We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City park on protected river”

West Point on the Eno
Ranked #18 of 75 things to do in Durham
Attraction details
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“City park on protected river”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This has an old dam, reconstructed buildings, rafting in summer, and acres of beautiful land. Home of Eno Festival around the 4th of July each year, music and culture and education; proceeds help preserve more land along the Eno River.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank samuel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice Park ~ Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Very calm & peaceful park with the river flowing through! Make sure to bring your camera for some great photos! We just happened to come across this park while looking for a Dr's office & we decided to stop! It's a beautiful park & really nice! Perfect place for a family picnic or to stop for a break whil traveling! There was a bridge going across the river & it was very nice! I got some great photos of my daughter while exploring the park! Would stop here again & enjoy the beauty & peaceful environment! To me when we found the park it was like a hidden treasure!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank kayleighsmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to go, lots to do!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Nice place to go for a walk, small hike, picnics and to play in the water. Fun to go to the Eno Festival and check out the museum and the mill. Easy to get to at the drop of the hat for a last minute date night!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tiny Lizards and More!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My family and I have been going on adventures in this park for ten years and it never fails to amaze. Between the trails, sand art, tiny lizards running around, and the river there is always something to do. Some people swim in the water, I wouldn't advise that but kayaking or canoeing is reasonable. In addtion, the park volunteers give lessons and tours. Great free family fun!!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShamLNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nature in a city”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

One of several ways to access the Eno River. Great place for hiking and access to a slow meandering river. Can take dogs on a leash and children, too!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West Point on the Eno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing