We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great New Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great New Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

We needed to find a nice place to stay in Durham, close to the Durham Performing Arts Center. Really wanted something nice, clean, safe, and comfortable. Well guess what!? We found it at the Hampton Inn & Suites!
The new hotel was beautiful! Very clean and nicely appointed with an indoor pool and fitness center. The room was very clean, and the best ac I have ever experienced! Absolutely no noise from outside or other rooms. Loved the shower! Who really uses tubs anymore? The breakfast was great, especially the waffles.
Service was awesome! Everyone was helpful and very friendly.
Will definitely stay here the next time I come to Durham!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexusjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    194
    35
    9
    6
See reviews for
341
127
48
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were in Durham visiting Mrs. Red Sox Nation's aunt and uncle and chose this hotel because it was halfway between thier house and Bullocks. I think we were the first people to sleep in the room. Very nice and a very comfortable bed. Staff was very nice on check in and check out, breakfast was the acceptable standard Hampton Inn fare. There is a pretty good restaurant across the parking lot, we received a free desert complements of the hotel.

It offers easy access to I85 andto Duke.

This will be our choice when we are in Durham visting relatives

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedSoxNation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thanks for feedback. We are very fortunate as far as location. Right off the interstate, minutes from Downtown and Duke University, great restaurants close by, etc. We are glad we could satisfy your needs and wants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We were only here one night, but really enjoyed our stay. Our suite was spacious and the sofabed was comfortable for the fifth person traveling with us. The facilities were in great condition and the kids enjoyed the pool. The only real negative is that your dining options are limited as there aren't many restaurants around. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeSouthernGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business and was pleasantly surprised with the staff and the room. The room was immaculate and everything was perfect. I will definetly stay there again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Derikk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Thanks a lot for the compliments. We take pride in the quality of our staff as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. All the credit to them. We look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTH CAROLINA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was looking for a nice place to stay while visiting my son at college in Chapel Hill NC. Thankfully, I found this hotel through AAA the rate was great rate and I was so pleased with my stay. I had a king suite which was perfect for my son who decided to sleep over. The room was quite large and sectioned off so if someone wanted to stay up late they could without disturbing others. There was a nice flat screen TV that you could swivel in different directions.The mall is within walking distance and there is actually a cross walk which makes it safe to cross the intersection. There is a restaurant in the same circle as the hotel and it was open quite late. The staff was quite friendly and nice! The hotel is only a few months old so everything is practically new. Parking does become scarce later in the evening but there is additional parking. The only negative thing was the breakfast the selection was lacking taste and there was not enough variety. We ended up stopping at an I Hop on the way back home.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TG-NC-CHIC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
We are glad you were able to enjoy your time. Hampton Inn did a great job with the new rooms layouts. Classy, spacious, and functional. Thanks for the insights about breakfast. We will take note of your comments to improve what we offer to our guests. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Hotel right off I-85 next to mall and around the bend to Duke and Chapel Hill beyond. Parking is free and gets crowded at night (but there is more behind the hotel). The rooms are decently appointed and feel (and smell) new. Lack of functioning black out drapes were a little problematic since the outside spot lights blazed into the room at night but we improvised. The bathroom was especially nice and large. The electricals there were not all in working order. The standard Hampton breakfast was offered There wasn't enough space between tables to allow easy access when the dining room was crowded. Except in dining staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gymjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you much for the insights. I am sorry you had issues with the drapes and electrical outlets. Those are some hiccups attached to a large brand new building. We will work on them. I am glad you enjoyed breakfast and the staff.
Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lafayette IN
Level Contributor
324 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

The rooms are large and clean with comfortable beds and the bathrooms are large with big walk-in showers. And because this is a new hotel, the room had lots of outlets for charging electronics. Our room faced a busy road but we didn't hear any road noise because the windows were double- or triple-paned. The staff here was friendly.

The breakfast area was pleasant and was a typical Hampton Inn buffet with cereal, fruit, waffle maker, and some re-heated hot food such as French toast or cheese omelets.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quentin g, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 17 March 2012
Hampton has done an amazing job at designing their new room layouts. Spacious, clean, and practical. We appreciate the positive review, and cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
1.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#13 of 70 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing