We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put on your walking shoes”

Museum of Life + Science
Ranked #4 of 80 things to do in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Life and Science is one of North Carolina’s top attractions. Situated on 84-acres, our interactive science park includes a science center, a butterfly conservatory which is one of the largest in the world and beautifully-landscaped outdoor exhibits which are safe havens for rescued black bears, lemurs, and endangered red wolves. The Museum's Dinosaur Trail takes visitors on a journey through the Late Cretaceous period. Other attractions include a Farmyard, Ellerbe Creek Railway, Contraptions – a hands-on exhibit for older children and adults, a sailboat pond, The Lab in Investigate Health!, Play to Learn – an exhibit for children under six, more than 60 species of live animals and so much more. The Museum of Life and Science is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We took my two girls ages 6,8 to the museum for the for the afternoon. We started outside due to the threat of rain. We ended up spending 2 1/2 hours outside! That did include lunch at a cute little cafe that wasn't your usual museum snack bar. It was a deli that I would actually eat at again. We ran out of time to spend much time inside but there was so much to see and do for you and old. We all had a great time and we would go there again.

Thank Susie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

What a great experience, Susie1122. We love hearing what our guests like best about their visit and it's so great to hear you loved our 85-acre outdoor campus.

Hopefully next time you visit you'll make it indoors to two-stories of interactive, hands-on science learning.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with this community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 451 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

As a member, we can get in 1 hour early (at 9am) before they open to non-members. This is a good way to get a start on the crowds. It's open 7 days a week. Some of the things you can see are a dinosaur trail, interactive science center (the kids love this), a butterfly conservatory, rescued black bears, lemurs, and endangered red wolves. They also have a farmyard, sailboat pond with remote controlled boats, and a train for the kids. If you get overheated while walking around they have mist areas (walk through the mist and you are immediately cooler). One of our favorite indoor things to do is to walk into a room that uses a computer to create images of falling, colored sand around your shadow. Make different shadows to make different patterns of sand.

Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Wow, cherylh! So many great experiences you listed out AND you posted pictures? Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with this community; we appreciate such great advocates as yourself.

If you love Soundspace (the area with Falling Sand), then next time you visit you should definitely explore Social Projections. This is a temporary exhibit space that uses digital projections on the ground to see how people will react when there are no instructions on how to interact. There is also a set of videos that rotates through that asks how you react to other people's emotions or actions (do you yawn after I yawn or is my laughing contagious?). You can find this area right past Math Moves and over to the side of the elevator. I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Be prepared to do some walking, I did not know how expansive the grounds were. But with that said they have great activities for the kids all around. The butterfly garden is one of my favorites.

Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

The need to wear comfortable shoes is a topic that comes up a lot in our reviews, J F! With over 85 acres to explore and a hands-on, interactive 2 story science center, we have plenty to do to keep bodies of all sizes moving and learning.

If you love Magic Wings Butterfly House, then consider attending one of our free daily butterfly releases. Get an up close look at those fluttering gems, talk with our experts on butterflies and watch as the newly hatched butterflies are released into the conservatory. More information on this and other daily programs can be found on the Events Calendar section of our website.

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with this community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Worth planning a day trip, this has a lot of exhibits that appeal to elementary school crowd ! My daughter loved the place and could not stop talking about it days after! There is so much to see you could go back again and again. Also, it gives you an excuse to visit Durham's eclectic downtown cuisine, so for adults I and children it's a win win!!

Thank 35805Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

First time I have been in 15 years and loved it! They have added so many new exhibits. We spent all day and packed a pick nic. My 5 year old didn't know what to do first! We spent almost the whole day outside and wished we had more time for inside. Lots of interactive exhibits for kids, which is awesome, cause they love to touch everything. I could sit in the butterfly house all day! We will be back to enjoy the rest:)

Thank Rbhlady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori B, Public Relations Manager at Museum of Life + Science, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Wow! We are so happy to hear that 15 years later we still provided lots of great, hands-on science learning and moments of wonder for you.

We hear a lot of people say that one day just isn't enough to see our 85-acre campus and 2-story indoor science center. Best news? In the summer we're open 7 days a week. The hands-on experiences we offer inside (The Lab features daily experiments and exploration led by local experts, an area for building and testing flying contraptions called Launch Lab and a spot for the under-6 age group called Play to Learn) is a great stop to get some wiggles out once the cooler weather is upon us. Don't forget to check out daily programs calendar on our website; lots of free options where you can get an up close look at all we do at the Museum behind-the-scenes!

Finally, thank you for taking a moment to share your lovely words with this community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Museum of Life + Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing