We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, old theater”
Review of Carolina Theater

Carolina Theater
Ranked #17 of 77 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great, old theater”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I love to take in musical performances at the Carolina Theater. Although it's an older venue and always needs some repair or renovation work, it has great character. Very Durham, very cool.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank P-Dub56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    51
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Efland, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Cozy place for a show”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We saw our first show here, Big Bad Voodoo Daddy. The place has a doze atmosphere and every seat has a great view. The acoustics were perfect and we had an extremely nice time. I would come back again as we really enjoyed the atmosphere.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable old venue”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Large enough for a theatre feel, but small enough so that every seat has an excellent view. Downtown within walking distance of several good restaurants. Fresh, real popcorn (not the yellow stuff).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Agingwell711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Classic”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Recently saw Dickey Betts of the Allman Bros there and this theatre is a classic - something from the 20's with elaborate architecture and fixtures. Acoustics not bad for the age of the building.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great atmosphere for an event”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I went to a comedy show recently and had a great time. It was our first time here, and it's really a great atmosphere. Good beers for sale and nice folks working the concession stand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Carolina Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing