We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed at the Condo for 2 weeks in June 2013. We requested the nicer room which included vinyl flooring instead of carpet and larger TV's. I was there with my two young daughters. It was perfect for us as my teenage daughter was taking a class on the East Campus at Duke which is a short walk away. We simply loved the outdoor courtyard because we could get outside and play chess and enjoy the sunshine. The condo also has a very large pool area and several shaded outdoor sitting areas which allow you to escape the confines of your room. The price is very reasonable and the rooms are quite spacious. The kitchen is not very well stocked with pots and pans for those planning a lengthy stay, but you can manage. For a lengthy stay, with children, or if you like to get outdoors, this place is perfect!

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room with a view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    39
    13
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
23
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I cannot sing the praises of the Duke Towers strongly enough!

The staff were more than friendly and accommodating. They have an on site shuttle service for pick up/drop off at the airport, service to the Duke Hospitals, and if they are available, help with groceries (Durham, regrettably, is very car dependent) for a reasonable fee (Duke patients and airport trips have priority).

The grounds of the complex are like a secluded hacienda, with two stories of condominiums (one bedroom apartments) surrounding a lush garden with nooks and crannies, great division of space, swimming pool. My daughter spent a great deal of time watching birds (cardinals and mockingbirds) chomp from the feeders and feeling the balmy southern breezes drift the scent of gardenia and jasmine. Very restful, serene, and languorous.

The apartments themselves were very clean and well appointed. Be sure to bring your toiletries! The kitchen was clean and in my unit had a microwave, coffee maker ((with filters), dishwasher, fridge and stove (and I think a toaster). There is a dinnerware service for four. Pots and pans: one small saucepan and one medium skillet. I couldn't get the can opener to work, so maybe bring some of your own basics.

Overall, a great travel bargain, with a unique non-hotel homey feel. Perfection!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Four of us stayed for 2 nights at the Duke Towers. We pulled up late at night and were immediately not impressed. The outside is dated and old. The parking lots were also worn down and there was a pile of rubble near our entrance point. The area is borderline safe for Durham as a whole. I wouldn't walk around by myself at night, but during the day- no problem. The inside our our little condo was neat. It was a table, chairs, sofa, tv, kitchenette with refrigerator, average sized bathroom and a small room with 2 double beds. The walls were all white with dated 80's decor, which we really didn't care about. The beds were super comfy! We were all pleasantly surprised by how well we slept. The kitchen comes with a coffee maker but no coffee, so we bought our own. This hotel is more of a place for temporary residency or older folks. We did, however thoroughly enjoy the courtyard area. There is a large pool which is very clean. There was life sized chess!! We brought our own corn hole boards (long story) and enjoyed them outside for a while.

Overall the area is not the best but the inside of the condo is clean and functional with comfy beds. It is close to all of downtown Durham and close to the 9th street area. I would stay here again as it was funky and different.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakingfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylmer, ON
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This place is better than Average but not Very Good. It is clean, well-priced, the staff is good and I didn't mind the dated decor that some have complained about. The Continental breakfast is not very continental -- everything is packaged, from the coffee in a tea bag (see my review of a nearby coffee place, Cocoa Cinnamon, and go there!) to the cellophane muffins. It's housed in the tower and it's worth the walk up the spiral stairs to see the photographs of children working in the mills though. The wifi drove us crazy. It was on and then it wasn't and there were too many sources. I consider this an essential service and this needs to be addressed by the owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcpastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Stayed at this Inn recently for two nites. It is a cheap economy hotel. The room, kitchen and bathroom were most ordinary. The cabinets were cheap and painted white. The bathroom was stocked with towels etc which was helpful. There was no coffee or breakfast available at hotel either. I guess this hotel/condo is useful for someone who is staying for a few weeks. But not if you are staying for a short duration, and if not used to staying in motels. We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anasoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Recently, due to an unexpected occurrence in my rental home, my cats and I needed to find a temporary residence for about a week. A friend recommended I call Duke Towers. From the time I arrived, until the day I left, I had nothing but good experiences dealing with the staff. They were more than kind. The room was very clean, the grounds were beautiful, and the location really convenient. The outdoor pool was such a pleasant surprise. I would recommend the Duke Towers to friends and family anytime. Staying at Duke Towers really made what started as a really tough week, turn into a more pleasant week.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colleendugganrigby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Archers Lodge, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Best mattress at a hotel ever! Friendly, helpful staff; no stress, low cost shuttle to DPAC; gorgeous pool and grounds. The suite was basic, but very clean with lots of towels. The pool is open late, so we were able to see a show, eat and come back and swim some. The AC worked good and again, the mattress was very comfortable so it was a really good night of sleep.

Room Tip: Should probably go for the upgraded rooms ($10 more) for the better living area TVs, if you are goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Durham McPherson/Duke University Medical Center Area
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
0.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#18 of 71 in Durham
289 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums

Property: Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums
Address: 807 W Trinity Ave, Durham, NC 27701-1855
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Duke Tower Suites and Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Duke Tower Suites & Condominiums. We're your home away from home in Durham. Built on the grounds of the 19th century Pearl Cotton Mill nestled in historic Durham, our charming property is within a few minutes of Duke University and Duke Medical Center, and only a short drive from Research Triangle Park and many of the region's most visited locations. Staying with us, you'll personally experience the distinctive difference of Duke Tower. Whether it's relaxing in the comfort of your own fully-equipped condominium or walking through the beautiful courtyard, our special amenities combined with exceptional service from our warm, friendly staff will make your stay thoroughly enjoyable. Plus, you'll be pleasantly surprised at our very affordable rates, no matter if you stay for a day or for a month. These are the reasons our guests return again and again, and refer their friends. We invite you to stay with us and see for yourself why Duke Tower is the preferred choice of discriminating visitors for over 25 years. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duke Tower Hotel And Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing