We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durham stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Durham Hampton Inn stay was Comfortable, safe and friendly stay. The hotel is located very close to my destination and is an enjoyable morning ride to my destination. convenient parking, quick check-in and easy to get to the room with a lot of items. The wireless internet worked well the first time and had great speed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone. Top notch facility. Easy to access from I-85. The hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful. The King bed was extremely comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean as expected. Easy access to elevators and to our room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank paulbY5869AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Im not sure what I expected but my thoughts about staying at a Hampton Inn were not very positive. This stay changed all of that. The staff were attentive and professional, the room was spacious and beautiful, the internet was free and STRONG, and the free breakfast had meats and starches beyond just cereal and muffins. You received so much more for a low price. When you think of low prices you think of low quality, not so with this hotel. They had free coffee in the lobby 24/7 and I even went to the gym and ran. If I come back to Durham I would not mind staying here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kayenecha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel while attending the Duke Reunion. I honestly picked it because it was available....there was not much availability that weekend as you can imagine. However, I was pleasantly surprised, as it was a solid choice.

We got a suite, which was very nice sized for our family of 5. Very functional rooms and lots of space. The free breakfast was actually pretty good - the kids devoured their cereal and belgian waffles every morning, and my husband actually liked their hot entrees.

Conveniently located, clean, free breakfast that is pretty good, and nice sized rooms - can't beat it for a weekend stay in Durham.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank brooke103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear brooke103,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and we hope you fun at your reunion. I'm glad you had a clean, comfortable stay and that your family found your suite so spacious! It's also great to hear that your kids loved our complimentary breakfast. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you're in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Everything was spotless in this hotel...the lobby, the room, the eating area. The bed was comfy and the shower was great. AC was loud but no other issues. Staff was VERY friendly and on the ball. It's very close to Duke so was the perfect spot for us. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerEdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Joni M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel; we're very pleased to hear it was an excellent one overall and you found us so clean! It's also great to read our location worked well for your needs and we appreciate your high ratings across the board. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in Durham!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed at the Hampton Inn Durham I-85 North for one night on the way to Washington DC with the family. Very convenient location, right off the east bound lanes of the freeway, close to the mall and Duke University. We were very impressed with the property. The hotel was exceedingly clean, modern, felt fresh after a long day on the road. We found the room to be good size with comfortable beds and a nicely finished bathroom. Definitely a focus on cleanliness, which was great. The property was very quiet, only a small amount of road noise from surrounding traffic and freeway. Noise from hallway and elevator were insignificant. Kids had a good time in the indoor pool, but we were slightly disappointed by lack of hot tub.

Breakfast was not as good as some other Hampton breakfasts, but welcome nevertheless. The attendants kept the breakfast area clean and stocked. Desk service at both check in, breakfast and check out was very courteous, friendly and professional.

We will definitely stay again when visiting Durham.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTraveler28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear JTraveler28,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our Hampton Inn & Suites. Providing an immaculately clean environment is one of our biggest goals, so I'm delighted to hear you found us very clean and modern, though we do apologize for any inconvenience with our complimentary breakfast and appreciate the feedback. Otherwise, thanks again for your high ratings and we hope you enjoyed your trip to DC! See you next time you're in town.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed just one in the hotel. The room was nice, very quiet. There was some street noise, but not bothersome. The duvet cover in our room was stained. Housekeeping did come and change it. The breakfast was not as good as many Hampton Inn's I have stayed in. Overall, the hotel was good. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the street not I-85
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Jeannine C,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay - I'm glad to hear it was a good one, though apologize for the inconvenience with your bedspread and that our complimentary breakfast fell short of your expectations. Otherwise, we appreciate your comments and hope to see you the next time you're in Durham! Thank you again for your feedback.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Durham
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £95 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing