We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our new favorite place to stay in Durham. I can't say enough good things about this hotel. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are nice and clean, it's quiet, and it's convenient. Our room was quiet even though it was near the elevator. The cleaning personnel were very efficient and attentive to our needs. we will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyefanz1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    205
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
355
133
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend getaway. As you would expect from a Hampton, the front guest staff were superb! The rooms were very spacious and modernly decorated. The breakfast was great and the staff running the breakfast were even greater! I asked about the kind of meat that was in the gravy. I was told what it "should" be. However, I was even offered some turkey sausage, which was not on the bar because I do not pork. When I ran into a problem at the front desk, Jon, the ADM, was very supportive and provided me with every accommodation possible. This hotel is located within walking distance to the mall. This will be my preferred place of stay in Durham, NC.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toon0321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This beautiful Hampton Inn is new, comfortable, and convenient to everything in Durham. The bedding was the most comfortable I've enjoyed at a hotel in many a year. My King Room featured an awesome walk-in sliding glass-door shower that had tons of room to move around. Every hotel that has those crappy tubs with the clingy shower curtains should rip them out and replace them with these. Showering was easy and refreshing, to say the least. I never had to touch the climate control as the room temperature was very comfortable even though outside temp was 75 when I checked in and only 50 the following morning.

The hotel is very easy to find, as it is directly off of I-85 and you almost drive into it after exiting the highway. A mere 10 minute cab ride or less will get you anywhere in Durham.

I highly recommend planning your stay here if you are visiting Durham. This is the place I will stay anytime I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I have stayed in at least a half dozen Hampton Inns and I like them for their reliable cleanliness, friendliness, and comfortable beds. So, when I arrived at this brand spanking new Hampton Inn the other day, I wasn't surprised to be met by a predictable Hampton Inn lobby with a smiley and efficient front desk crew and the smell of fresh-baked cookies. When I got to my room, though, is when I was really impressed. Yes, it had the classic crinkly-textured duvet covers, lap desk, basic toiletries comfortable bed, shower with rounded curtain and Water Pik shower head, etc. -- but the room was a huge suite with a kitchenette (refrigerator, microwave, sink), and a comfortable sitting area separated from the sleeping area by a cleverly designed work station with internet port andTV on a swivel stand that can be turned to face the living area or the bedroom area.

The breakfasts were classic Hampton (waffle maker, eggs, turkey sausage, oatmeal, cold cereals and breads/pastries, whole fruit, packaged individual fruit cups, drinks, etc.

Bring your bathing suit -- the pool is actually big enough to swim in. And your workout clothes -- the gym is well-equipped with modern machines.

Staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel is very new and everything seems to be in working order.

Easy on-off I-85 and an easy drive to downtown Durham. Free parking. Less than a half hour from the airport.

My pet peeve with Hampton Inns is that they are not as environmentally friendly as other chains I frequent .... All breakfast plates and bowls are made of styrofoam, utensils are all disposable plastic, there's no recycling in the rooms, the air conditioners are blowing cold air into unoccupied rooms, and the Hampton Inn chain proudly tweeted its followers this weekend that they have put a million Post-its in rooms around the country, announcing that their duvets are washed between guests. How many trees does it take to make a million Post-its?

For a commercial chain in this price bracket, I cannot complain about the service, the amenities, or the comfort of the room.

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all the rooms seem to be the same size, laid out the same way -- the differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoblanoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

A pleasant surprise. The rooms have the "new room smell" which is refreshing. This is a new Hampton. Great service and complementry breakfast with a good assortment of foods. Bed was very comfortable. Room very clean and quiet. Pet friendly at no additional charge. Excellent value. Close to I-85

Room Tip: Use the side entrance close to the elevators if traveling with a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Collins Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Gorgeous hotel, convenient location, brand new hotel! You can tell from the moment you drive in that it will be a lovely place to stay! I'm having surgery tomorrow and needed a place to stay the night before so my doctors office recommended this place. You can tell the employees love working here and are.very friendly and courteous. I plan to stay here for my next 2 surgeries that I'm having.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlldy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I am a Hilton Hhonors Diamond member and have stayed at this new property on three different occasions for an extended stay (minimum one week stay). The hotel is brand new but it does not take that aspect for granted. The team is diligent, friendly, and attentive from housekeeping to front desk, and onwards to the night staff. The property is secure and walking distance to a nice restaurant/pub (Tripps), and Northgate Mall. It is obvious the management and staff are doing a fantastic job because this property is constantly running full after only opening just six months ago. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durhambulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing