We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good except for........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
North Wilkesboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Very Good except for........”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I selected this hotel to stay at in Durham using my Hilton Honors rewards, got a great deal. My husband and I traveled there on December 16th so that we could attend our granddaughters Musical Play. We were impressed when we first drove up to the hotel, it looked fresh and new. The interior was very clean and modern, but I must admit I was a little disappointed in not seeing an elaborate Christmas tree, even though they had one it was nothing compared to other Hampton's I've stayed at during the Christmas season.

Our room was on the 6th floor room 605. When we walked into the room the HVAC system was set on cool, and yes the room was very chilly. I quickly changed it to heat, only to discover that when the heat system operated it would blow the mildly warm air for a while until it reached the desired temp, then switch over to blowing cold air and lowering the room temp. I thought well I just didn't set the control right, my husband adjusted it and we left for the evening.

Upon our return our room was comfortable, but during the early morning at 2:30am we awake to cold air blowing in the room, we adjusted the room temp very high, allowed the HVAC unit to run until it kicked off and prepared to start blowing the cold air again, and then quickly turned the system off just to have a warm room.

That is really the only negative I have about this place. I did report this issue upon our departure and received an apology.

The hotel is located right across the street from Northgate Mall, and has a Tripps restaurant nearby. It is in a good location for what we needed, but if I ever stay there again I won't wait to report the HVAC system.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vhash77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear vhash77,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review of your visit - and again I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience regarding your HVAC unit. In the future, please don't hesitate to let us know during your stay and we'll work to resolve any issues as quickly as possible. If you'd like to speak about it further, please reach out to me at the number below. Otherwise, I hope you enjoyed your granddaughter's play and am glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities and other offerings. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to see you the next time you're in town.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    215
    36
    12
    7
See reviews for
373
139
51
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington N.C.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We were in Durham for a Christmas dinner with some family and friends. We decided instead of driving 1.5 hours home we would spend the night. We booked a room at the Hampton Inn like usually do when we travel. This hotel is very nice and clean. The staff very helpful and friendly. We will stay here again and recommend it to anyone.
We stayed on the top floor(5th) our room was facing I-85 and we heard no noise at all. The hotel was packed and very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psevert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear psevert,

Thank you for your review and we hope you had a good time visiting with your friends and family! I'm delighted you had a comfortable, clean stay and found our staff very friendly and accommodating. We hope to see you for another stay soon, thanks again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites for four nights over Thanksgiving weekend while visiting family. The king suite was lovely, spacious, quiet and comfortable, and the hotel is very conveniently located, just around the corner from the Duke East Campus. Excellent value. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank gottagogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear gottagogal,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope you had a great Thanksgiving celebration! I'm pleased to read you found your guest room very spacious and comfortable, as well as that our location was great for your needs. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel was a very nice place for me and my family to stay while visiting relatives for Thanksgiving. The rooms for clean, and the staff was very friendly. If I travel to the area again, I will stay at this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Elaine J,

Thanks for reviewing us and we hope you had a nice Thanksgiving celebration! I'm glad that you had a clean and comfortable stay and we look forward to your next visit! Thank you again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

A very nice hotel. A nice stay. I will stay here again next time I'm in the area. Everyone was very nice and the room was a nice size and comfortable. It was easy to get on and off the highway. The complimentary breakfast was good, too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Donald K,

Thanks for reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites! I'm pleased to read you had a very comfortable stay and found our staff helpful and friendly, as well as that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit! Thank you again for your feedback.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Excellent new motel, next to highway 85 but very quiet. Just a short drive to Duke U and down town Durham. My wife and I stayed 3 days while visiting our son, and we were 2 minutes from his apartment, close to Duke where he works. Free breakfast is also a plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank D B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear D B,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay and I hope you had a nice visit with your son! We're grateful for your 5-star ratings and happy you had an all-around clean and comfortable stay. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your next trip to Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Very nice! We stayed in a King suite. The bed was firm and comfy. Nice kitchenette area with microwave. All clean and modern. The staff was friendly. The free continental breakfast was quite impressive. Everything from scrambled eggs to make your own waffles. The area was also kept neat and clean. It was a very positive stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear John K,

We appreciate you writing about your experience and are happy you liked your suite! It's also great to hear you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast so much. We're grateful for your high ratings across the board and hope it won't be too long before your next stay! Thanks again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing