We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Saturday and Wednesday Soups are great!”
Review of Banh's Cuisine

Banh's Cuisine
Ranked #178 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Saturday and Wednesday Soups are great!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Banh's has good fresh food with lots of vegetables, especially for broccoli lovers. I like the #1 soup on Saturday, especially with extra hot chile sauce.. We carry out and bring it home when it's crowded. It's a super treat on fall and winter days. The owners are friendly and always welcoming.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“The best Vietnamese food I have ever had”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

It's noisy and crowded and often with long lines, but this tiny humble family-run shop on NInth Street has been in business for decades and does Vietnamese food monumentally well. Dishes are made fresh when you order. Prices are nominal. I suggest take-away food, as it is often very hard to find a seat at this small venue. The soup entrees are wonderful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karmaswimswami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Freshly made to order-inexpensive, yummy food”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Bahn's is a long-time Durham institution. This family-run restaurant uses fresh vegetables and will cook up your food while you wait. I love the ginger tofu (or chicken) it's loaded with fresh ginger. Orders are placed at a counter and food then delivered to your table. As others have said it's good value re: portion size to cost ratio. All dishes/silverware/cups are disposable. Be advised they only accept cash. They serve Vietnamese specials on Saturdays and Wednesdays. Food can be prepared to go. The space is clean and simply decorated, The walls are adorned with a local artist's (and regular Bahn's patron) paper cuts of animals celebrating the Chinese New Year. There is also have a small outside sitting area. Family friendly and you can order half orders with smaller portions for children.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Durham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blowing Rock, NC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Visited after reading some strong reviews. Granted, we did not go on a Wednesday or Saturday, so there were not a lot of Vietnamese choices, but the curried chicken and the sesame chicken were downright terrible. On the other hand, the Imperial roll was quite tasty. I'd try it again on a Wednesday or Saturday if I am in the area, simply because it's so inexpensive and the reviews of the traditional menus are so good; but I don't have high expectations.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LitPr0f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous sesame chicken”
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Got there early'ish, which was great - completely full by 8. Food came out in a reasonable amount of time. My husband's kung pao chicken was decent, but I had the special sesame chicken and it was delicious. Both of us had doggy bags! Prices are very reasonable. We want to come back on a wednesday or saturday when they have vietnamese food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M_E_MAYNARD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banh's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Banh's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing