We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,modern and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Staff was very friendly and professional. Breakfast was not free but it was very good. Nice decor, great location, only minutes from Duke and good restaurants.
Since it is a new hotel it was very clean and hopefully they will not let the hotel get dirty as it ages.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Izmirgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. I am glad you found the staff friendly and professional and also that you enjoyed breakfast! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 834 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Brand new facility. Check-in was simple. Room was clean and we had no problems or issues. Went to the bar which was pricey ($8 for a pint of beer which is expected in a hotel bar) but excellent service and atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank pelle005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This hotel is new and wonderful. Nice, clean, convenient, friendly staff and great beds! Sliding "barn door" to bath was a surprise! Nice decor and lobby had warm cookies, fruit and hot tea and coffee. We were visiting Duke University and UNC. We will definitely stay here again if needed! Hands down.
Only wish there had been a free breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. I do apologize as a brand that we do not offer complimentary breakfast but I will share your feedback all the same! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel staff at Durham Medical Center Hilton Garden Inn helped me settle down after a long trip across the country with several delays due to snow. The front desk staff helped me locate my interview and oriented me to shuttle times and breakfast times with no prompting. Check in was easy and uncomplicated after an incredibly complicated trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Meredtih M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay and that we were able to help out after a stressful travel! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Like many of the other reviewers have stated, this is indeed a brand new hotel, having just opened about 2 months ago. My wife, son and I stayed here while attending the Duke - Virginia basketball game week before last. Our son, who coached high school basketball at Montrose Christian in Rockville, MD, had a player on both teams, so we had free reserved seats just three rows in back of the Duke bench. Could have easily reached out and touched coach K.

This Hilton hotel is located a little over a mile to Cameron Indoor Stadium and provides free shuttle service to and from the game, so you don't have to fight the traffic in and out of the campus nor worry about parking. Meal service is also available at this particular hotel, and while the menu is somewhat limited, there should be plenty of choices for most folks. Fresh coffee is served 24/7 in the lobby, which is a nice touch.

Breakfast choices are somewhat limited too although for a charge of $10.50 you can enjoy a made to order omelet with your choice of "fixings" as well as a side order of breakfast potatoes, bacon and sausage, plus other breakfast items such as a make it yourself waffle, self-serve cold cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. It wasn't clear if the self-serve breakfast items were free or were part of the fee for service breakfast.

Rooms were sufficiently large and comfortable -- we had two queens for the 3 of us and had plenty of room to maneuver around. Being a completely new facility it was nice to have new furnishings, up-to-date bathroom fixtures, new carpeting, new flat screen TV, etc. Just added to our stay.

Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don_Chattanooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. I appreciate you sharing so much helpful feedback with other readers! We are very fortunate to be in such a great location. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Brand new hotel just short distance from Duke hospital. Breakfast is extra so just went for the free coffee in the lobby. The entire staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful.Will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The rooms are very nice and the food is good. Breakfast could be a little better but not bad. Internet is slow in the evening/nights. No Diamond Member parking. Over all for the price it is worth the value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abigail F, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

I wanted to take the time to personally thank you for your review you submitted on our hotel. I am so pleased to see that everything went well with your stay. I appreciate the feedback on breakfast and we are working to train the staff more fully so that we can improve in that area. We did have a reset on our internet system and have received better feedback recently on it's speed and consistency. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel for an equally great experience if you are ever in the Durham area again. Best wishes and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
1.6 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.5 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#21 of 71 in Durham
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center

Address: 2102 W Main St, Durham, NC 27705-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £103 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find all you need in a great location at the Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center hotel. Ideally located between Duke University and downtown, next to the bustling 9th Street entertainment district, our hotel in Durham, NC helps you make the most of your time in the area.Hilton Garden Inn Durham – University Medical Center is one of the greenest hotels in North Carolina. The hotel, which achieved the highest award of Three Dogwood Blossoms in the NC GreenTravel Initiative recognition program, was designed from the ground up to be one of the most environmentally sustainable in the state.Each morning of your stay, savor a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Pavilion Lounge before a busy day in Durham. Find all the tools you need for work at the 24-hour business center or host a meeting or event for up to 150 guests in our 1456 sq.ft. of event space. Whether it's a family dinner or an important conference, our professional team members will be delighted to help plan the details, ensuring your event is a success.Reinvigorate with a workout at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center and swim a few lengths of the indoor pool. Unwind over drinks in the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy American favorites for dinner. In the warmer months, relax by the fire pits on our outdoor patio.Retire to an inviting, contemporary guest room with a great range of amenities. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access, catch up with work at the desk with ergonomic chair or relax on the chair watching the 42-inch HDTV. Stay refreshed in-room with the microwave and mini-refrigerator facilities. Our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry stocks drinks, snacks, microwave meals, and travel essentials to keep you going while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing