We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

It was it extremely satisfying that the front desk person (Lee) remembered our me from a previous visit. Also, Jennifer Watson has been very helpful with reservation assistance. The service I received here reminded me of the best service I've ever received in a hotel, including several five-star hotels -

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank ZCHAM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 790 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We usually stay at full service Hilton and Marriott properties but the location of the HGI to downtown Durham made it attractive. Use HH points for the stay.

The staff - all around from the front desk to maintenance to cleaning to restaurant - were top notch. For example, I had my motorcycle and asked if I can store by the entrance under the roof. No problem - and was told no need to ask in the future - just pull it up there. Similar experiences with the staff.

The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with fresh made omelette. The grounds and common areas are well maintained.

The property is about 1.5+ miles from the heart of downtown Durham. Good restaurant / bar experiences including Bull City Burger & Brew (excellent craft porter), Bull McCabes Irish Pub (great stout on tap for just $3), Cuban Revolution (good Cuban food, great atmosphere at American Tobacco) and Tyler's Restaurant & Taproom (large beer selection also at American Tobacco complex).

Only note: there is a train that runs behind the property. It did not bother us but if you are a light sleeper consider staying on the front side of the building (I think that would be odd number rooms).

Overall great experience and we plan on visiting again when in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed here in Mid-May. This seems to be a fairly modern hotel with a location about 1 1/2 miles from the central part of the Duke campus and downtown Durham. There is a small mall with a Whole Foods 1/4 mile away. The staff was friendly. The restaurant breakfast buffet and fitness room were great as well. If in Durham again, I would certainly look to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a great hotel. It is well managed, organized, spotless and staffed with friendly, professional individuals. I stay here whenever I am in the area. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling on business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is a very nice and well-maintained Hilton Garden Inn (fairly new, I believe). Friendly staff - nice decor - comfy beds. Desk chair and easy chair were also very comfortable. Nice bathroom and fixtures. Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and cookies in the afternoon. There is a dining room on the premises we didn't use except for a $3.00 "mini breakfast" that my husband purchased one morning. Note: There is an apt. bldg. going up directly behind the hotel but no construction took place during our stay. Did not particularly like the area of town where the hotel is located which is considered "Old West Durham." The street the hotel is located on is fine, however. Very convenient to Sarah P. Duke Gardens which is the reason we stayed at this location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Thank you to the manager and very friendly staff for an extraordinary experience at the hotel. We are very impressed with attention to our needs while staying there, and all the extra little details did not go unnoticed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank 410deannag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Excellent service and a beautiful, clean and comfortable room. I had been hesitant about staying at the hotel as it was connected with a medical facility, but it was outstanding. It was graduation weekend so we were lucky to get in last minute. And we were able to use our Hilton Honors points!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
0.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Near Duke University
1.6 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
1.5 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#20 of 71 in Durham
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center

Address: 2102 W Main St, Durham, NC 27705-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range: £93 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find all you need in a great location at the Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center hotel. Ideally located between Duke University and downtown, next to the bustling 9th Street entertainment district, our hotel in Durham, NC helps you make the most of your time in the area.Hilton Garden Inn Durham – University Medical Center is one of the greenest hotels in North Carolina. The hotel, which achieved the highest award of Three Dogwood Blossoms in the NC GreenTravel Initiative recognition program, was designed from the ground up to be one of the most environmentally sustainable in the state.Each morning of your stay, savor a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Pavilion Lounge before a busy day in Durham. Find all the tools you need for work at the 24-hour business center or host a meeting or event for up to 150 guests in our 1456 sq.ft. of event space. Whether it's a family dinner or an important conference, our professional team members will be delighted to help plan the details, ensuring your event is a success.Reinvigorate with a workout at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center and swim a few lengths of the indoor pool. Unwind over drinks in the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy American favorites for dinner. In the warmer months, relax by the fire pits on our outdoor patio.Retire to an inviting, contemporary guest room with a great range of amenities. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access, catch up with work at the desk with ergonomic chair or relax on the chair watching the 42-inch HDTV. Stay refreshed in-room with the microwave and mini-refrigerator facilities. Our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry stocks drinks, snacks, microwave meals, and travel essentials to keep you going while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing