We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid brewery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fullsteam Brewery

Fullsteam Brewery
Ranked #37 of 762 Restaurants in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
140 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Solid brewery”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Fullsteam was probably the most enjoyable brewery's we visited while on our trip to Raleigh. The beer was great, the joint had nice outdoor seating with plenty of room, and the vibe and atmosphere was awesome. As expected, the tap menu rotates often with a ton of solid choices. We decided to go with flights (5, 5 ounce glasses for 9 bucks) as there were so many beers that we wanted to sample. This is a great place to enjoy some drinks with friends and family (there are plenty of board games to play if you like as well). Go here, you'll love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aRedLetterLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“so much fun”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Beer choices fantastic and food trucks very reasonable and interesting. check out the particular night you are going for music,etc. Unique experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdieJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knightdale, North Carolina
Level Contributor
173 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Can't beat the vibe here!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This brewery has a great energy and low-key atmosphere- very inviting and not snobby! There's ample seating, some places to dance around, local bluegrass if you're lucky (or a lone guitar and a songstress), and great space outside to hang out. Dogs and people alike are welcome and you'll find all ages, having a blast playing games, and enjoying the local brews. The Working Man's Lunch is my favorite, a moon pie inspired brew that just has a bit of moon-pie-ness but can be served with a moon pie per request. I had their summer brew as well, a basil wheat beer, and it is definitely worth a try. The staff there are so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Getting a flight is a great idea and affordable, then you can see what is your favorite. There are always at least two food trucks around, either right at the brewery, or across the street at Motorco. Fullsteam is also canning it's Cackalacky brew now which hopefully means that they will begin "bottling" other flavors, too. They are one of the leaders of this awesome local movement of store-fronts fostering a sense of positive community in Durham. Go! Drink Local! Enjoy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jermsshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pilsners, Porters and Puppies”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The vibe at this local brewery kicks it. It's a mesh of creative (and tasty!) beer, good people (sometimes with their kids and/or puppies/dogs) of all ages, delish food trucks and good times. There's a ping pong table, pinball wizards and, if you're lucky, some funky local tunes. Most importantly: the beer. My long-time, all-time, go-to is Carver, a sweet potato lager. It's a smooth, rich lager that does NOT taste like sweet potatoes. I have several other favs, but that's not important. What's important is to support our local brewery's efforts as a plow-to-pint brewery valuing neighborly collaborations and our states bountiful agriculture. (The Coffee Pecan Porter, a collaboration with The Fearrington House, is amazingly beautiful...rich...impressive...a perfect sit by fire pit beverage) Go find YOUR fav. Order a sampler and try them all!

http://www.fullsteam.ag/.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kimgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill
Level Contributor
266 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out with friends - including those with kids and dogs”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We were struggling to find somewhere to hang out with friends with two kids that wouldn't care if we wanted to just hang out for a few hours late afternoon / early dinner. The food trucks and Fullsteam was the perfect answer! You can bring in food, drinks (we brought in chocolate milk for the kids), strollers, dogs - anything but alcoholic beverages. We sampled two rounds from the bar, mixed food from the food trucks with stuff we had brought, and enjoyed the cool vibe. Great place! They do ask for kids to leave by 9:00 pm or so; we found that the four strollers that were there when we got there around 4:00 pm were all gone by when we were leaving about 7:30. Dogs continued to cycle in and out later than the strollers. :-) Will likely go back just with the two of us later at night to enjoy that crowd too!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fullsteam Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Fullsteam Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing