We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sushi at Terrific Prices”

Shiki Sushi House & Asian Bistro
Ranked #160 of 765 Restaurants in Durham
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sushi at Terrific Prices”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

First, Shiki has a very expansive menu to include many Asian dishes. The sushi rolls are always BOGO if you dine in and they have a huge selection. I must admit since they've remodeled and expanded the place the service isn't as good as it used to be.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    44
    22
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but skimpy portions”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Went here for lunch. I sat at the bar. Service was initially a bit slow but it was busy. Everything was good and the price was right, but the sashimi portion was pretty small compared to the other sushi places in town. Decor and atmosphere are quite nice, and staff was very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service mediocre for party room”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

This was my first time at this restaurant. The ambience was amazing. It looked very very attractive with all the modern decor. Our party group reserved a room, where we had one server taking care of us. We only had 10 people in our party, so that wasn't a big deal. Unfortunately, the server forgot certain things and had a hard time keeping up with all the request. The food was really nice, the presentation was good as well.

Helpful?
1 Thank Immanuel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moharaphd
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Am amazing meal!”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our 3rd visit to the restaurant and we have been extremely pleased every visit. Last night, I had the Tomahawk chop, my husband had the ribeye steak and we had a thai popper for appetizer. The chop was incredible. It is full of flavor and huge. The steak was also quite tasty and very big. The popper was a little too tame for our taste; we expected spicier, but it was still very good.

This is a great place for families and romance both.There is a good reason why it is rated so high in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moharaphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good place, the old location/mgmt was better”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Shiki has awesome sushi, and it is buy one get one every day!
BUT...
As others have said, I can say that since Shiki has moved to it's new location people tend to get lost in the shuffle. It is not quite the atmosphere or service that was provided next door.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenniferV379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiki Sushi House & Asian Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Shiki Sushi House & Asian Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing