We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn and Suites, Durham, NC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites while in Durham, NC moving our son into his freshman year at Duke University. The location to campus was extremely convenient (less than 2 miles to East Campus), the room was clean and the service was efficient. We were surprised at the spaciousness of the king size room; we were able to comfortably fit a roll away bed for our youngest son, who decided to come with us at the last minute. This was a great find and we will definitely stay again the next time we visit Duke.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Michelle H,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and hope all went well with the move-in! I'm glad you found your room so spacious and had a great visit overall. We can't wait to see you when you come to visit your son! Thanks again for your comments.

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 883 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

This is a great location and accommodations if you are visiting Duke - especially students on East Campus. It is close to the campus and other shops. We felt very safe; parking was well lit and security seemed good. One key thing is that there is no onsite laundry facilities - an issue for us as we were staying for a week as we moved our son in. We had to go to offsite laundry services. The breakfast food, when available, was good. But, get there before 30 minutes to close - else, your selections are limited because they seem to stop replenishing food. The keys seemed to expire often and we had to get new ones or reset several times. The business office computers had issues when we were there and tech support had to be called. The front desk, though, was very helpful at all hours - very friendly and happy to help and provide directions. The rooms were very clean, beds comfortable, and quite nice -- especially for the price that we received when booking directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank TXChleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear TXChleo,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hampton Inn & Suites; I'm glad you had an excellent stay overall, though do apologize that our complimentary breakfast fell a bit short of your expectations and our team will discuss your comments to ensure we keep everything well-stocked. Otherwise, it's great to hear you found our staff outstanding and we appreciate your high ratings across the board. Thanks again for your review & we look forward to your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have tried other hotels in Durham including the lovely Washington Duke Inn, which is the type of hotel where we usually stay. But this hotel is very nice, has great staff and is simply easier to navigate than any other. When moving in or out of campus housing we found this place a pleasure and so easy to get to East or Central Campus from. We are picky travelers and the room is up there with the best of them. Very nicely furnished, very very comfortable bed, good spacious layout. With a child at Duke we have now stayed many times now and it simply feels like home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear jara50,

Thank you for giving us a try - I'm delighted to hear we met your high expectations and have become your home away from home in Durham! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and can't wait for your next visit. Thanks again for your review & strong recommendation!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family stayed at this hotel for a week while getting our child situated at school. Staff, room accomodations and food was beyond what we expected for a 3 star hotel. We definitely will stay at this location everytime we visit over the next 4 years!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Valerie W,

Thank you for taking the time to review us - we hope all went well with the move-in! It's great to hear we exceeded your expectations and we look forward to seeing you in the coming years. Thanks again for your comments and 5-star ratings!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel to visit my daughter as it was in a convenient location to shopping and restaurants. Northgate Mall is across the street within walking distance. Everyone at the hotel is extremely nice. The rooms are exceptionally clean, the beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Deborah D,

We appreciate you reviewing our Hampton Inn & Suites; I'm delighted you had a terrific stay and found our staff so friendly! We hope you enjoyed visiting your daughter and can't wait to see you during future trips to Durham. Thanks again for your praise and 5-star ratings!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We have stayed at this hotel one or two times before and this return trip confirmed why we keep going back. When travelling with our Duke daughter, the king suite works just great for us. Large room with a separate kitchenette and a pull out couch. The rooms are spotless and the furnishings well-kept. Having stayed the previous night in a Hampton Inn that was decorated in dark colors, we loved the bright color scheme both in the hallways and the rooms.

The staff is friendly, the breakfast is very good, the breakfast 'room' is large and inviting, and the fitness center is bigger than most Hamptons. It is located close to the highway and is convenient to Duke's East Campus (about a five minute drive). And at $130 a night for the larger room on a big Duke weekend, you can't get better value.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ccrosner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear ccrosner,

Thank you for your detailed review - we're delighted to be your home away from home in Durham! I'm glad all of your stays have been excellent and you felt you received great value for your money. Thanks again for your kind words and 5-star ratings and we can't wait for your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel recently and was very pleased with every element of the stay. Arrived very early ~11:30 am and yet the hotel was able to get us into our room immediately. We had 2 Queen beds, as requested and they were both very comfortable. The room, like the rest of the hotel was spotless which was much appreciated after some other hotel stays on our road trip. While our room was near the elevator, we never heard a thing during our entire stay which was very nice. Both the room door and bathroom doors seemed very solid. The breakfast was the standard Hampton Inn breakfast & takeaway bags were at reception if you were in a hurry and could not spend the time to sit down for breakfast. The staff worked quickly to replace any items that needed updating or replacing. Parking was plentiful and easy to access. In the evening there were fresh cookies available in the lobby which was nice to have after dinner. The only minor issue (complaint is too strong) was that the pool was evidently not heated and was quite chilly. Exercise room also looked well equipped and clean as well.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingstownemurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAmickDaly7, Above-Property Response Contact at Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Kingstownemurphy,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our Hampton Inn & Suites! I'm delighted you had an outstanding visit and found us spotless. It's also great to hear you found our staff excellent, though I do apologize for the inconvenience with our pool and we appreciate the feedback. Otherwise, thanks so much for your 5-star ratings and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit!

David Amick
eCommerce Manager
Daly Seven, Inc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
2.9 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
6.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
5.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites University Area Chapel Hill
2.9 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85

Address: 1542 N Gregson St, Durham, NC 27701-1155
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £93 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest on a comfortable king or queen-sized bed in one of our 137 spacious guest rooms and suites. Each room is equipped with free WiFi acess, a 37-inch LCD TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave. Studio Suites come with pull-out sofa beds, making them ideal for families visiting Durham, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing