We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Fun!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Life + Science

Museum of Life + Science
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Life and Science is one of North Carolina’s top attractions. Situated on 84-acres, our interactive science park includes a science center, a butterfly conservatory which is one of the largest in the world and beautifully-landscaped outdoor exhibits which are safe havens for rescued black bears, lemurs, and endangered red wolves. The Museum's Dinosaur Trail takes visitors on a journey through the Late Cretaceous period. Other attractions include a Farmyard, Ellerbe Creek Railway, Contraptions – a hands-on exhibit for older children and adults, a sailboat pond, The Lab in Investigate Health!, Play to Learn – an exhibit for children under six, more than 60 species of live animals and so much more. The Museum of Life and Science is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Fun!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time at this museum with our 2 1/2 year old. She LOVED the dinosaurs on the walking trail!! There is a lot of walking to see the outdoor exhibits, so wear comfortable shoes (which I didn't). Was a little disappointed with the butterfly house, it was rather small, very crowded, and didn't see too many butterflies. The indoor exhibits were very engaging for both children and adults. Would definitely visit again if in the area. Plan to spend at least 4-5 hours to leisurely see/do everything.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We're so excited to hear about your 2 1/2 year old's first experience with the Museum! We love sharing a love of science learning with all those in our community, including our youngest learners.

As you mentioned, we definitely recommend wearing comfortable shoes if you are preparing to explore our 85+acre outdoor campus. From the making the loop of the Dinosaur Trail (and of course making a stop at the outdoor dig pit to search for fossils) to taking in a free Meet the Keeper event in Explore the Wild, we have lots of places to explore no matter the weather.

Thank you for taking a moment to share your positive experience with this community and we certainly hope to host you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    541
    122
    11
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Something for everyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This is my grandson's favorite place to go in our "adventure days". After so many requests to go back, I purchased a membership.

I always enjoy our time here.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank elliott72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
"Adventure Days" sound like a great way to explain all the exploration that can happen while exploring our expansive campus, elliot72!

We're so happy to have become a part of your exploring. We hope you take advantage of your membership benefits like early access to the Museum, special behind-the-scenes tours and the same, great access to our 85-acre campus and 2 story interactive science center.

We can't wait to see what adventures you dig up next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fun Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We went here during a weekend and it was fun. Our little one is not yet 2 and I think this museum is geared towards children who are older. They have a lot of exhibits that you can explore and see the effects; but I think she was a little young. It would be better for children who are 4-5+ . I would like to come back here and see her figure out things and learn more about cause and effect; it has so many things to do. There is a outside area, but again it is geared to children who are older. They do have an area that is for young children and there were kids her age playing in this area, but the area looked like it could use an update.

If you go outside and walk on their path there is a butterfly house; which was spectacular. It was so much fun to see all the different butterflies and birds around. There were a few places to sit and watch the butterflies.

Unfortunately, on the day that we went it was cold and rainy and we didn't get to do the 'explore the wild' exhibit; or the train ride. Both of which I think would have been fun.

I think this is a great museum, there is so much to do and they offer you so many exhibits and different things all wrapped up in one place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank raindrops554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback, raindrops554. We will definitely pass along your thoughts to our Exhibits department regarding Play to Learn. Just know we are constantly updating and maintaining our exhibits spaces so I'm sure we'll have some updates coming your way soon for that area made for our youngest visitors.

We would like to let you know that we are currently working on building an all new outdoor experience called Hideaway Woods that will have areas designed for those under 5 allowing for exploration of nature and our environment. Opening in summer 2015, Hideaway Woods will bring nature to kid level and encourage children's natural curiosity of the world around them. You can find more information about this exciting new experience on our website. Just search for "Climbing Higher".

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with this community and we hope to host you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Every time we visit the area, my children ask to visit here. I love seeing their eyes light up as they visit the exhibits and the butterfly house is simply amazing. Great learning experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank nj2007traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
What a great moment of wonder, nj2007!

These are exactly the moments we aim to foster with our hands-on experiences and 85-acres of outdoor experiences. So happy to hear about your favorite spaces like Magic Wings Butterfly House.

We hope you'll visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great for ALL ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This is a phenomenal museum, packed with interactive exhibits of interest to all ages! There truly is something for everyone. The butterfly house is amazing!
Allow yourself a lot of time because there is a lot to see and experience!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museum of Life + Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing