We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Local Italian Restaurant”
Review of Sal's Pizza - CLOSED

Sal's Pizza
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
MIssouri
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Little Local Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A co-worker and I recently ate dinner at Sal's during a business trip. We were looking for something close to our hotel that was local and unique and we found it at Sal's.
I couldn't be happier when our waitress told us they served Peroni on tap. Nothing goes better with Italian food on a hot day like an ice cold Peroni on tap, in a frosted, Peroni logo etched glass!

We started our meal with the calamari appetizer. The calamari were cooked perfectly with a nice light breaded coating. Very good!

One trip to the salad bar came with our dinner order. The salad bar had all of the ingredients for a decent garden salald as well as other salad selections.

I ordered the liguini with white clam sauce. It was a huge portion of perfectly cooked pasta with a ton of clams. Some the clams were still in their shells, whick added a nice visual touch to the dish. The sauce was seasoned with just the right amount of garlic.

My co-worker ordered the Shrimp Fradiavolo. Again, the pasta was perfectly cooked. They didn't skimp on the shrimp. Good size and many of them. The flavor was very pleasing with just the right amount of heat to make the dish enjoyable but, not intensely hot.

The service was fast, very friendly and efficient. Our waitress was attentive but, not over - bearing.

If I'm ever in the area again, I will, without a doubt, eat at Sal's. Try it. You'll like it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank airball79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Awesome and Fresh”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This place had the most AWESOME seafood alfredo! Great choice. We got there right when they were about to close, but still got friendly service and good fresh food...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelwithBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian food in a family setting!”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have dined at Sal's several times and yesterday i took at couple of friends (who were out of town) there to have dinner. Two of us had the buffet, while the other friend had stuffed shells.
The entire meal was outstanding, including the service. We had a glass of wine (generously poured) that complimented our meal. The marinara sauce was especially tasty, as was the eggplant parm (from the buffet). The lasagne (buffet) was excellent as well. The owner, Joe, a true Sicilian, greeted us and thanked us for coming in. He is always pleasant as is the rest of his staff.

I highly recommend Sal's for "non-chain" great prepared Italian food! Everything is fresh and nothing is frozen----freshly prepared daily.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarheeldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Joe and his family have great food and service here. Food was great, service was good, family place.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Windsor, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Pizza in the South!”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We are from NJ and always have a problem finding good pizza when we travel. Sal's pizza is awesome!!! Just like up north!!! The staff is incredible and the food is too!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing