We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, convenient property, but breakfast was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice, convenient property, but breakfast was awful”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was my second time staying at this property. It is very convenient to the Duke East campus and well maintained. My only negative from this stay was breakfast, While I know what to expect of a Hampton Inn in this regard, the kitchen staff seemed to be inattentive, letting multiple items run out simultaneously, taking 15-20 minutes to re-stock (e.g., oatmeal, biscuits, gravy).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_F_Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Jeff_F_Atl,

Thank you for staying with us a second time and reviewing your experience! While I'm glad you enjoyed most aspects of your stay and found our location great, I do apologize that our complimentary breakfast did not meet your expectations; our staff will discuss your feedback to help do a better job keeping things stocked and ready for our guests. Otherwise, we do appreciate your high ratings and hope to see you the next time you're in the area! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    205
    36
    9
    6
See reviews for
355
133
48
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I found this Hampton Inn to be an excellent and very convenient facility. Located just off the I-85 North with very easy access off and on. Well lit, ample parking. The facility was in great shape - like new condition - and the staff was quite helpful. Even though things were quite busy at check-in time, I was comfortably in my room within 5 minutes of parking the car. The location is very convenient to Duke University and Duke Medical Center, with easy access to most anywhere in Durham.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank William Bradfor... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear William Bradfor... S,

Thanks for taking the time to review our Hampton Inn & Suites! I'm delighted you had a great stay and found our location right off the highway excellent for your needs. We really appreciate your 5-star ratings and hope it won't be too long before your next visit! Thank you again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilburn, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Enjoyable and pleasurable. Staff was very helpful during check in. Recommended a car/driver to help us get to and from our destination. We were in town to celebrate a friend's birthday. Hotel was located right off I-85, easy to find and clean. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ann R,

We appreciate you leaving a review and are happy our staff was able to accommodate your needs during your visit! We hope you had fun celebrating with your friend and are thankful for your high ratings. Thanks again for your praise and we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayfield, NY
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great room. Chrystal was excellent on the front desk. Good location. Bed was comfortable. Rained at night & despite not being able to open the windows, you could hear the rain very clearly. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gerry S,

Thank you for your review - I'm pleased you had an excellent stay and found our service great! We're grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait to see you the next time you're in Durham. Thanks again for your comments!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 3 straight years. This year it was my wife's birthday weekend. Hotel manager gave my wife a gift basket. Hotel is located right off of the interstate next to Northgate mall and restaurants. Rooms and lobby were clean and morning breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank welcome2thegoodlife2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear welcome2thegoodlife2,

We appreciate your loyalty over the past few years and taking the time to share your experience! I'm glad to hear you and your wife had a great stay and hope you had fun celebrating her special day. Thanks so much for your 5-star ratings and kind words and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

From the staff to clean rooms to good rates, this is a great place to stay! We went for our son's visit to Duke University and everything was close by. The restaurants in the nearby area also helped with dinner plans. Having free breakfast was a major plus during our busy schedule.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Sylvia B,

Thanks so much for your kind words! We're delighted you had an excellent stay all-around and hope you and your son enjoyed visiting Duke. We are grateful for your 5-star ratings across the board and can't wait to see you the next time you're in the area! Thank you again for your review.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Female traveling alone, stayed for over a week.
Positives were: 1) staff were friendly 2) room was clean and well maintained 3) nice big gym 4) affordable.
Negatives were: 1) did not feel 100% comfortable in neighborhood, there was an attempted bank robbery on the street that week 2) highway noise heard in room 3) lost power for 3 hours one evening due to a storm and thought someone would come to each floor with an announcement or distribute candles. nothing was done by hotel. glad the power came back on since the staff did not seem to have any action plan. maybe this is normal for this area? 4) breakfast was ok, even oatmeal was dried up.

Room Tip: lower floor has better wifi connectivity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank member m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear member m,

Thank you for reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites - while I'm glad you found your guest room clean and our staff friendly, I do apologize for the aspects that didn't meet your expectations. We take our guests' safety very seriously and employ security in order to ensure a comfortable and safe environment. Our team will discuss your comments in order to do a better job of handling adverse conditions in the future; if you'd like to speak about anything further please don't hesitate to give me a call at the number below. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you the next time you're in Durham.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc
(434) 822-2161
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Raleigh-Durham
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing