We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place. Our room was given away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
“Terrible place. Our room was given away”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

I had made reservations 3 months in advance for 6 nights. When we arrived around 10 pm we were told that they were "oversold". No room was available. I have probably stayed in 500 or perhaps even 1000 hotels and this has NEVER EVER happened to me before. So incredibly incompetent. AVOID this terrible hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank FrequentTravellerDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    113
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
285
111
48
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel while attending a seminar at Fuqua. The hotel is great for several reasons: it still looks to be relatively new, is only a few minutes from Duke's campus, and is close to restaurants and all sorts of great amenities (including a Whole Foods). The hotel also had its own snack/ convenience stand which was nice fir forgotten items. I have to return to Durham for a graduation in May 2015, and this location will certainly be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyBelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
310 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This HGI is better than most. It is the newer style construction with larger rooms and a much nicer common area. I found the finishes to be better than most HGI properties.

The rooms themselves are really not that large - but it is an excellent use of space so they feel much larger than they actually are.

I had a suite - very nice and lots of room. The sliding doors are such a smart idea. So much better than typical doors.

Large spacious bathroom - large tub - all good. One quirk was the toilet paper holder which was too close to the toilet. It would easily be moved to the shower side and would fit better. But hat isn't a big deal.

The shower is a center drop rainfall style. That was unusual. It is also a very big step to get into the shower. short people and kids may find that a challenge.

The property is away from the freeway so there is no problem with road noise. However - there is a train that runs beside the property and I heard four or five trains go by in the time that I was there. Next time I'd ask for a room on the side of the hotel that does not face the train.

The food was good and the service excellent.

I'd stay here before I'd stay at the Durham Hilton - this is much nicer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warsaw, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Very nice hotel and the hotel staff were excellent. Close to Duke University....hotel shuttle service was a big plus (anywhere you wish to go within a five mile radius). Definitely recommend staying at this facility.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saluda, United States
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Great place to stay. We were visiting Duke Clinic and this location was great, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. I only had to deal with the front desk while checking in, but she was very friendly yet professional. I will definitely stay here again on our future visits to Duke.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is a great and convenient place if you're visiting Duke's- seems to have sprung up overnight. Very comfortable room, helpful staff and good breakfast. Highly recommend and prefer it over the Marriott which is where I stayed last time I was here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed here during a small conference that used the hotel and adjacent meeting for meetings. I can't think of anything about the hotel that I did not like. The staff was wonderful. The first morning I discovered that my in-room coffee maker wasn't working so went downstairs to get a cup of free copy from a table just outside the restaurant and informed the front desk about the coffee maker. The front desk staff not only remember my room number but also called me by name. I was back in my room a half hour later and a maintenance person was replacing the coffee maker with a brand new one. Later in the day, not only did someone from the front desk ask me if the new coffee maker worked, but I ran into the maintenance worker and he asked if it was working as well. The staff here was about as friendly and attentive as I've seen in any hotel I've ever stayed. The bar staff was friendly as well and gave good recommendations for local restaurants. I'm not sure I'll ever get back to Durham, but if I do, I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Fereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.5 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#16 of 71 in Durham
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Address: 2102 W Main St, Durham, NC 27705-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find all you need in a great location at the Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center hotel. Ideally located between Duke University and downtown, next to the bustling 9th Street entertainment district, our hotel in Durham, NC helps you make the most of your time in the area.Hilton Garden Inn Durham – University Medical Center is one of the greenest hotels in North Carolina. The hotel, which achieved the highest award of Three Dogwood Blossoms in the NC GreenTravel Initiative recognition program, was designed from the ground up to be one of the most environmentally sustainable in the state.Each morning of your stay, savor a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Pavilion Lounge before a busy day in Durham. Find all the tools you need for work at the 24-hour business center or host a meeting or event for up to 150 guests in our 1456 sq.ft. of event space. Whether it's a family dinner or an important conference, our professional team members will be delighted to help plan the details, ensuring your event is a success.Reinvigorate with a workout at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center and swim a few lengths of the indoor pool. Unwind over drinks in the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy American favorites for dinner. In the warmer months, relax by the fire pits on our outdoor patio.Retire to an inviting, contemporary guest room with a great range of amenities. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access, catch up with work at the desk with ergonomic chair or relax on the chair watching the 42-inch HDTV. Stay refreshed in-room with the microwave and mini-refrigerator facilities. Our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry stocks drinks, snacks, microwave meals, and travel essentials to keep you going while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing