, while spacious, had sheets that made noise loud enough to wake you all night long, beds that seemed bumpy enough to be from the 80s, and a bathroom that…well….we felt lucky didn't collapse from the patch above the hideous shower head. The thermostat in the shower control was shot so even without a flush the temperature control was a joke, as was the vent system. No fridge/mini bar/safe. No internet without charge, and the business section had so many problems I could not print out our boarding passes. let alone do any work. The pool and hot tub were open and appeared clean but heavily over chlorinated. Our breakfast was superb BUT, the waitress had been over-run with horrible scheduling putting one waitress on the floor for likely 50 families with children-all eating and leaving at the same time-we put the fault on management as by the time we got to her, she was frazzled. Skip this property if you can. We found it through suggestion of an event and would not stay here again without a significant influx of money to the property. There is a Hilton up the road….stay there. It won't be long before the sweet girls at the desk are working there anyway….the ONLY reason I can imagine to endure this property is to avoid renting a car….for $6 a day there is a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 5ish mile radius….and the drivers are wonderful….

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crzymnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel because of the proximity to Duke. The rooms were clean and nice. The hotel was quite and the staff were extremely friendly and hospitable. I never did eat at the restaurant so I cannot comment on that. The huge plus of this hotel was the shuttle service. We used it every day all day. The cost was 5 or 6 dollars added to the room per day. Well worth the cost. one driver in particular, Paul, was extremely helpful and quite pleasant to visit with. We got a lot of food tips from him. Plan on staying there again. One negative note, the computers in the lobby are circa 1972 or so I think. Very old web browser and very old printer that was not even hooked up. I tried to print boarding passes and failed miserably.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I booked this hotel for my wedding, but ended my engagement. I was allowed to change the wedding booking to a 25th birthday party for myself. Pama was the catering director who worked with me on everything and she was amazing. She emailed back and forth and worked tirelessly to make my event a success. The food was delicious and the staff made sure that everything went off without a hitch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PWKwasikpui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I prepaid 423 dollars for three nights. There was no balance due on the confirmation email. No itemization of the statement, just a total. Upon arrival I was told the bill in fact would be ~900 total ( internet, coffee, not breakfast) and escape would cost the $423.
The room was dated, dusty and the smell of urea wolfed from the dressing area. The internet in the room for which there is a daily (sometimes twice daily) charge doesn't extend to the lobby.
There are holes in the tiling around the tub. The air conditioning dropped off in the middle of the room but the beds were clean and comfortable. The bell staff were quite nice. And the transportation/taxi services were very good for guests who needed it. I didn't.


Their transport/taxi service are very good for guests who need it.

Room Tip: we were on second floor-it was quiet people are friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Lovely hotel, with absolutely the best staff, esp Teddy. The food in the restaurant is reasonable, and the Italian Wedding soup, is worth the stay just to order it. It is well kept, and the décor is equal to any five star hotel in the world. Sleep tight, they have you covered! Here's the #, 919 383 8575...book it today..

Room Tip: You'll love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just made our reservation , it will be two years, staying at the hotel. Things have changed, but not the familiar faces that greet us on our arrival.Ratechia Percell, our agent at the front desk, she continues to make infallible reservations. Because she goes above and beyond her job responsibilities. Jamie follows up fulfilling my expectations. Janelle Torain, the gentleman (his name escapes me) that brings the fridge to our room.,the staff never fails, to be helpful, gracious, professional, and courteous. I recommended three persons to Duke Hospital. And the Millennium Hotel, they were satisfied and delighted. I am grateful for all the support from thi s hotel.

Room Tip: Just ask for Ratechia, rooms near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alice t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great location for me. The front staff was very helpful and friendly and worked hard to make my stay great. Teddy gave great advice for getting around town. I give this hotel a strong recommendation. I thought it delivered great value for the price

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.9 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
1 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The University Inn
The University Inn
#41 of 71 in Durham
92 reviews
7.7 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Durham/Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Durham

Address: 2800 Campus Walk Ave, Durham, NC 27705-4479
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £67 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Millennium Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Millennium Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Millennium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing