We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Durham Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delightful Durham Deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

I have friends who live in the Durham area and I stayed at this Hampton Inn on three separate occasions within a month and have absolutely no hesitation in saying that I will be staying here again on future visits. Very reasonably priced, the hotel is modern and clean throughout and every member of staff I encountered was very friendly and helpful. My room was spacious with elegant classical furniture and a very comfortable bed. The ensuite was also elegantly appointed with a large walk-in shower. There is a small business centre with free computer access and a permanent supply of complimentary coffee in the lobby. The price includes a very adequate breakfast buffet including a couple of cooked items. There is a pantry which stocks snacks and soft drinks, but unfortunately for me no beer. However there is an excellent bar & restaurant called Tripps which is just a minute’s walk away and Northgate mall with several fast food outlets is a five minute walk away. The hotel is also just a five minute car/taxi ride from downtown Durham which has a good selection of bars and restaurants in Brightleaf Square and Ninth Street.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retired_Gentleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Retired_Gentleman,

Our repeat guests are the greatest testament to the high level of service we aim to provide so thank you so much for your compliments regarding our hotel. We are indeed located near a multitude of restaurants and shopping so I'm glad that you have been able to take advantage of that during your stays. Our staff works hard to provide a great experience in all aspects so we really appreciate your recognition. Thanks for your review and see you on your next visit to Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    199
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
350
130
48
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Very nice Hampton Inn with large rooms, excellent bathrooms, and excellent staff. The breakfast buffet has hot options like eggs or omelettes, bacon or sausage, make your own waffles, and oatmeal. The dining area is spacious and bright. The workout room has about six machines, weights, TVs, and is well stocked with towels and such. I did not use the pool which is small but it looks like it would be fine for kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim_B_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Jim_B_10,

Thanks for writing a review of our hotel! It's great that you enjoyed all of the options available as part of our complimentary breakfast. Also, our staff appreciates your recognition of their hard work. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal, QC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is a new and nicely appointed Hampton Inn in a convenient location for visits to Durham/Chapel Hill. We stayed for one week and found the room, the breakfast and breakfast area up to good reliable Hampton standards, and the desk staff and others we encountered were friendly and polite.
•One Important Warning: When I first began booking on expedia, I noticed on the final breakdown of costs a strange "extra guest" charge of nearly $10.00 although only two persons were to stay in the room. I have never seen this "extra guest" charge for a second person on any other American (or foreign) hotel. This appears to be unique to expedia. I wrote to the Hilton company (owners of Hampton) and was told that they do not control prices on expedia. The charge did not appear on the Hampton's own website where I booked the room.

• The room: good size w/microwave and fridge (not properly plugged in); comfortable bed with good linens; good TV w/sufficient channels; climate control was responsive and easy to operate.
• Bathroom: nice size and good lighting, large shower stall and good shower head.
• Location makes an easy drive into Durham, right across from shopping mall.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear gimpel,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Hampton Inn & Suites. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities we offer. I apologize for the issue you encountered with booking; we encourage our guests to book directly on our franchise website for the guaranteed lowest rate available.

Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

Wow - I can't say enough good things about this new property in Durham. My wife and I are both Hilton Honors members and have been staying in Durham for years. We were pleasantly surprised to find this Hampton in during our last visit.

We are early risers and came down to breakfast around 6:30am - As we sat down we were welcomed by both the breakfast hostess and the General Manager, Miss Wendy. They were both such a delight and really took interest in who we were as a family. I can't remember the last time a General Manager took time out of his/her day just to get to know us and thank us for staying at their hotel. We travel to Durham a few times a month and I can't wait to get back here. Thank you Hampton Inn!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDUHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear RDUHM,

Thanks for writing a review of our hotel. I'm excited to hear that you feel so welcomed and have a great stay each time you visit. We sincerely appreciate your compliments and repeat business. See you on your next stay in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

Beware of booking a room online here, the front desk guy here at night named " Alex " claimed that a reservation wasn't made even though we had a confirmation number and our credit card was charged. He was extremely unprofessional, cussed at us as we were checking in and then proceeded to allow another guest to join in the conversation. I will never book a room here again or have my friends and family stay here.
ON a good note, the general manager Wendy is a very kind person who tried to work with us, and after the unprofessional attitude of her front desk guy we decided to not stay but thanked her for her professional attitude. Maybe if he gets fired we will stay there, until then NEVER!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Tara L,

I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you faced while staying at our hotel. What happened is indeed unacceptable, but I would like to stress that this is not at all a normal occurrence and that we have addressed your concerns going forward. Thank you for the kind words about our General Manager, Wendy, who always works her hardest to provide great customer service.

I apologize again and hope that you will consider us during your next trip to Durham.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We picked this hotel for some people staying here to be close to the hospital when they had a family member in a local hospital. They made numerous positive comments and said the rooms were fantastic. They said they would definitely love to stay here again, under better circumstances, of course. The food was excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipeCleaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
231 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

I travel some for business and stay in a number of hotels in the same general league as Hampton Inn. This is the nicest I've stayed in. It is a very new property, very clean and modern. The bathroom was spacious, the bed was comfortable, the heating and air worked well. The breakfast area was by far the nicest I've seen for a free breakfast. The food was better than most, although not great - but hey, it was free! With the approaching holidays, business travel to this hotel is down, and so are the prices. So it's a great time to stay at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfafftonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing