We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilton Garden Inn Duke University Medical Campus”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hilton Garden Inn Duke University Medical Campus”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Exceptional brand new facility (< 6 months in operation) with pool and fitness center located blocks from the West and East Campuses of Duke University. Exceptional staff with high customer service focus. The bedding, linen and room amenities are 1st Class and the furnishing and appointments are luxurious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    573
    106
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
276
107
44
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is new and is in a perfect location. Walking distance to the shops on 9th street, moments, from Duke Gardens, Duke Hospital, Brightleaf Square, and the Durham Bulls Park. Easy to find, friendly staff, great value for the price. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank jacquelinet794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I often stay at Garden Inns while traveling for business and this ranks as one of the best. Stayed for just one night while visiting Duke and North Carolina with my daughter. Great location right by the Duke campus. Very friendly front desk staff, always a smile on their face when we walked by. I was bit worried as when we arrived a train went by blowing its whistle on tracks that are approximately 150 yards from the side of the hotel. When I requested a room on the other side of the hotel away from the tracks the front desk person noted that the room windows on the track side are triple pained and that no trains run after 10 pm. DId not notice any train noise the reminder of the stay. The only minor criticism is that the restaurant only appeared to have one server working breakfast. As its a buffet set-up it was not too much of an issue but the server working did seem a bit overloaded and we had to request coffee twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drivesouth66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Came to Durham on way to DC from the Atlanta area & to check out Duke University. The front desk staff was very friendly and efficient. They checked to make sure the restaurant we wanted to go was open and printed out directions. When I said we were going to Duke, they suggested the hotel shuttle. What a bonus, super easy plus the driver was very friendly. The rooms were great and bed comfortable. Wish breakfast was included for the price. Great area to walk around and check out even with it under construction. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracie068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn in Durham NC is excellent. Spotless, friendly, convenient, all amenities available and most importantly a very friendly and pleasant staff throughout the entire hotel. This hotel has special rooms for handicapped visitors and a special relationship with Duke University Medical Center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Author H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great location in Old West Durham, near Duke and the Ninth Street shopping district. Hotel is located on the ridge between the Neuse and Cape Fear River basins. Right across the street was the old settlement of Pin Hook, a traveler's rest before the railroad town of Durham was established in the early 1850s. According to author, Jean Anderson... In the early days, the shiftless of society, usually addicted to vices of one sort or another, tended to congregate in Pin Hook, attracting others of their kind. The settlement included a lodging house, camping grove, brothels, grog shops, and a well for drinking water for passing travelers. In spite of the dirt and noise caused by the railroad that ran through Pin Hook, people gradually settled near the Hillsborough Road with its easy access to Durham. Because of Pin Hook's harsh reputation, Meredith College decided not to locate in the area. And, Trinity College almost decided to go elsewhere. It was not until the early 1890s, and the building of the Erwin Cotton Mills that Pin Hook would transform itself into the mill village of West Durham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington D.C
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the 4th of July weekend enjoying all durham had to offer. It was a great hotel, that was clean, spacious and had everything we were looking for. Was located near Duke medical and was across the street from a few small restaurants. We mostly spent our time in downtown durham which was a very short drive. The room was large and spacious, and had a small kureg and small fridge which came in handy. The hotel lobby was well furnished and had coffee available 24-7 and the 24-7 pantry was nice to have as well. It was a short stay but we had a great time at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eagles0931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Durham North I-85
0.7 mi away
CAMBRiA hotel & suites Durham - Duke University Medical Center Area
1.7 mi away
Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Durham
21c Museum Hotel Durham
#12 of 71 in Durham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Durham near Duke University
5.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center
Address: 2102 W Main St, Durham, NC 27705-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find all you need in a great location at the Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center hotel. Ideally located between Duke University and downtown, next to the bustling 9th Street entertainment district, our hotel in Durham, NC helps you make the most of your time in the area.Hilton Garden Inn Durham – University Medical Center is one of the greenest hotels in North Carolina. The hotel, which achieved the highest award of Three Dogwood Blossoms in the NC GreenTravel Initiative recognition program, was designed from the ground up to be one of the most environmentally sustainable in the state.Each morning of your stay, savor a cooked-to-order breakfast at the Pavilion Lounge before a busy day in Durham. Find all the tools you need for work at the 24-hour business center or host a meeting or event for up to 150 guests in our 1456 sq.ft. of event space. Whether it's a family dinner or an important conference, our professional team members will be delighted to help plan the details, ensuring your event is a success.Reinvigorate with a workout at the complimentary 24-hour fitness center and swim a few lengths of the indoor pool. Unwind over drinks in the Pavilion Lounge and enjoy American favorites for dinner. In the warmer months, relax by the fire pits on our outdoor patio.Retire to an inviting, contemporary guest room with a great range of amenities. Stay connected with complimentary high-speed internet access, catch up with work at the desk with ergonomic chair or relax on the chair watching the 42-inch HDTV. Stay refreshed in-room with the microwave and mini-refrigerator facilities. Our 24-hour Pavilion Pantry stocks drinks, snacks, microwave meals, and travel essentials to keep you going while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Durham/University Medical Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing